BookClub logo

An Afternoon Spent on Hunger Games written by Suzanne Collins

Book Review

By StaringalePublished 5 months ago 3 min read
An Afternoon Spent on Hunger Games written by Suzanne Collins
Photo by De'Andre Bush on Unsplash

Just watched the first season of hunger games and I wanted to see how the story unfolded in the books. So grabbing my wallet and the helmet I rode to the dingy old-bookshop across the corner on my bicycle. This was the book I didn't have with me at home so I had to buy it but I got a bad news when I stopped infront of the bookshop. Because there on a white board it was written in bold letters closed. I didn't want to put it off till tomorrow so I made a u-turn and headed for the library. Thankfully I was able to borrow the book, racing back home, I got comfortable on the couch and started reading. And here's my opinion on 'The Hunger Games' written by Suzanne Collins.

It is a story set in dystopian future where the protagonist Katniss Everdeen plays a central role as she is thrust into the brutal world of the 'Hunger Games'. This was a form of entertainment and psychological weapon orchestrated by the oppressive government of Panem where the selected individuals from a poor suffering area were selected to fight to death.

The author brilliantly explains the moral implications of survival and the lengths to which an individual will go in order to protect themselves and their loved ones. A new depth is added by the author when she shows the internal struggle the protagonist is facing by being a willing participant in the game while at the same time trying to maintain her humanity, this shows how deeply violence effects the human psyche.

The depiction of the stark divide between the wealthy and oppressed in Panem the author brings light on the issues of social inequality and the abuse if power which is happening at some level all around us. At the same time she also shows that hope blooms everytime when the will gets stronger and an individual thrives on this especially when time does not seem to be on your side.

Furthermore, the relationship between Katniss and Peeta; the fellow tribute, sheds light on the complexities of human emotion and tells us the bond developed during the such times are strong. The human psyche guides an individual to find strength in unity and compassion.

To me this is truly a deep thought-provoking work that explores the ethical dilemmas, resilient spirit of the characters and psychological impacts. With the compelling narrative and masterful storytelling the author has made this book an impactful read.

So go ahead when you have time try to give this book a read. As with any book I read I get insight into different perspectives and this book was no different. Watching the movie before reading the book was a different experience because when I read a book before watching its movie my imagination runs wild an imagines the characters and the world they live in but due to me watching the movie earlier my imagination did not get the chance to run wild the world from the movie played around my mind as I read the story and picture of the actors popped into my mind whenever the characters came up.

Putting all aside I stood up grabbed a sticky note and jotted a memo to return the book the following morning before I placed the book on the table. Stretching out to let the blood flow in my resting limbs I headed to the kitchen to grab a snack. Wondering what is the menu for dinner. So have you read this book? Do you prefer reading deep thought-provoking books? Have a nice day.

ReviewRecommendationDiscussionBook of the DayAnalysis

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Doc Sherwood5 months ago

    This is an excellent book review, making me wish once again that you were one of my students, or at least that my students could write about books as well as you do! As for the Hunger Games, I very much enjoyed the films, for doing just what you describe - that is, exploring the ethical atrocity depicted while making no bones that such a society would be deeply wrong. Kitano Takeshi's infamous film Battle Royale, which had a similar premise, divided Japanese audiences over its ambiguous treatment of the moral issues. The Hunger Games by contrast succeeded, by affirming that only an evil dictatorship would force children to fight for their survival. And I do know just what you mean about watching the movie before reading the book! One of my biggest reading regrets is that the BBC version of The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe always supplants C. S. Lewis's original text in my mind, for just that reason. Thankfully, by the time they adapted three of the others I'd already read the books! (And more thankfully still there were two the BBC didn't even bother with, because I shudder to imagine The Magician's Nephew or The Last Battle on a British TV budget...!) But just to put in a word for Auntie Beeb, although their Narnias were inferior to the books, their Box of Delights adaptation was a great improvement on John Masefield's rambling plot and creaky regrettable humour. So it can work the other way round! But I digress! Loved your review - you always explore the book so thoroughly, and discuss it in a thoughtful and insightful way. Looking forward to the next one!

  • Shirley Belk5 months ago

    I have not read the book. I really liked the movies, though. One of my students, who had read the book prior to the movie, said the book was better. Mainly the reason being was that Peeta in the movie was not at all like her idea of book Peeta.

SWritten by Staringale

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.