Blush logo

I’m 25 and I get Botox Injections - Here’s Why

This is why 25 isn’t too young to be getting Botox.

By Sarah GrahamPublished 2 years ago Updated 8 months ago 3 min read
Like
I’m 25 and I get Botox Injections - Here’s Why
Photo by Diana Polekhina on Unsplash

Growing up, I never really had a whole lot of issues with my skin. I didn’t have the common acne breakouts that a lot of teenagers get, and I didn’t have hard to deal with oily or excessively dry skin. I did, however, spend a lot of time in the sun without sunscreen in hopes of getting a nice tan, and spent a lot of sleepless nights partying until the sun came up. While I am still guilty of both those things from time to time, my skin care has grown to become significantly more advanced, given that I have taken the time to explore different skin care routines and the best possible ways to maintain my youthful appearance, which wasn’t really something I was worried about as a 19 year old. My skin care routine isn’t particularly extensive or involved, and mostly just consists of quality creams, SPF and sun protection (always), as well as a few medical grade facial treatments and, of course, Botox.

Before I had ever gotten any kind of medical spa treatment, Botox, lip fillers, and face lifts, all fell under the same category for me: plastic surgery, and botched. Over time and with age, I realized however, that Botox and dermal fillers aren’t at all comparable to face lifts, and have a very slim chance of leaving anyone with a botched face, especially if administered properly by a skilled and experienced injector. Overall, if done right, Botox is a safe and effective cosmetic treatment that can suit the needs of many, cosmetically and medically. Here’s why.

So, why do I get Botox injections? The answer is simple: wrinkle prevention.

While Botox is most commonly known for its rejuvenating capabilities, eliminating already existing fine lines and wrinkles, tightening the skin, making its subjects appear youthful, Botox actually serves a number of different purposes, both in the cosmetic and medical realm.

While I personally don’t have much wrinkling in my face, I have noticed some very fine lines around my eyes (minimal crow’s feet), and horizontal lines on my forehead. That said, I didn’t get Botox necessarily to eliminate those fine lines that are beginning to appear. Instead, I have been getting regular Botox injections to prevent them from getting worse.

Botox works by paralyzing the muscle in which it is injected, restricting the muscle contractions that would otherwise lead to wrinkle formation. For example, when you raise your eyebrows, you will likely see lines on your forehead. If you raise your eyebrows frequently enough, those lines will eventually mold into your forehead, leaving you with permanent indents of horizontal lines on your forehead. If Botox is injected into the muscle that allows you to raise your eyebrows, that muscle will be paralyzed (don’t worry, it’s temporary), meaning that you won’t be able to raise your eyebrows, meaning that those wrinkles will never form in the first place.

Where do I get Botox?

I get Botox injections in my forehead, between my eyebrows (for my frown lines, that I am hoping will never exist), and my crow’s feet. I also get Botox injections in my masseters to reduce my tooth grinding when I sleep, and it has worked wonders.

Another major “side effect” of Botox in the forehead is that it also paralyzes your sweat glands, meaning that when I’m working out, or am outside on a hot summer day, my face doesn’t even get sweaty. In fact, some people get Botox injected specifically for hyperhidrosis, which is the medical term for excessive sweating. If you’re lucky, your insurance may actually pay for this one.

I understand that a lot of people will disagree with someone in their early or mid-twenties getting Botox injections, however, I have yet to have a bad experience with my Botox treatments at Skinly Aesthetics A. So far I have only been getting the minimum amount of units needed to maintain my current appearance. Thankfully I have a trustworthy and honest cosmetic dermatologist who I trust would never hit me with that overdone look. Botox has helped me maintain the natural appearance that I love, without showing new and sometimes discouraging signs of aging, and I love it.

face
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.