BookClub logo

No-Bake Desserts - by Louis Weber

Cookbook Review

By Leiann Lynn Rose SpontaneoPublished 6 months ago 3 min read
Like

Summary

The contents state, that in chapter Smoothies and Summer Refreshers, to cool off on hot days with a few ingredients and a big thirst are all you need!

in chapter Home For The Summer, to treat the kids to a fun-filled vacation—without leaving your house. These sweets are so scrumptious, your kid may never return to school!

In Smoothies and Summer Refreshers, the following are highlighted:

Honey Lemonade with Frozen Fruit Cubes

Lemon juice

Honey

Water

Small pieces of assorted fruit

Choco-Berry Cooler

Milk

Strawberries

Hershey’s syrup

Vanilla ice cream ginger ale or club soda

Fresh strawberry

Mint leaves (optional)

In Home For The Summer, the following are highlighted:

Banana Split

Ripe small banana

Vanilla frozen yogurt

Strawberry frozen yogurt

Fresh blueberries or strawberries

No-sugar-added strawberry fruit spread

Hot water

Granola cereal

Maraschino cherry (optional)

Cheery Chocolate Animal Cookies

Reese’s peanut butter chips

Hershey’s chocolate chips

Shortening

Chocolate sandwich cookies

Animal cookies

Chipwiches

Any flavor ice cream, sherbert, frozen yogurt or whipped topping

Chips Ahoy! Chocolate chip cookies

Sprinkles, chocolate chips, chopped nuts, toasted or tinted coconut or other small candies

Berry Good Dip

Fresh or thawed frozen strawberries

Softened nonfat cream cheese

Reduced fat sour cream

Sugar

Opinion

In this review, I have covered what the cover of the cookbook said what is good for… great smoothies and kids’ treats!

What disappointed me though is that I chose this cookbook because it is no-bake yet found a couple requiring an oven.

Aside a couple do requiring an oven, the recipes are easy to prepare, the ingredients are easy to find and the ingredients are inexpensive!

The recipes highlighted are my personal favorites.

If I had to choose one, I would choose Chipwiches. Out of all, the least of the least expensive and the easiest of the easy to prepare. What about you?

Who do I really think would benefit from this cookbook? I think people who have stomach problems, difficulty chewing and difficulty swallowing. Ask your family physician.

I would like to share my own little personal story and maybe you can explain to me?

My mother went to work, during the Reagan years, in an ice cream store. She never complained but I know that the owner was mean. She could not bring food or drink in case she felt hungry or thirsty. If she needed something like food or drink she would have to buy the food or drink from the ice cream store. She was simply earning minimum wage and and did not want to use up all of these earnings.

Sure, she would get raises, but guess what? When taxes were raised!

OK. Returning to no-bake desserts…I could not possibly memorize all of the above recipes that my mother probably had to do!

She ever once brought me home a no-bake dessert. I do not blame her though. My guess is that the owner probably would not allow her.

Now that I am on the topic of my mothe Rose, her homemade goodies? Better than a bakery!

But, for some odd reason, she never allowed me in the kitchen. So, I was never taught how to bake or cook.

When I moved out and on my own, my mother Rose gave me a Crock-Pot.

I borrowed cookbooks from the library and bought cookbooks from yard sales.

I became known as the “Crock-Pot Queen”. I love to make Crock-Pot “dump cakes”. All that are needed? A box of cake mix, a can of pie filling and 2 sticks of butter and of course, your Crock-Pot!

So, I think that my mother Rose wanted for me to grow up and be independent. What do you think?

ReviewRecommendationNonfictionDiscussion
Like

About the Creator

Leiann Lynn Rose Spontaneo

Studied Political Science at Duquesne University.

Highest Honors Graduate in Fitness and Nutrition from Stratford Career Institute.

Her future plans are to become an aromatherapist to help people with their ailments using essential oils.

Reader insights

Good effort

You have potential. Keep practicing and don’t give up!

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.