Beat logo

The Badass Queen Playlist

The Anti-Valentine's Day Playlist to get You Back on Your Throne

By Nessy WriterPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 11 min read
5
Photo by Alex Mihai C

So you might have seen my other playlist that was about boycotting Valentine's Day by focusing on yourself in a feel good way. Well, this playlist is all about showing your middle finger to the whole institution by finding power in your singledom. And whilst I know the guys have their own problems and pressures associated with this dreaded day, this one goes out specifically to my ladies. To remind you that YOU are the main character. YOU are the badass queen of your kingdom.

In our society there seems to be an especial pressure on women to be in a relationship or else be seen as having failed in some way. In describing the same relationship status of a person, a man can be called a fun loving bachelor, whilst a woman might be called a sad spinster. A man is glorified for his numerous conquests, whilst a woman is vilified for the same thing. Thus this holiday for us tends to be a shameful reminder of what we supposedly lack if we are single.

I want to remind my ladies that you are valid on your own, your life's purpose is not predestined as marriage and children or else you're a failure. You can have these things or not, but this playlist celebrates women feeling powerful and owning what they do, owning their choices and not caring what anybody else has to say about them. It's a reminder that you don't always have to be soft, sweet and nice, something that is so reminiscent of the romantic holiday we're revolting against. You can be a b*tch if it's necessary, you can be the boss, the queen. So let this playlist inspire you to pick up your crown girl and wear it with pride!

1. Yung Baby Tate feat. Flo Milli - I Am

I saw someone joke that the lyrics of this song were their morning affirmations but I couldn't agree more. It is certainly fit for that purpose and a great way to start off the playlist. The opening lines exemplify the badass queen mindset:

"I am healthy, I am wealthy, I am rich, I am that b*tch, I am gonna go get that bag and I am not gonna take your sh*t".

Let this be the truth you repeat to yourself every morning and evening. So many of us focus on the negatives, on what we lack, instead of manifesting the reality we want and deserve. So many women are afraid to want more and afraid to shoot down people who don't deserve our attention. Here's the reminder that you don't need anyone's permission. Who are you? A queen, that's who.

2. Ashnikko - Daisy

Another song with lyrics worth listening to. There is so much to unpack there so I will focus on a few which I want to highlight. This must feel like the badass anthem for so many of us and is very much in line with the theme of being an empowered woman in your own right, being yourself and not apologizing for it.

"F*ck a princess I'm a king"

That lyric truly spoke to me. Like much of this song it challenges gender norms and preconceived roles for men and women. Historically in our patriarchal society men were favored on the throne. It was crucial to bear a male heir to rule. Men are expected to lead whilst women are expected to serve. Princesses in most traditional fairy-tales are helpless, waiting for a prince to come save or rescue them. This is a powerful lyric because it's saying you should and can aspire to more than just being a helpless princess. You don't need a king, you can be one yourself.

"I'm no Cinderella but I like the shoes"

On that fairy-tale theme, the above lyric once again inverts a classic story and it's about taking from the story what we want. Wanting to be pretty or feminine is not demonized, it says 'I don't care for the story line but I'll take the shoes because I like the look of them'. Making choices for yourself is key.

A final lyric that sums up the message of empowerment and inverts another classic story (a certain film comes to mind) that was all about male power and subjugation of others:

"Bow down and kiss on my ring."

3. Kali - Do A B*tch

This music is sultry in its sound and insulting in it's lyrics. Another one that definitely spits in the face of how a woman, a 'lady' should behave. It has no concern for that, challenging the idea that a woman must always be sweet and submissive. It's rude, confidently so, earning it's place on the list. Enjoy the sound and own the feeling.

4. Halsey - Castle

I remember first hearing this song a couple of years ago when I was still training to be a professional fighter and listening to it on repeat whilst running. I identified with the lyrics so much, because they were about rising to be the queen, to be victorious.

"They wanna make me their queen"

This mirrored the expectations and pressures of everyone around me wanting to see me win.

Then I was struck by these words:

And there's an old man sitting on the throne

That's saying that I probably shouldn't be so mean.....

That's saying I should probably keep my pretty mouth shut

They echoed the words of all those who didn't believe in me, specifically the men who thought I shouldn't be there, that fighting and martial arts was no place for a woman. I was so determined to prove them wrong. We all have our own separate battles to prove ourselves as women, particularly in male dominated fields, this song makes you feel that you'll win and that you're not alone in that struggle.

5. GRLwood - I'm Yer Dad

This entry is an interesting one for many reasons, backed by a powerful rock-style melody known as scream-pop. The tune is lighter than a heavy metal one would be but includes the screaming singing style, a violent sound fit for purpose.

This song is satirical, it's making fun of the typical "dad", older man character that preys upon and sexualises young girls, craving a false sense of dominance. Liking "fast cars", "sports" and "f*cking". It shows how ridiculous that glorified machismo actually looks. As a woman sings the lyrics she simultaneously ridicules the subject whilst reclaiming the power. Though the song describes her relationship with one of these "dad" characters, I believe she also takes the power back because now, "I'm yer dad". A far cry from the lovey dovey, idyllic message of Valentine's Day. This is the reality and the kick back.

