Beat logo

Who Is Samira Randolph?

Vocal Creators On The Rise Spotlight

By Tammy ReesePublished 3 years ago 11 min read
Like

Through the midst of a turbulent upbringing, Samira Randolph has managed to keep her head above waters remaining God-fearing, and humble. At a young age, she experienced molestation and abuse at the hands of her own father. This was the turning point in her life and the tip of the iceberg for future traumas to come. With a heart etched in steel, she fought her way through foster care, drug-addicted parents, teen pregnancy, single parenthood, and the foster care system. Through it all, she remained focused and ever more determined to accomplish her life’s dreams, which were to sing, act and write. Her first debut album “My Journey My Story” is soon to be released this summer and will feature hits such as Hallelujah and They Don’t Love You Like I Do.

Samira takes you step by step on a journey through her life from the eyes and heart of an innocent child lost that morphed into the strong woman you see today. Samira never allowed her hurdles to break her, instead, she is using those trials as learning experiences which ultimately lead her into philanthropy work as a child advocate and becoming a foster mother to neighboring run-away teens. This gave her the community title of “Mama”. Samira has raised many children not biological to her and with no financial rewards. Everything she does is from her heart.

Samira has worked with local agencies within her community such as Children and Youth family services to help end systemic issues within these programs that often create dysfunction in the home instead of bridging the gap between parent and child social relationships that often have failed merely due to the rising crave of social media. Samira is a woman of faith and character that has been lost within man for a very long time. Seemingly prophetic in her songs, novels, and poetry, Samira has a voice with a purpose that did not allow her obstacles in life to become her final testimony.

Samira was originally born in Los Angeles, CA, but at the tender age of 2 she and her two older siblings relocated to Chattanooga, TN with their mother and father the late Butch Cornell Jr. Butch Cornell Jr. was a famous Jazz Musician from the South; he was born and raised in Chattanooga, TN. Butch played with many great jazz musicians such as Miles Davis, Herbie Hancock, Stanley Turentine, Duke Ellington, Plas Johnson, and more. Many of these individuals Samira grew up calling Uncle Plas, never knowing the extraordinary people she was surrounded by growing up.

Her father Founded the Friends of Jazz a local blues festival still held today in Chattanooga, TN. Chiki Productions was the first music label her father started in 1985. Surrounded by music royalty and the music industry is what gave Samira her immediate love for music and the arts. Samira watched her father perform at countless showcases, and concerts around the United States. Watching her father network and seeing all the fans adore her dad; she knew as early as the age of 5 that she wanted to be a STAR. Growing up Samira would vocally train herself to sing by mimicked great artists such as Whitney Houston, Chaka Khan, Anita Baker, and Patti Austin, giving herself the ability to sing like anyone. She often called herself the female “Ray Charles”

At the age of 9, Samira blew her 4th-grade teachers away at a school talent show, with her rendition of “Caught Up In The Rapture Of Love, by Anita Baker. Not only is Samira a multi-talent, but she is also a breath of fresh air to the entertainment industry. Her voice brings forth purpose and truth to social issues through song, scripts, and novels. Her lyrics in many ways symbolize truth and wisdom beyond her years. When you listen to her you will want to dive deeper into Samira’s world because each song tells a story.

After her horrific experience within the foster care system Samira’s parents eventually split forcing her to have to relocate to unfamiliar territory; Harrisburg, PA. Still struggling with a mother addicted to crack cocaine Samira quickly grew up and adapted to her surroundings. Samira details her life during this time in a 5-part documentary series about her life entitled SAM. This film is available for viewing on YouTube. Be sure to subscribe to her channel for new music and projects.

Under an immense amount of stress, Samira discovered she was pregnant during her senior year of high school. Determined to not be a statistic Samira withdrew herself from school, got her GED, and traded it in for her high school diploma, and at 17 she was ever more determined than anything to succeed. She began to make a name for herself by collaborating with several indie artists on the northeast coast. Samira won 2nd place in the East Coast Sundays Best Competition in Steelton, PA, hosted by Valerie Lynn. Samira traveled near and far auditioning for shows such as; The Voice, American Idol, Broadway, and Hamilton.

Samira’s first on-stage break was a vocalist performing with a blues cast in a musical play entitled “The Tear Jar”, written & produced by Jerry Mussuer. Samira is featured on the explosive Soundtrack “Don’t Blame Me”, a novel written by Jonathan Z. Queen. Samira wrote and recorded two of these soundtrack songs entitled Little Carol-Anne, and 3Some. Today, Samira has written and released many of her own novels which are all available on Amazon and CreateASpace. She recently released her latest novel entitled “Burn Out” its available on Amazon.com and CreataASpace.com.

She has worked with other local artists on film projects that are currently in the works and she co-wrote novels entitled David 2, Alcoholic Bruce, Claudette The Heart of the Streetz, and Katya Rise of a Sex Slave.

Samira continues to write scripts, stage plays, and work within her community, promoting shows and showcases that highlight other local talents. Samira was blessed with the opportunity to produce one music score for the smash Web Series Detective Miles Handy written and produced by Daniel Fordham; of Fordham Films. Samira is a featured singer/songwriter on the soundtrack of Our Boys a Netflix documentary film by Eli Greene of Eli Greene Films. She wrote and recorded the smash hit “A Mother’s Cry”.

Samira not only strives to be a worldwide superstar she has started her own online dating service called links2loveonline, an online service geared towards inmates finding love. Through this service and with everything Samira witnessed and experienced as a child she desired to do more for others that were less fortunate so she started a foundation called Apiphanee’s House which is a teen runaway shelter- halfway housing for parolees. Offering housing to teens in distress Samira is able to act as in ventricle role model to help get lost youth on the right path.

