BookClub logo

For the Good of the Horse

So Much More than Horses - Book Club Challenge Entry

By KJ AartilaPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 1 min read
7

This book was written to change my interaction within the horse world. It changed my perspective on how to navigate the human world, too.

Mary Wanless wrote “The Map is Not the Territory” as a long introduction to her book, ”For the Good of the Horse.” Those opening pages changed my life profoundly.

I learned “The Map is Not the Territory.” So I crumpled up all the proverbial maps that had been passed down to me through generations, dramatically leading to nowhere, threw them away, and made my own. The scenery is so much more enjoyable, and the avenues make more sense. Maybe I’ll have a chance of getting to the destination of my choice. Or maybe not, but at least I can enjoy my own journey, instead of fighting to constant struggles of others blocking my path.

This book sticks with me, even though it is really a book on equine management, because was the moment where something shifted in me and changed my entire perspective on the life choices I was making - so I made different ones. I decided I was responsible for making my own map. The maps handed to me were outdated and ineffective - there was no way to get where I wanted to go.

This book opened my eyes to considering horses in a different way, also. Ms. Wanless spoke from a perspective of valuing horses and their feelings. By studying expert opinions and utilizing her experiential and gained knowledge, she found the bravery to approach the horse world non-conventionally, but with ideas she believed in. I wanted to be more like that. Through her opinions expressed in this book, and the actions she has taken, she inspires me to research different ways of thinking, being, and of expressing myself. Her book is important for considering how we impact or view the animal world, but it’s also relevant to considering our own existence within the human community.

NonfictionReviewDiscussionChallengeAnalysis
7

About the Creator

KJ Aartila

A writer of words in northern WI with a small family and a large menagerie.

My Substack

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen10 months ago

    This was such a short but profound way of dealing with independent thoughts and actions. We are mostly imbued with the beliefs and teachings of those before us. Burn the map and chart your path is very appealing to me. Great story.

  • marie e ehlenbach10 months ago

    It was very good! Can you please read my story? https://vocal.media/criminal/great-chicago-novel-blas01qe

  • Hannah Moore10 months ago

    I was thinking just that, when you got to it- that changing how we consider animals must surely also change how we consider one another. I love that you took all this from a book about horse husbandry. Deep reading!

  • Treating others as we would have them treat us, no matter who or what they be. Always sound counsel.

  • The map is not the territory. That was very profound!

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    Great take on some very wise words. Well done.

  • Jazzy 10 months ago

    Wow, yes, what a good point; now I feel I should read this book!!!

  • L.C. Schäfer10 months ago

    The name rings a bell... is this the same person who wrote Ride With Your Mind?

  • Oh wow I read Korzybski and he mentioned the map is not the territory as well! It's a wise sentiment that speaks volumes in so few words! Lovely 🌹

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.