Beat logo

Why Do I Love This Weird-Ass Album?

Kero Kero Bonito's "Bonito Generation"

By Nic SanonPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
5
Gus Lobban, Sarah Bonito, and Jaime Bulled

Now, I'm no music critic. At all. However, I do listen to a lot of music, and whenever I can, I am looking for new artists to dive in to. One of my favorite artists, "100 gecs", has been releasing remixes to songs off their 2019 project "1000 gecs", their most recent being to the track "Ringtone". This remix contains a hefty lineup, with Charli XCX, Rico Nasty, and...Kero Kero Bonito?

"Who's that?" I wondered, being well aquatinted with the other two artists, who are paving the way for future pop music just as 100 gecs is. What I was not ready for when I listened through the track, though, was hearing the very British and clear voice of Sarah Bonito, the voice of Kero Kero Bonito. It felt like all of her lyrics were being politely spoken to me, without losing any emotional meaning behind her well written words. Their guest verses alone had me hooked, and I immediately began to listen to "Bonito Generation".

WHO IS KKB? WHAT IS "Bonito Generation"?

Kero Kero Bonito is an indie pop trio of musicians from London, England. Besides Sarah, the two producers Gus and Jaime back up the lead singer with an impressive range of instrumentals, providing sounds with inspirations ranging from J-Pop to noise rock. Together, the three have been gaining critical acclaim and a dedicated fanbase since their debut mixtape "Intro Bonito" in 2014.

"Bonito Generation" is the group's first album through Double Denim Records, released in 2016. It is 12 tracks long, in total about 36 minutes in runtime. The cover art is Sarah Bonito dressed in a graduation cap and gown, which fits extremely well with the subject matter of the entire project. Every song off of this thing has themes of growing up and getting through life on your own. The instrumentals are joyous and child-like, with bubblegum bass and sweet poppy samples; paired with Sarah's singing/rapping in her British accent AND in Japanese, the three create the naive and innocent tone of the album as a whole.

HOW IS THIS "WEIRD"?

Okay, so "weird" is more a matter of opinion for me. In my eyes, something "weird" is when the subject in question is so beyond the norm, it is almost jarring at first, and needs a second for me to become comfortable with it. Usually, I am surrounded by hip hop and trap beats that have oversaturated today's popular music, so listening to electropop instrumentals over a British girl speak to me about jumping on her trampoline (from the track "Trampoline" of course) can be a little off-putting at first.

But KKB being so unique is their appeal. The group was able to zero in on a very specific feeling anyone can relate to, thanks to Sarah's spot-on lyrics and the playful production. Like when Sarah talks about needing a rest in "Break": "I know it seems kind of tough/but really it's easy enough/for us to slow down the pace/so we can all go take a break". Just hearing her say it makes me take a deep breath and step back from everything I have on my plate for a second. And in "Picture This", after Sarah sings, "I check that no one else is around" the instrumental literally includes a cartoonish sound effect like Sarah herself is looking side to side like she says. The playfulness of the track makes me grin every time I listen.

SO WHY DO I LIKE IT?

Within the last year I decided to move out of my parent's house for the first time, and the change away from family, friends, and everything I've become familiar with my entire life has undoubtedly affected me. The thing is, I have never really been able to articulate it myself. What's special about "Bonito Generation" is that is has been able to encapsulate how I feel through upbeat, J-Pop bangers. Sarah speaks simply, which makes the feelings she is conveying that much easier to understand, making her lyricism seem almost gullible at first glance, but as I kept listening I realized I felt what she was saying HARD.

"Waking Up" is simply about the struggle of getting up every morning. "Big City" is about moving out and following your dream (which really hits home). "Try Me" is about trying to prove your worth to those around you (this one is great; Sarah goes through her "impressive list of activities" which includes "Business, dancing, throwing a party......WITH YOU").

And I haven't even begun to explain how the instrumentals are really what carries this album. Every single song is catchy, has a head-bopping beat, and offers new production shifts and additions as each track progresses. Overall, the entire album comes together to feel very unified, extremely fun and most importantly an emotional rollercoaster.

The closing song "Hey Parents" makes me want to visit my parents right now. I miss them. I miss not knowing anything, being a kid and imagining growing up to be a magical experience. Everything I want will just come to me, I'll be successful, and life will be an easy cruise. But that's not really what happened to me, or how it happens to most. The world can hit you like a ton of bricks, but "Bonito Generation" reminds me of when growing up was a fantasy, not a harsh reality. Yes, it is only a fantasy, but looking back on my innocence is bittersweet, and I can't thank KKB enough for the trip down memory lane.

Good album.

album reviews
5

About the Creator

Nic Sanon

You've been writing, I just do this on the weekend.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.