BookClub logo

Sailing the Seas of Life

Lessons learned from Treasure Island

By Sarah DanaherPublished 9 months ago 3 min read
3
Sailing the Seas of Life
Photo by Torsten Dederichs on Unsplash

Life comes with many twists and turns over its rough seas. Whatever way I went, a challenge was always present. Life was never simple, but maybe I did not listen to my parents enough about that. I return to one of the books I read between middle and high school. It is a classic, but the adventure still lives on in my life.

One of the most outstanding books in pirate lore today is Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson. Its iconic adventure was told so well by Stevenson himself that even modern-day audiences still love it. The story of a treasure hunt and finding out that nothing is so simple. As I matured, life went the same way. The goals I was going after were either moved or stolen from right in front of me. It was written so early that the themes remain relevant in the world of today.

Jim Hawkins was just a kid living his ideal dream and having a treasure map. It was a spot for a fantastic adventure. As a kid, this is how I thought my life would be this great adventure and getting a map of surviving adulthood. You can study all that is in it and only partially grasp it. The world seems that the voyage will go smoothly, and those around you mean the best. So many times, everybody and everything lets you down. The sea became rocky like the mutiny, and trying to survive was the goal.

The right thing is always challenging and can cost you everything. Some of the most interesting characters are those who are not your friend. Goals are difficult to obtain, and even when you get to the spot, there is nothing to show for it. Greed does run the world with all the ones trying to find the easy way up. So many jobs and schools I have been at all runs for glory. I could never find any but so many are willing to do anything to get ahead, even walking over anyone. I might be too nice and try to hurt others, so I am still looking for my treasure.

Long John Silver initially seemed like a nice guy and even befriended Jim. Ultimately, he is not as he portrays himself and takes over the ship to have the treasure for himself. His greed ended him, and his name is still out there. So many seem to care but just use it for their own gain. They want the least amount of work with the most significant reward. I have found that most in the business world are like him. They are generally not deserving of anything but to take control anyway. There is no such thing as fairness in the world, and so many pirates are willing to cheat their way to the top.

The unlikely allies, like Livesay and Ben Gunn, are few and far between. They do exist with some dignity and care about others. It is a long time to find such friends that will not backstab if the fortune changes. I have a few people in my life who show up in the nick of time despite the many disappointments.

Life is a complicated sea that can change on a dime. So good friends are hard to come by and more difficult to keep. If only there was a map to get through the complication of adulthood without falling on your face.

Like Jim, we all come into the world expecting to be successful and significant. Most of the time, we find that our ideal worlds are non-existent.

This is what this book teaches. If we can keep our morals and outsmart the greedy ones, there is hope for some success. The stormy seas of life seem to toss us to and fro, yet there are friends and foes around every corner. Jim does take back the ship and ultimately succeeds over greed and selfishness. Eventually, many are discovered to be incompetent, greedy idiots and fall for their own mistakes.

I am waiting for my time to finally outsmart those who wish ill on others for their own gain. If one plays the game right, things might work out or improve. This book was not just an adventure but a guide to many aspects of life that were never taught. It has stood the test of time, yet so many have read it. Life has so many hurdles, and goals still need to be reached.

I hold hope with character and a sense of determination. I can achieve more than my mundane life now. I am reminded that things can go wrong but can get better. The world is full of characters, both good and bad. It is how you live and work that makes the difference. I have always remembered this book and its lessons, which become more relevant the older I become. Life can still be an epic adventure too.

ChallengeDiscussionAnalysis
3

About the Creator

Sarah Danaher

I enjoy writing for fun. I like to write for several genres including fantasy, poetry, and dystopian, but I am open to trying other genres too. It has been a source of stress relief from my busy life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • S. C. Almanzar9 months ago

    I've never read the book, but am very familiar with the story and loved the animated movie Treasure Planet! The only thing even cooler than fantasy high seas pirates are space pirates :)

  • This is one of my all time favourite stories! You have done it justice! Very well written!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.