BookClub logo

Books That Feel Like A Movie

Books I Would Love to see Adapted into Shows/Movies

By Lauren Writes AustenPublished 22 days ago 3 min read
2
Books That Feel Like A Movie
Photo by Alex Litvin on Unsplash

You know when a book is so good you wish someone would just turn it into a movie already! When the writing is the perfectly crafted to point that you are not even reading words on pages anymore, you've been transported, and instead are watching the novel unfold in front of your eyes!

Or maybe that is just my screenwriter wannabe self?

Either way, I'm making this list of books I would like to see adapted into movies (or a tv show) to share some great books that I don't think I talk about enough. And if some Hollywood type happens to see this, please turn any one of these into a movie and I could be content for the rest of my life. (Also if you needed a writer for them... hi).

Books That Feel Like A Movie

1. My Year of Rest and Relaxation by Ottessa Moshfegh

Recently there was an adaptation of Moshfegh's first novel, Eileen, made starring Anne Hathaway. And to be honest, I am not the biggest fan of that novel but I LOVE My Year of Rest and Relaxation. I'm aware that it is not the most original idea to want this adapted and I've also seen people question whether or not the book could even be adapted because the basic premise is "a girl trying to sleep for a year." But I think people don't comprehend how much "stuff" actually happens in the book, and I think it could make for a smashing film. Maybe it would be a the shorter side but not every movie needs to be 3 hours long (actually I don't think any movie needs to be 3 hours long...).

2. Happy Hour by Marlowe Granados

Another one of my favourite books of all time! Also, I think, fairly similar to My Year of Rest and Relaxation but a lot of stuff goes on. It's another book about young girls in New York - these girls however are going on adventures, trying to make the most of the summer! I feel like this book could be described as "no plot just vibes" (although I do think there is a plot) and I think with the right people on this thing it could be a visually stunning romp and a half.

3. Love & Gelato by Jenna Evans Welch

Now, this book does already have an adaptation... but it sucks and messes around with a perfectly good story for no reason. So I'd like to see it redone, properly this time, and there are also two sequels that I think also deserve to be adapted. Especially the second book, Love & Luck, because I think it could be a fun twist that in the end they don't end up together romantically but just as friends (because that is definitely the vibes given in the book).

4. The Night Parade by Kathryn Tanquery

The Night Parade would make such a Studio Ghibli-esque movie! I don't know if I feel that way just because I had watched Spirited Away for the first time relativiely recently before I read this book, or what? But I do think there are connections with a kind of bratty, pre-teen girl getting transported to the spirit relam, with all sorts of wacky creatures. I just recently re-read the book and still think it is magnificent (even as a middle-grade... adults should read more middle-grade books).

5. Even The Darkest Star and All The Wandering Light by Heather Fawcett

This duology legally needs to be done together because you cannot just leave it on the first book. But if whoever made Dune is looking for another (significantly shorter... and... better?) high fantasy story to tell THIS IS THE ONE! The capaibilty to build the beautifully written worlds and scenery in this book, I know it can be done and I know it can be done right! My biggest fear for this being adapted though is it being white washed. :/

Bonus: The Ruthless Lady's Guide to Wizardry by C. M. Waggoner

To be completely honest, this book was not my favourite but it is very similar to another book that I'd like to adapt. And I think that is why the whole time I was reading it I couldn't help but imagine it as a movie. Really I would just love to see Buttons on a big screen. I love Buttons. Buttons for life! BONG!

(For context: Buttons is a dead mouse brought back to some sort of sentience through magic, and he just makes really sassily timed "BONGS" throughout the story.)

ReviewRecommendationReading ListFiction
2

About the Creator

Lauren Writes Austen

A dedcated creator to all things Jane Austen!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.