BookClub logo

Exam Fright: Triumphing Over Misread Schedules and Panic

Personal Experience

By StaringalePublished 9 months ago 4 min read

The exam week is dragging on and on and on and the stress I am facing now is making me tired. I can't sleep peacefully, I am at wits end. Just want it to be over now. With breakfast done and the kitchen in neat order, I headed to my bedroom to get ready to face the exam. Putting the necessary books and items in the bag, I spared a glance to the exam schedule on my dresser. A bolt of lightening struck me, the color drained from my face and anxiety gripped me, 'I had prepared the wrong subject for the impending exam'.

The realization that I studied the wrong subject dawned on me like a cruel joke. My heart was sinking, panic was setting in and a torrent of thoughts rushed through my mind like a hurricane -- How did I make such a colossal error in my preparation?. The dread of facing the exam unprepared intensified as the minutes ticked away.

The race against time has just started, I rushed towards the cupboard to gather notes and past papers for the subject I should have studied. Look objectively over all I desperately tried to absorb as much as I can in the limited time available. The pressure was building, threatening to drown me in its suffocating grip.

Doubt crept in, making me question if I could salvage this situation and perform well despite my misstep. My mind was a whirlwind of information, and I struggled to keep my thoughts organized amidst the mounting pressure. But nothing was staying in my mind and I was stressing out. At that moment a quote crossed my mind,

'Your Calm Mind Is The Ultimate Weapon Against Your Challenges, So Relax'

Taking a deep breath I tried to compose myself and gather my thoughts. I came up with a plan to go through with solved past papers first followed by 5-minute topic notes. Though the plan was clear in my head, it wasn't as easy to execute because the 5-minute notes I left at my brothers house during last night family dinner, and my mom was supposed to bring it to me today but she didn't specify at what time. I began with the past papers, it was a frantic moment frustration and despair were on the verge of overcoming me.

Desperation fueled my actions, my mind is racing to grasp any last-minute knowledge as I whispered prayers, hoping for a miracle that could salvage this predicament. Just as I was about to submit to the seemingly inevitable disaster, the bell rang. Looking at the clock I wondered who could be this early visitor. Opening the door I was greeted by a welcoming sight of my mom with my notes in one hand and a basket fresh fruits in other. Suppressing my stress I hugged my mom, the hug always works as a stress reliever. Grabbing her arm I dragged her inside and started going through the notes.

My mom smiled at me scolded me for being mischievous. I asked her the question that was on my mind since I saw her at my door-step -- Why brought her here so early in the morning? And her reply warmed my heart - she told me while rubbing my head like a cat that as a mother she can tell when her child is in trouble and needs help. I felt the anxiety fading replaced by a newfound determination which fueled me. A resilience is awakened in me reminding me that in the face of a seemingly insurmountable challenge a careful reevaluation and a touch of perseverance could steer me on the right path.

While I tried to cram the necessary information in the last minute, I was surprised by my mom's face coming so close to mine. Looking up at her questioningly, I saw her brows furrowed in confusion. Concerned I asked her what was wrong and she told me why was I preparing ahead just moments before my examination. I told her the whole story with tears of frustration in my eyes, she was silent through all my angry tirade when I finished I looked up with puppy dog eyes hoping with all my might that she will provide a solution.

I was rewarded with a laugh and my mom pulled me into a hug rubbing my head and muttering my child you must have misread I just saw your exam schedule and I am pretty sure you overlooked it in your haste.

Tilting my head like a puppy in my mom's arms I got up and went to my room, grabbing hold of the exam schedule and scanning it feverishly I saw in a breath-stealing moment that it was my hasty error and my preparations were indeed aligned with the correct exam. Relief washed over me in this surreal moment. Running back to my mom I spinner her round and round in joy thanking her profusely.

Rushing back I got ready, grabbed my bag, gave my key to mom, kissed her on cheek, hugged her tightly and left the house to catch the bus. This whole ordeal has taught me the value of composure under pressure and the importance of re-checking re-cconfirming crucial details, staying calm under pressure, for sometimes, a small misinterpretation can lead to a major fright. This lesson was etched into my consciousness and I want to share it with all the students out there,

'Meticulous Attention & Maintaining Composure During The Most Stressful of Times could turn A Major Fright into a Triumphant Sigh of Relief'.

QuoteNonfictionChallengeAnalysis

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Doc Sherwood9 months ago

    This is so well-written, and captures perfectly both the emotional ordeal of exam time and what a blessing it is to have a trusted loved one in your corner! My heart went out to Mom in this story, she sounds wonderful. As for exams, I've been there, and hopefully this helps me empathize when my students go through them now! With me it was psychosomatic nosebleeds, and they were better than a calendar for knowing when it was exam time. The first paragraphs of your story also touch upon that recurring anxiety-dream, where you signed up for the wrong subject and now assessment is due and you've done no work. I'm no stranger to that one, believe me - there are times I wake up resigned to never completing that applied mathematics or quantum physics course!

SWritten by Staringale

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.