BookClub logo

The Ballad of Songbirds & Snakes

Book Review & Movie Adaptation Discussion

By Brin J.Published 9 months ago 3 min read
From my Iphone🥰

So I've already written an article about my love for The Hunger Games. I read the books before the movies had come out, and was a part of the huge fanbase that caused such a hype for the movies. (Guilty!)

Now, November 17th is nearing, and for those of you who don't know what that means, it's the release date for the new movie, The Ballad of Songbirds & Snakes; a prequel to Suzanne Collins's The Hunger Games.

The book was released during the pandemic, and you bet your bottom dollar that I read it! I read it again back in April, and I'll probably read it once more before November 17th. It's that good.

There's so much to love about this book. For one, we're back in Panem, seeing the world through the eyes of Cornelius Snow- the ultimate villain of the original trilogy- in his younger years. We gain an insight into his mind and observe how he transformed into the heartless leader in The Hunger Games. I'm not going to spoil the book (or movie) for you, but if you're a fan of the original trilogy, I highly recommend this book or watch the movie when it comes out.

*Sighs in bliss* I haven't been this excited about a movie since Marvel's End Game, and if I haven't given you enough reasons to go see this film, then here's another: the ending had me at the edge of my seat- my heart in my throat. The final scene took me by complete surprise with how quickly things escalated. I was flipping through the pages so fast! The suspense was unbearable.

Now, I knew going in that I would be seeing things through the eyes of a villain, but his mindset was as normal as any other teenager's (similar to Katniss'!). He was relatable- and that scared the hell out of me. Collins really held up a mirror, showing us how easy it is to be a villain. It all comes down to the extent of someone's desperation shaping the choices they make, and in turn, their fate. So I ask this: in terms of morality, which way would the scale tip when assessing one's personal values? (I love this line and have been wanting to use it in my writing for a while now. I think it fits perfectly here, as it's relevant to this discussion!)

As for an answer, I think it depends on the situation.

We cheer Katniss on to fight for her life against other kids in the area, so why aren't we cheering on Snow when he's confronted with his own demons? What's truly disturbing, is when has a reader ever wished for the protagonist to fail? Maybe not everyone who read the book did. Collins really fucked with our heads by showing us his journey and making us sympathize with his character, even after revealing his true nature. It's brilliant, yet concerning.

Hmm... that was actually an excellent way to catch your attention. I bet now you're wondering what exactly happens (if you haven't already read it).

I could go on and on about this book, any of The Hunger Games books, really. I'm just so obsessed with them. I've said before that Collins has an impressive way of capturing the darker elements of humanity. Her portrayal of these protagonists is simply masterful. A rebel hero, but also a young girl trying to survive. A despised villain, but also a young man pushed in the wrong direction by fear.

Anyway, The Ballad of Songbirds & Snakes. I strongly suggest that you take the time to read it, as the movie won't offer the same level of detail into Snow's thoughts.

Thanks for giving my review a read. Feel free to express your thoughts and excitement on the matter in the comments. And NO SPOILERS!

RecommendationFictionDiscussionAnalysis

About the Creator

Brin J.

I have a few stories and poems inside me that I want to share. Maybe, if I'm lucky, they'll reach people who'll enjoy them. 📖

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • L.C. Schäfer9 months ago

    I'm really looking forward to his film, and you've inspired me to get the book 😁

  • I haven't read the book but am fairly certain we'll see it in the theater when it comes out. Both my wife & our son loved the original trilogy & you can add me to movie fanbase. Great enticing/tantalizing review.

  • Alex H Mittelman 9 months ago

    Great review!

  • Ian Read9 months ago

    I remember reading Hunger Games a couple years after it came out. Needless to say it's been a while, but I loved the original trilogy (justice for Finnick). But all in all, I wasn't sure if I was going to read this next one, seeing as how it's been so long, but I think I just might...

  • Joelle E🌙9 months ago

    Whoa!! Snow’s perspective… why would i wanna know what he’s thinking? Lol, excited for this movie tho!! 👏🏼

Brin J.Written by Brin J.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.