BookClub logo

Jane Austen Women as Laufey Songs

Everybody's Falling In Love And I'm Writing About Austen

By Lauren Writes AustenPublished about a month ago 3 min read
I made this collage on Pinterest :)

If you have been on Tiktok in the past year you have probably heard snippets of singer-songwriter Laufey. From From the Start to Falling Behind she's taking the world by storm! If you haven't heard of Laufey, or listened to her music you should! Especially if you are a fan of Austen.

I've been listening to Laufey for a couple of years now and obviously I am a certified Jane Austen expert, so I feel confident in dictating which Laufey song are these Austen women!

This was a lot of fun and I would love to do music (or even other media) stuff with an Austen-tacious spin on it again!

Ok, without further ado:

Austen Women as Laufey Songs

Marianne Dashwood - Fragile

Starting with the opening track of Laufey's first album, Everything I Know About Love, this was the connection that made me think of doing this. Marianne's romantic sensibilities fits perfectly with the idea of Fragile, "Grew up in a case of fragile glass/ But hammer away it's time to crash/ And as it shatters let me shatter into you."

Also the song literally says "I've lost all sensibilty." And of course, Colonel Brandon... "I know that you're older, but what can I do."

Catherine Morland - Haunted

What would be more appropriate for this Gothic-loving girl other than this haunting song that mentions "pale moonlight", "ghostly sounds", and not knowing if a man is in love with you!

Emma Woodhouse - Dreamer

Emma doesn't want a man! Why would she, when she is rich enough to take care of herself! "And no boy's gonna be so smart as to/ Try and pierce my porcelain heart."

Seriously, Emma's whole story is about her not wanting to find a husband, she instead plays around with other peoples love and emotion (which gets her into trouble). In the end she does fall in love and realise Knightly is the one for her. And I think with Dreamer being the first song on Laufey's second album and it ending with Bewitched, which is about being in love (being bewitched!) incapsulates Emma's story.

Fanny Price - Best Friend

The song is about being in love with your best friend and Fanny is in love with her cousin... seemed close enough.

Elinor Dashwood - I've Never Been In Love Before

I was trying to avoid using songs that are Laufey originals but this is just too perfect. Elinor is the sensible one, not concerned with romantic whims, and then Edward happened and she fell in love for the first time. <3

Jane Bennet - Must Be Love

Jane needs just a nice love song. Her and Bingley are one of, if not, the sweetest relationship to grace Austen's pages. And although I think some of Laufey's songs about missing someone you used to love, like Promise, works well for a part of Jane's story, what Jane really needs is a "come kiss me, convience me" kind of song.

Elizabeth Bennet - Valentine

"I've rejected affection/ For years and years/ But now I have it, and damn it/ It's kind of weird." Post-Darcy Elizabeth, to be clear.

(There are so many lines that I think I could add to make my point but at what point have I just added the whole song... you know?)

Mary Bennet - Questions For The Universe

If you know Laufey's music, and you know Pride & Prejudice, I feel like you might expect Mary (or Kitty) to be something like Falling Behind. But I made Questions For The Universe Mary's song because I think this is a song Mary would want to listen to (or should listen to).

Kitty Bennet - Second Best

When I was younger, I always though that Kitty was the youngest sister and that is why she is so often overlooked. But to find out that she wasn't was really a blow (to her) and I think informed me a lot on the interesting dynamic she has with Lydia. Unfortuately, compared to Lydia I think Kitty will always be Second Best.

Lydia Bennet - Dance With You Tonight

It's about being too tipsy to dance with a boy, but really wanting too...

Georgiana Darcy - Goddess

-_-

Anne Elliot - Just Like Chet

Saving the best for last, Just Like Chet is my personal favourite Laufey song. It's all about not wanting to be in love with someone but you just can't help it, and I think that works for a lot of Austen's heroines, but it is especially perfect for Anne.

(Also the sea imagery and watery feel of the song adds to this point because Captain Wentworth is a naval officer and because of their time in Lyme etc.)

Bonus: Fitzwilliam Darcy - Bewitched

"You've bewitched me body and soul." ;)

QuoteThemeAuthorAnalysis

About the Creator

Lauren Writes Austen

A dedcated creator to all things Jane Austen!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Lauren Writes AustenWritten by Lauren Writes Austen

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.