Beat logo

Who is Chay CEO?

Chay CEO

By Jason James Published 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

There’s a shift in the air unlike any before it’s time. The fight for inclusion has led to statues falling, companies donating, and families picking sides on where they will stand on the grand stage of history. From the shadows of R&B and the crowd of “lil” rappers a new type of artist emerges that we may not have wanted, but surely needed…Chay CEO.

An Austin transplant, Chay CEO presents her melodic voice onto the crowded music stage creating a lane all of her own to shine. Identifying as a black masculine presenting lesbian, Chay CEO shows us that no matter how you identify, all black music matters.

Born and raised in Houston, Texas, Chay CEO is the oldest of two children raised by a strong black woman. “I remember waking up in the middle of the night to find my mom studying for exams as she put herself through nursing school. Her tenacity and perseverance to succeed while raising two children on her own seared something into my brain…if I want something, all I had to do was put in the work and it would be mine”.

Discovering her gift of writing early, Chay CEO began writing poetry at the age of nine, with her first taste of publication at the age of eleven when a poem of hers was released in her school magazine. “I loved the feeling of everyone relating to my work, it was a rush. And the fame that came attached to it wasn’t bad either. So I decided to stick with it and see how far it would take me.” It wasn’t until her high school years, that a major shift began to take effect. “I was dating this guy who wanted to be the next Timbaland [a producer]. I had some clout around school, so I figured I could help get his music out to more listeners. I thought it would be cool to date the artist on campus, but something sparked in me that wanted to do more than refer people to him, I wanted to be his manager. I wanted to own my own record company. I grew up with the Def Jams, Bad Boy, and La Face Records images where I saw black people making a difference in the culture and I thought, why not me?”

With the same determination she was raised on, Chay CEO attended Baylor University where she majored in Film and Digital Media to gain a firmer grasp on the ins and outs of the entertainment world. “I learned so much during my time at Baylor, from how to write scripts, to sound production, to how to handle talent, to editing film. I had the freedom to create anything my heart desired, and it felt so amazing.” Garnering a name for herself as a party promoter and socialite, Chay synced up with a few local acts to manage them and to take her vision to the next level. “My latter years at undergrad and my early years as a young adult allowed me the opportunity to meet a lot of talented individuals. I utilized my people skills to book shows and find avenues to expose some up and coming artists. But as time always shows, everyone wants what’s best for them and we all parted ways. It wasn’t until 2016 that I said enough was enough and I started to bet on myself. Taking all the advice I would give everyone else, I applied it to myself and my mind was blown!”

Chay CEO released her first EP entitled, “The Sleeq Life EP” on May 20, 2016 and ignited a small buzz in the city of Austin. Making it to number nine on the top 20 hip-hop/R&B countdown on local radio station KAZI (88.7 FM). With a fan base growing, she released her first full length album; “Who is Chay CEO?” to much acclaim in December of 2016. Hitting people in the heart, Chay CEO found her way onto South by Southwest stages in 2017, performing in Puerto Rico at the Xscape Puerto Rico LGBT Arts and Culture Festival, Texas State University and more. After a brief hiatus, she returned with her EP entitled “Therapy Session” where she speaks on some of the lessons she learned from two past relationships. “Music became my therapy when I was going through some rough moments in my life. I figured if I was going through it, someone else would definitely feel my pain and realize, as I did, I’m still Chay at the end of the day and I have no room for fake love.”

As she works on her upcoming album, we anticipate the release of this great artist as she continues to bend the music spectrum towards her will. “I am creating my own lane. I’m not the hard stud you see on TV, I’ve never owned a pair of J’s or strive to be anyone I’m not. I’m a R&B and hip-hop lover and I want others to feel the same emotions I experience. Whether it be joy, sadness, lust, or pain, I hope someone finds my music at just the right time their heart is heavy, and my lyrics help them grow through it.”

You can listen to this emerging artist on all music platforms (Google Play, Apple Music, Pandora, Spotify, etc.), along with follow her website at www.chayceo.com and on instagram @chay.ceo.

interview
Like

About the Creator

Jason James

Jason James is an American journalist Andrew writer from Miami, Florida that specializes in covering the entertainment industry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.