6. SIX feat. Genesis Lynea- Get Down

Taking a break from some of the more serious selections, can't have a badass queen playlist without a song from this production. Six the musical tells the tale of the 6 wives of Henry VIII from their point of view and with a modern twist. The song itself is light and uplifting. When I listen to it I feel like I'm surveying my kingdom in a period drama. The lyrics are all about being a queen and having fun with it. Repeat after me:

I'm the queen of the castle

Get down, you dirty rascal

7. Bia feat. Ariana Grande - Esta Noche

I might just let you sleep over my mansion . Then wake you up to sweet p*ssy and plant this.

And back into it, I start off with this lyric as it exemplifies how the song is about a woman gaining success in her own right, sexually liberated and standing on her own two feet. It's her mansion, she decides if the man can sleep over and the focus is on servicing her sexually, not him as is the focus of so many songs by male artists in this genre of music.

The melody has a Latin feel with the words a mixture of English and Spanish, written from the perspective of a woman with Latin American heritage and acknowledging the struggles they might face. It's about coming from a poorer or disadvantaged background, 'favelas', and having triumphed despite that adversity.

"She gettin' money, respect her".

It's a sensual song that makes you want to dance, with a badass message. Chasing your dreams, making no apologies, earning respect, feeling that you can achieve anything despite the odds.

8. Money Cardi B

On the theme of success, money and power we have this number from Cardi B. This kind of music is so important because we need material out there by female artists where the focus is on herself as opposed to herself and her relationship with a man. This lyric really catches the message:

All I really wanna see is the (money)

I don't really need the D, I need the (money)

Cardi B is one of those unconventionally inspirational female figures, from stripper to successful business woman and rapper. She capitalizes on being herself and owning her struggle. A woman's focus can be on her own success. Even though this video uses imagery of stripping and the male gaze, it's not for the men, it's for their money. It has a double message in empowering sex workers as women with agency as opposed to demonizing them, because badass queens raise each other up, we don't shoot each other down.

Cardi also makes several references to being a mother, which sends a message to all the mothers out there that they do not need to lose their agency, individuality and even sex appeal after having children. It validates the fact that your children might be your inspiration in the pursuit of that success.

When you take a closer look at it, this song is about far more than the shallow pursuit of financial gain. Badass queens go after what they want and they're not afraid to do it on their own.

9. Doja Cat - Boss B*tch

What can I say? Badass queen or boss b*tch amounts to the same thing. It's from the soundtrack of the film Birds of Prey. One of the few DC comic inspired films where it's all about the female characters and not only that, the villains. Harley Quinn is dumped by the Joker and ends up forming a band of vigilantes. She cuts her hair and her styling in the film is not about being sexy (something pushed by Margot Robbie herself it seems after Suicide Squad), she has a purpose beyond being the villain's arm candy. If that's not an Anti-Valentine's story where heartbreak ends in sisterhood I don't know what is.

The whole song involves shutting down anyone who opposes you and bigging yourself up in a way that many of us women are not normally encouraged to do. A woman acting like a "boss", taking a traditionally male role of dominance or leadership, often leaves her branded a "bitch". This song is about taking that insult and turning it into a celebration. I definitely recommend giving the lyrics a listen. If nothing else you will find that you're singing the following to yourself as you go about the house, and that it's no bad thing:

I'm a b*tch, I'm a boss

I'm a b*tch and a boss, I'ma shine like gloss

10. Nego do Borel - Me Solta

We finish of with this Brazilian Funk number. The video was controversial at the time. The artist made a very bold, important and brave statement . Me solta means leave me alone in Portuguese. In Brazil, misogyny and toxic masculinity as well as homophobia is often normalized and dismissed. Men and women have strict roles that are not meant to be crossed. Violence against and sexual assault of women is prevalent. This song speaks out against that with lyrics translated minus one expletive as, "leave me alone, let me dance".

No one has the permission to touch you unless you give it to them. The artist kisses a man in the music video and then pushes him away. This song is positively aggressive, it's about fighting for the right to your own body and sexuality as well as the ability to change your mind. Consent is key! In this case being a badass queen goes beyond gender.

Valentine's day pretends as if relationships are idyllic and perfect and that if you're not in one, that you're doing something wrong. Far from the truth. I don't have a Valentine, but I'll take being a badass queen over that any day.

I hope you enjoyed reading that. I'm always deeply grateful for any support you can give to keep these articles rolling. Please drop a like if you enjoyed. If you decide to do a monthly pledge to support ongoing work, the cost for a year is equal to the cost of a takeaway, pretty decent if you ask me. Feel free to message me on my Twitter @Nessywriter if you have any requests. Drop me a follow if you can! I would love to hear your thoughts.Have a badass day and don't forget your crown!

playlist
5

About the Creator

Nessy Writer

A freelance writer of all sorts sharing it out with the world. Poetry, prose, advice, reviews and travel writing.

If you want to show your support and see more please follow me on Twitter: Nessywriter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.