Beat logo

Yung Smilez

Creating Punchy and Innovative Music

By Tammy ReesePublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Yung Smilez ( Photo Credit: @QualityLenz)

Yung Smilez is an artist from Pensacola, Florida with a focus on creating punchy and innovative music, inspired by his own unique authentic life experience. Yung Smilez describes himself purely as an Artist, and is not tied to the limitation of any specific genre or influence. For this reason, Yung Smilez’s musical catalog is actually quite diverse, as he is always drawing inspiration with new perspectives. Growing up in a musical family allowed Yung Smilez to experience a multitude of genres ranging from Gospel, R&B ballads, to Pop. Being the middle child of his seven brothers, they would all sing in his family’s church since before he was able to make his very first steps! Yung Smilez has a soaring voice, which cuts through the mix with energy and passion. His impeccable songwriting skills allow him to turn real-world narratives into lyrics that are easily relatable, yet connect with his audience on a deeper level.

Yung Smilez ( Photo Credit: @QualityLenz)

Tammy Reese:

What inspired you to become a music artist?

Yung Smilez:

What inspired me was my passion for creating music. The entire process itself makes me genuinely happy which I think is so important. Music itself is apart of me so inspiration comes from within.

Tammy Reese:

What are some memorable moments in your career so far?

Yung Smilez:

Some memorable moments would be every time I’m up on stage and seeing the people vibe out to my music and sing word for word. Also opening up for Travis Porter and locking in the studio with June The Genius.

Tammy Reese:

What are you currently working on?

Yung Smilez:

I’m currently working on this huge single I have coming out with a very big artist that I think is going to shake up some things. Very excited about it also we are pushing my single “Hennessy” make sure to check that out.

Tammy Reese:

How has the pandemic shaped your day to day life?

Yung Smilez:

The pandemic has slowed down my day to day a lot. We aren’t able to go outside and really campaign and push the agenda like we want to but we are still making it work!

Tammy Reese:

What is your stance on the black lives matter movement?

Yung Smilez:

My stance is that I understand what the movement means to a lot of people. I don’t think anyone should be killed no matter what race or color. I believe the cops should just do their jobs and arrest individuals who do bad things. But I will always support doing the right thing I believe it’s important. I stand with the peaceful protests.

Tammy Reese:

What does music mean to you?

Yung Smilez:

Music means life, without music I don’t think a lot of us could even exist.

Tammy Reese:

What artists are you currently listening too?

Yung Smilez:

I’m listening to don Toliver , Drake, Lil Baby, Imagine Dragons

Tammy Reese:

Very diverse taste in music. Very awesome music artists for sure!

What do you want your legacy to be?

Yung Smilez:

I want my legacy to be I was a person who always strive to do right by others. Whether that be in business or even in personal relationships I want everyone to remember me as person who cared for others and was always striving to be a better man and person.

Tammy Reese:

What is some advice you would give to anyone wanting to become an music artist?

Yung Smilez:

Make sure you enjoy your process. Keep going no matter anyone says about you. Expect a lot of “no’s” but be excited for when they finally say “yes”. And no matter what never give up on your dreams because you truly never know when one moment can change your entire life.

Yung Smilez

Keep up to date with Yung Smilez career and journey on Instagram

interview
Like

About the Creator

Tammy Reese

Tammy is best known for her legendary interviews with Sharon Stone, Angela Bassett, Sigourney Weaver, Geena Davis, Morris Chestnut, Jeffrey Dean Morgan, Sheryl Lee Ralph, Laurence Fishburne, Omar Epps, Joseph Sikora, and more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.