Beat logo

What was it like seeing Beyoncé live on her Renaissance Tour?

Epic doesn't even cover it

By Nessy WriterPublished 10 months ago 5 min read
Like

Yes, I was one of the lucky ones who managed to nab a ticket for the extravaganza that was Beyoncé’s Renaissance Tour. More accurately I was one of the lucky ones with a best friend who entered the warzone of multiple sites and entry points to try to nab tickets as they went fast. Forever thankful. Not just that, but this was admittedly my first time ever attending a concert of this scale in my life. First time for everything right? And what a first time.

Before I get into it, I can start by saying it was an incredible experience. A likely once in a lifetime experience. Who knows when or if this queen of music might do a world tour again? I might be biased, but I think millions of fans would agree, that Beyoncé always was and continues to be an icon. She has spanned generations, genres and controversial topics. I’ve grown up with her and through various periods of my life she has inspired me. Hearing Destiny’s child and knowing I was a “Survivor”, learning to not let a man take advantage of me to pay his “Bills, Bills, Bills” and that being “Bootylicious” was something to be proud of.

As a solo artist she set off creating her own legacy. I felt more connected to and unashamed to celebrate my sexuality through songs like “Naughty Girl” and “Partition”. Empowered in my independence through songs like “Single Ladies”. The songs were incredible and increasingly dealt with a variety of topics. Issues of race and privilege. With her album Lemonade came insights into her personal life and validation for anyone who has struggled with infidelity.

As to how the day went. Unfortunately, it wasn’t a great start in that there was a technical glitch with the tickets people were sent via Ticketmaster and email. The event was being hosted at Tottenham Hotspur Football stadium. It’s a huge venue with multiple entrances to navigate. The conflicting information on the print out tickets and the email meant that everyone was sent back and forth between different entrances with no clear indication of which was the correct one. We were meant to get early entry and reduced/ no queuing with the tickets we paid for but ended up queuing several times.

My friend and I were glad we didn’t opt for wearing heels but my heart went out to those tottering by in stilettoes. The outfits themselves and energy of those attending just added to the spectacle of the event. The staff were as helpful as they could be and I did feel for them. I appreciated the wave of relief when we finally did get through the doors. Then came the wild goose chase of finding the VIP tent with our goodie bags. But we made it, and drinks in hand we made it to our thrones.

We were pretty lucky with our seats. We hadn’t managed the highly coveted ground level standing tickets close to the stage where one had the chance to breathe the same air as queen B. But considering I have back problems; seats were appreciated. We were fairly low down and near the front in the stands. I felt for those people high up in the back. They looked like a Monet painting of dots.

Now the show itself was undeniably incredible. I know I was a concert virgin, but the queen was a performer and a half. She gave every song such undeniable energy. It was also a feast for the eyes, with consistent stunning outfit changes, set ups and props, not to mention a whole crew of talented dancers and musicians. The vocals themselves were at times haunting and then uplifting. You could feel her voice vibrate through you and fill the entire stadium with energy.

Now this tour was dedicated to her Renaissance album which I feel showcases some of her most unapologetic, uplifting and modern work. Personal favourites are "Cozy", "Alien Superstar" and “Break my Soul”. She played all the songs from this album but also graciously mixed in classics like "Partition", "Naughty Girl", "Crazy in Love" and "Formation".

Some complained that she didn’t do enough of her older material but this was called the Renaissance tour and as one friend put it ‘not the world hits tour’. I think she delivered exactly what should have been expected in terms of the songs she performed.

Visually it was a spectacle in terms of the outfits and effects. The outfits were all so visually striking and distinct from one another. It began with a flowing blue gown, wafting and matching the ethereal tone of her opening songs. There was a gem encrusted red jumpsuit, a nude effect gem catsuit with black arm silhouettes covering all areas needed to preserve modesty. There was the iconic reference to her as Queen B with a bee style helmet. For the finale, she was like a living disco ball, riding a giant disco ball steed.

In terms of visual effects, there was all manner of lighting, smoke and fireworks. As mentioned, the talented dancers also added to the visual impact of the performance. Giant screens showed live images of the performance and the stage close up so that those further away, including us in the stands, could fully appreciate it all and have a clearer view.

There was another unique surprise. Beyoncé’s own daughter, Blue Ivy Carter made an appearance, heading the dance formation for her song “My Power” with Beyoncé motioning towards her daughter when saying “my bloodline”. This was an emotionally charged and powerful twist we did not expect.

So there you have it, my honest review of seeing Beyoncé in concert, live on her Renaissance tour. A definite 10 out of 10 despite the technical mishap.

If you saw the show, what are your thoughts? And what are your favourite Beyoncé songs?

Let me know if there’s anything else you’d want me to review. All hearts appreciated if you enjoyed this article.

If you’re more interested in self improvement content, why not check out my account on medium?:

concert
Like

About the Creator

Nessy Writer

A freelance writer of all sorts sharing it out with the world. Poetry, prose, advice, reviews and travel writing.

If you want to show your support and see more please follow me on Twitter: Nessywriter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Attorney Marissa Curl10 months ago

    I'm so grateful to have found https://www.cp-investigation.com when I was scammed by this fraudulent broker. They provided me with the support and resources I needed to recover my lost funds, and they did it quickly and efficiently. The customer service was top-notch, and they gave me the assurance that my money was in safe hands. If you ever find yourself in a similar situation, I highly recommend reaching out to cp-investigation as they are trustworthy and reliable partners.

  • I'm so grateful to have found https://www.cp-investigation.com when I was scammed by this fraudulent broker. They provided me with the support and resources I needed to recover my lost funds, and they did it quickly and efficiently. The customer service was top-notch, and they gave me the assurance that my money was in safe hands. If you ever find yourself in a similar situation, I highly recommend reaching out to cp-investigation as they are trustworthy and reliable partners.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.