BookClub logo

25 YEARS... 1/2

...and no end in sight!

By Christian BassPublished 6 months ago Updated 2 months ago 6 min read
(Image taken 2009 in Mauritius)

Since the profile text is very limited, I was wondering how I really can indroduce my work and me. It took a while but then, suddenly, I realised that 2024 is a special year for me, for so many reasons. I will get married for the first time; I will move to London and settle down for the first time in my adult life. And... I am a (traditional) published author for 25 years now.

Twenty-five years in the literature industry!

And all started because I wanted to prove that I am not good as poet at all. To be honest, I started to write song lyrics to escape the Beatles Songs we had to play with the School Big Band all the time. When we started too complain about it, our teacher made it even "worse". Instead of letting us perform the songs we really wanted to do, she forced us to do "Heal the world" by Michael Jackson. Funny, but at that time I hated that song.

Me and a few friends from the Big Band decided that we had enough and started our own band to play Rock and Roll. Doing the old songs were great, but soon we wanted more, we wanted our very own songs. So we started to write our own music and since I already had composed some tunes earlier in my life, I became the leading writer for it.

Please, understand me right, it was fun to write those lyrics and songs. And within the decade I wrote over 200 songs. Some we played, some stayed hidden in a drawer until I published the lyrics in a book called "With love from the golden cage".

All lyrics I wrote had been in English or French. A few even in Spanish. Zero in German.

But I used the German language to write poems once in a while, especially to impress my grandfather. And a small poetry collection written by me made a good present, cheap too. However, my true love belonged to short stories. I wanted to write bestselling novels and short stories. Poetry was a dead end, and I was not interested in it at all.

My grandmother complaint a lot, that I never wrote a poem about nature. When she introduced a poetry competition to me, I decided to write a poem that would make her proud and take part in that competition to get a prove that I was not good at all. Actually, I was not good enough to win the competition, but they accepted my poem for their anthology. And suddenly I was a published author in the "National Library of German Poems".

And I have to confess, as angry as I was about that success, I was proud to hold that book in my hands and see me printed in it.

That is how my publishing career started back in 1999.

All song lyrics written in the 1990s

With love from the Golden Cage

Life is a constant battle between good and evil, success and failure, happiness and unhappiness; no matter if all our decisions are right or wrong, they all will lead us and guide us on the path we have to create and walk down to become the human being we deserve to be. This book is about the beginning of my path, my struggle, my love and my inner demons. This is where my journey has started!

Published 2014

Before I go on introducing my books to you, I guess I owe you a small explanation about the name. Before I was adopted I was called Sascha Fey; when I was three years old, that name changed to Christian Bass and most of my books are published under that name. Over the years I also published under different pennames. Some of them I still keep a secret.

In 2023 when me and my boyfriend decided to get married, we also had to figure out who will change his last name. And I decided, that his last name is fitting my name better than the other way around. Getting my last name changed by marriage made me wonder how to go on with the publishing. I could keep my old legal name as a penname. But since the search engines always confuse me with a music instrument and a religion, I thought it would be great to excape that confusion now. So I would change my last name on the books as well. And when I am already doing so, I decided I could change the whole name and use my nickname.

From that moment on, I was in trouble with the new books coming up. Would I really publish them as Christian Bass, knowing that my name will change soon or should I start to use the new name already, although it is no legal one yet. And we decided that the new books will already get the new name. A bit confusing right now, I admit.

Song lyrics from 2000-2012.

This is me, a monkey in the music

Is it possible that a photographer is hiding beyond a journalist? A writer beyond a photographer? And beyond a drop-out someone who's quite willing to have a career - but by his own rules and at his own time and place? Can a man from Hamburg, Germany survive in Mauritius, Africa? And what's going on in such a man? Many questions surround writer, photographer and journalist Christian Bass. In "This is me - a monkey in the music" he answers them all. He invites his readers to have a close look at his inner thoughts and fears. In his lyrics he talks about his ups and downs. "This is me!" is a simple but self-confident statement of a man who has proven "If you really want something, there's always a way!"

Published 2011

This was the very first book that was only written by me. And it started my comeback in the publishing industry in 2011.

The first "true" poetry collection

STORMBRINGER

We did what we had to do to protect us from the evil that is still lurking in the dark. Nevertheless, we are moving towards wars and destruction of nature in the name of future. Our planet is already standing at the edge of anarchy and chaos. The clock is ticking faster and faster; it is just a matter of time until the human race runs out of time and tears the world into its worst disaster.Yet, there is still hope. There's always hope!

Published 2018

And with this book, I started to work with Kevin Ghoseawon, a Mauritian artist, who created all my poetry collection covers and will do so in future.

Second poetry collection

Bazaar of Broken Hearts

Life is not always fair, especially when you are left behind. Sometimes we are caught in an ocean of lies and injustice. These days may not be very often, hopefully, but they exist for sure. We might feel as the sun will never rise again and that is the moment the poetic injustice begins.Never lose hope, never lose your faith, open your eyes to see the spark of hope that will guide you over the Bazaar of Broken Hearts. Follow your path, be honest to yourself and one day happiness will lighten up your life again. Neither rain nor pain will stay forever, sunshine and love always find its way back into your life.

Published 2014 / 2019

And to confuse all of you more, this book started its life as "Left Behind" in 2014 and would have been my first "true" poetry collection. But in the events of that time, I took it back and later published it with more content under this new name.

*

Since this is an English platform I suppose it makes no sense to introduce you all the poetry collections I wrote in German as well as the one I wrote in French.

I still have a few song lyrics and poems left unfinished from the period 2000 to 2012. Do I intend to publish them? Yes, but to do so, I need to have a concept for them and the newly written poems and lyrics are always interfering with it. But it stays on my To-Do-List.

New poetry collections are already planned. "Turning Point" will be published by end of this year. And another one is planned for years, that will be based on wonderful black and white drawings by Kevin Ghoseawon. Actually for years we are talking about such a collaboration. And I am sure, you will be the first ones to learn about it here on vocal.

Thank you for reading!

AuthorRecommendation

About the Creator

Christian Bass

An author, who writes tales of human encounters with nature and wildlife. I dive into the depths of the human psyche, offering an insights into our connection with the world around us, inviting us on a journeys.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Christian BassWritten by Christian Bass

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.