Mental health is a largely growing issue within the Black community that is often shammed and viewed as unspoken hocus pocus but the fact remains Depression, Suicidal Thoughts, PTSD, and anxiety is real. Instead of hiding those feelings or be ashamed Samira enjoys working with others to help them use their artistic abilities to express their deepest emotions. In a way, she’s created her own musical healing process for the soul.

Please watch Samira’s documentary film SAM, as learn of the many tragedies she experienced throughout her life you will not only grow to love her more but you will develop a deeper respect and understanding for her fight to simply be great. She is a mother, wife, innovator, and truly one of a kind! Last year Samira started her own record label with partner Gale “Big Guy” Green called Hustlers Hope Entertainment. Through her company, she plans to release small trailer films of her written novels and other small PSAs films.

This summer be sure to look for her new cookbook entitled CellBlock Culinary which features delicious elegant meals made strictly from the inmate commissary list. The town-talk surrounding her yummy delights such as the “Chi-Chi, Crackhead Casserole, and Smashie” has morphed into a full-blown cooking show currently in the works this Fall in 2022.

When it comes to who inspires this phenomenal woman, Samira will tell you many people good and bad have inspired her; to either be or not be more like that person. Collectively each experience made her into the woman she is today. Many of her greatest idols are Master P, Barrack, and Michelle Obama, Prince, Kandi Burruss from her favorite RnB group grouping up, Xscape, and horror novel writer Stephen King. Check out all her links below, and enjoy learning more about Samira a rising star, striving for God’s glory.

Vocal readers, please enjoy our interview!

Tammy Reese: What inspired you to get into philanthropy work?

Samira Randolph : My own experience with the foster care system, being a victim myself of sexual and physical abuse I always wanted to help others. I hate the leniency given to sex offenders within the criminal justice system. Stiffer penalties need to be given to creatures that abuse children.

Tammy Reese: How did your first debut album "My Journey My Story" come about?

Samira Randolph : I had been working on this album essentially for about 5 years. I kept putting it off, or on hold due to personal and emotional challenges I faced while trying to put my life into songs all the while learning the industry. I struggled deeply during this journey having to deal with users, thieves, my image as far as my weight, and feeling like I wasn’t the right look, or because I was a big girl I wouldn’t get a positive review on my music.

It was so much I went through mentally that I wanted to give up. Then the car accident occurred in 2014 where I was an innocent bystander struck by police engaged in a car chase with a criminal and I had to be hospitalized for months. I needed intense therapy just to learn to walk again. I got my hip replaced and with being bed-bound for so long I got up to almost 410 pounds.

I gave up on life entirely. I battled with depression and suicidal thoughts until one day I just said to myself don’t let life beat you. I developed a fight in me I never knew I had. I went through bariatric surgery and lost over 240 pounds, continued going to PT 3x a week and today I don’t look anything like what I have been through.

Tammy Reese: We've just celebrated Juneteenth, what does Juneteenth mean for you?

Samira Randolph : Juneteenth means FREEDOM to me. This day is the day Abraham Lincoln freed the slaves, he gave his life so that we could be free. The sad reality is that even centuries later we are still fighting for equality and the right to live freely amongst our Caucasian counterparts.

Tammy Reese: What gives you the most joy in your life?

Samira Randolph : My family, my children, husband, and grand babies are the joy of my life.

Tammy Reese: What is your definition of success?

Samira Randolph : My definition of success is having an abundance of secured wealth and businesses that bring forth equity. When you can retire early and live comfortably for the next lifetime you are successful. When you're respected by others and people desire to be in your presence you are not only rich in love but successful in life.

Tammy Reese: What are you extremely proud of?

Samira Randolph : I am extremely proud of my strength. I often wonder how I made it this far, never cheating or going the easy route to get to the top and all I can say is Thank you God. Thank you for never leaving me or forsaking me. I’m not where I want to be in life but I’m striving and headed in the right direction.

Tammy Reese: What gives you the most fulfillment out of singing, and writing?

Samira Randolph : I get the most fulfillment in my writing and singing when others can relate to what I’m talking about.

Tammy Reese: How would you describe yourself?

Samira Randolph : I would describe myself as beautiful, loving, kind, wise beyond my years, humble, spiritual, and observant. I am a watcher of souls. I treat everyone according to how you treat me and others.

Tammy Reese: What can we be on the lookout for?

Samira Randolph : Be on the lookout for new music, I’ve been promoting my new album "My Journey My Story" which is available for listening on YouTube, SoundCloud.com. and other major music platforms. I am promoting my documentary film "SAM" which is a true story based on my life. It can be found on YouTube and it’s also available for viewing on Podbean.

I started a podcast to be more interactive with my followers who desire to engage in open discussions with me. Our Podcast is called The Open Door. Please subscribe to our channel and feel free to donate to our patronage as all donations help go towards keeping new content on our new podcast forum streaming on a daily basis. Donations will also aid in the construction of my shelter project Apiphanee’s House.

Keep up-to-date by connecting on Instagram @samira4everblessed or by visiting www.therealsamrandolph.com

feature
Like

About the Creator

Tammy Reese

Tammy is best known for her legendary interviews with Sharon Stone, Angela Bassett, Sigourney Weaver, Geena Davis, Morris Chestnut, Jeffrey Dean Morgan, Sheryl Lee Ralph, Laurence Fishburne, Omar Epps, Joseph Sikora, and more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.