BookClub logo

Little Women and their non-binary fan

a book that sticks with me, all through media

By Josey PickeringPublished 8 months ago 2 min read
1
Little Women and their non-binary fan
Photo by micheile henderson on Unsplash

I started reading at an early age, I was three when I started to put words and pictures together in my board books. My mother read to me every night. We had our little routine and for a young child who would eventually be diagnosed autistic, it was what I needed. I got into the bath at 7, and into bed at 730 for a story until it ended and it was time to get some sleep. Simple picture books turned to storybooks complete with voices and then those turned into chapters each night from a book. Little Women was one of those chapter books I remember fondly, a book that sticks with me just like my Mom's banana pancakes on Sunday mornings.

I've had many copies of Little Women, hardcover and paperback, vintage and brand new with crisp untoched pages. Each one taking place in the cabinet in my heart dedicated to Little Woman. I grew up labeled a tomboy, finding solace in relating to Jo March. I enjoyed when she dressed up in masculine clothes and pretended to be in a men's club with her sisters and I wished for the same. Jo March was a beloved character based on the authors own life, why couldn't I be beloved too? I know Jo nor Louisa were non-binary but people read Little Women and find them dressing up in men's close endearing or fun, nothing to poke fun at. However in my exploration of gender and realizing clothing doesnt have a gender, I've been made fun of plenty of times. However, there's been many a time that I've called upon the stubbornness and strength of Jo March to give my own witty retort instead of fighting in silence.

From the various versions of the film (including the latest which changed my perspective on Amy March entirely) to my collection of vintage Little Women Madame Alexander dolls to the framed embroidery from the 1930s in our stairwell...Little Women is a little piece of who I am, and it always will be.

Fiction
1

About the Creator

Josey Pickering

Autistic, non-binary, queer horror nerd with a lot to say.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.