BookClub logo

The Color of the Wheat Fields

How a book stays with us

By Judah LoVatoPublished 10 months ago 3 min read
Runner-Up in Book Club Challenge
The Little Prince and the Fox

Whenever I see a wheat field, I think of a little prince with golden hair. I admit he’s a silly person to think about since I’ve never met him myself, but that is the power of a good story. The story is called “The Little Prince,” which was published in 1944 by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry.

If you've never read it, “The Little Prince” is a children's story about a pilot who crash lands in the Sahara Desert. There, in the vast sands, the pilot meets a mysterious little prince, and through this encounter the pilot learns the importance of wonder, of friendship, and the beauty of life.

One part of the story that has changed me the most is where the Little Prince meets a fox. The little prince wants the fox to play with him, but the fox refuses saying, “I am not tamed,”

The fox explains that there are millions of foxes in the world, and millions of little boys in world, but through the process of taming, the one among the millions can become ‘unique in all the world.’

The fox summarizes this idea in a simple statement:

“Wheat fields say nothing to me. Which is sad. But you have hair that is the color of gold. Think how wonderful that will be when you have tamed me! The grain, which is also golden, will bring me back the thought of you.”

This passage has changed me because the story taught me that we don’t live in a vacuum, but the way we perceive the world is influenced by the people we’ve met and the experiences we’ve had. It’s made me more aware that my favorite memories revolve around the people I shared the places with, and not the places themselves.

That is part of the beauty of the story too, because it also taught me that even our positive actions (like taming a fox or making a friend) have deeper consequences.

I see this in the next phase of the story, when the little prince prepares to leave the fox:

“And when the hour of his departure drew near-

"Ah," said the Fox, "I shall weep,"

“It’s your own fault,” said the little prince, “I never wished you any harm; but you wanted me to tame you…”

“Yes, this is so,” said the fox.

“But now you’re going to weep!” said the little prince.

“Yes, this is so.” Said the fox.

“Then it has done you no good at all!”

"It has done me good,” said the fox, “because the color of the wheat fields." “

This passage has stayed with me over the years because it captures so well the joy and the ache of forming bonds. There is joy because of the memories of moments shared; the anticipation of seeing each other to make new memories; and the way certain things become associated with certain people. But there is ache too because people have a way of coming and going in life.

It’s stuck with me as well because I’ve had too many partings over the years. Some have been temporary; the by-product of changing states and towns, but too many have been that far too real parting of death- I think it aches because we know that how things were won’t continue to be.

When I think of the fox and the little prince, I am reminded to be grateful for the times shared with those who have gone before me; and, though I weep, I am comforted because I’ve learned to look for the beauty of the memories in the simple things: like the color of the wheat fields.

ClubThemeChallenge

About the Creator

Judah LoVato

Dear Reader,

I hope you enjoy perusing my collection of works, and I would love to hear your thoughts on anything you read: what you liked, what you disliked, and any other feedback you may have.

I look forward to reading with you,

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (11)

  • Atlantica8 months ago

    Let's interact with each other great👍

  • Lydia Stewart9 months ago

    The Little Prince comes back to me often, too. Thanks for the read!

  • Veronica Coldiron9 months ago

    SO well written. It definitely tugs at my heart strings because I forgot how much I loved this book myself! Congratulations!! 😁

  • Sonia Heidi Unruh10 months ago

    You capture the essence of this beautiful, profound book so well!

  • Brenda Bertucci10 months ago

    I had forgotten about this book..wow!! You captured the meaning so well. Your writing is moving and meaningful. I am taking notes...lol Would love to be a writer like you. Look forward to reading more and congratulations..so deserved!!

  • D. ALEXANDRA PORTER10 months ago

    Just as the fox, you are wise. Congratulations on Top Story! 👏

  • Dana Stewart10 months ago

    One of my favorite books. You captured its meaning, the essence so simply it was touching. Well done. P.s - the illustration is great.

  • Kendall Defoe 10 months ago

    Beautiful!

  • Gina B.10 months ago

    Love the illustration ❤️

  • Awesome ✨ Congratulations 🎉 on Your Top Story💯🎉🎉🎉🎉📝😉

Judah LoVatoWritten by Judah LoVato

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.