BookClub logo

The magic of Eragon

Don't give up just because the book is boring! It might just become a new favorite!

By Jessica PhoenixPublished 10 months ago 4 min read
The magic of Eragon
Photo by Dinu J Nair on Unsplash

When I was 12, I went to the library and scrounged up this book called Eragon.

There was a dragon on the cover and, since I loved dragons (and still do), It seemed intriguing to me. When I started it, it wasn’t very enticing. So, being the quitter I once was, I gave up on it.

For about five days, it just sat on a shelf collecting dust.

Then one fateful day, before I went to bed, I saw it sitting on my bedside table. I didn’t remember putting it there, so I realized perhaps it was fate's way of telling me to read it.

I picked it up with a huff, as there were no other options of books to read. I gently lifted the cover, flipped through until I found the page I had stopped on last, and began to read.

The beginning was a little… Well, let's face it, boring.

It was mostly describing the details of all the events leading up to the boy finding the dragon egg, and at the time I loathed reading about detail. Of course now, however, I love reading about detail. It’s what gives the stories life.

But of course, that wasn’t my mindset then.

You can probably guess how happy I was when my mom called “Lights out!”

I fell asleep happily, comforted by the knowledge that I wouldn’t have to read that book ever again. But nights have to switch back to day at some point, don’t they?

The next night as I sat in my bed, I looked around, once more, for a book. And there it was again, Eragon, sitting on my bedside table like it had walked there itself. I was beginning to think it had. I cried out with frustration, as once again, Eragon was the only book there and I was too lazy to go to the bookshelf and get another. The dragon on the cover flashed under the ceiling light, seemingly winking at me. I rolled my eyes and grasped the thick cover, lifting it into my lap and reading it.

I didn’t want to admit it, but it was actually beginning to become a bit interesting. OK, so now there were these odd cloaked figures who were walking around his village. Oh dear, they’ve spotted him. Run, Eragon, Run!

I found myself speaking to the characters in the book, against my better judgment. My brain knew it was silly to speak to a fictional person, but my heart knew that talking to them would make the experience more interesting. It worked.

I began to read more intently and began liking the details, as I realized that they made me able to imagine what Chritopher Paolini was trying to explain.

Aw, baby Saphira was so cute.

Watch out, Garrow!

Fly, Saphira, Fly!

Before I knew it, I was on page 50, going for 100.

How did you think I felt when mom called “Lights out” that time?

I almost couldn’t put the book down. It was as if my fingers were stuck to the pages. I couldn’t pry my eyes off the words- things had just begun to get enticing.

“Ahem, please put the book down,” Said my mom. But I couldn’t. I was seemingly incapable of putting it down. After a moment, my mom came and took the book away from me to lay it down on my table. I reached out for it, but my mom had already turned off the lights and left the room.

Come on, the one time I didn’t have the flashlight under my pillow?

I was forced into an uncomfortable sleep, where I dreamt of dragons and lore, the magic that came from reading that special book, Eragon.

~~~

The next day, after I had finished school (homeschooling) I ran upstairs, grabbed Eragon, ran back down the stairs, plopped myself down on the couch, then began to read. It was completely in it. It was as if the characters were speaking to me- I felt like I was someone in the book.

For days after that, every day after I had finished school, I sat down with Eragon, reading it to my heart’s content.

Once I had finished Eragon, I went back to the library and was pleased to find the second book in the sequel, Eldest. It was a whole new adventure! The challenges Eragon and Saphira faced and overcame were amazing and, no matter what, they always stayed alive.

The next book was Brisingr, one of my favorites.

Before I knew it, I was down to the last book, Inheritance.

I was disappointed to find that there were no more, but recently I heard tell of a new book coming out, one that will continue the Inheritance cycle: Murtagh.

Can’t say I’m not excited!

I know this is a rather short entry, but it has an important lesson.

Don’t stop reading a book just because it doesn’t start out interesting.

Keep going! It will all turn out alright, in the end.

It may even inspire you to become an author, and if it does, go for it.

Who knows, you may become the author of the next bestselling book.

And I’ll find it one day, be hesitant to read it at first, but it will eventually become my new favorite.

~~~

Recommendation

About the Creator

Jessica Phoenix

I like to dig deep into things and find out their true meanings, and while I don't always succeed, it's exhilarating to try.

I write for challenges sometimes, but you'll also find me writing little stories for fun.

❤️Skating❤️

❤️Singing❤️

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Jessica PhoenixWritten by Jessica Phoenix

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.