Beat logo

Trying to Make it in the Industry

Older and Talented

By Ayeesha EPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Music has always been a big part of my life. My biological parents are singers and musicians, along with grandparents etc. Growing up I used to perform in every talent show my schools would host. I sang in every choir at church. When I hit teenage years is when I began to explore writing songs, going into the studio and singing background vocals for other performers. I just knew I would be making my living in the music industry along with my like-minded friends. Then.... life happened.

I got involved in a very unhealthy relationship (a story for another time), became a mother at 22, a wife at 23, mother again at 24 and 27. During this time that toxic relationship plus the weight of being a mother of 3 one with special need took over. My dreams of making it in music became nothing more than a distant thought.

Fast forward to 2020 I have been long divorced, single parent, in the process of working 3 jobs and buying my first home... I was hit with an overwhelming sense of grief and depression. I began to evaluate my previous life and when I was truly carefree. My answer was music. But I was 35, in a new state that is not known for their musical talents. Then a new feeling!!! An overwhelming anxiety about performing in front of others. This is beyond stage fright, it was PANIC! I joined an app meant for musical creatives and began there. I slowly began to draw a small following and gained some awesome acquaintances and friendships. 2021 I released 4 singles, and 2 music videos.

It's now 2022 and music brings me joy but not an income. It's actually a costly passion. But I am still too afraid to perform in front of crowds. So, my number one question is HOW IN THE WORLD CAN I MAKE A LIVING FROM MUSIC?! I'm 36 and afraid to perform with little too few connections. But I am determined to make my passion my means of income. So, I am taking vocal lessons to learn how not to tighten my body and vocal cords when nervous or unsure. Researching different ways, I can make a living through music besides being an artist, just in case my age and size are still too much of a factor for the shallow. Honestly, I'm still trying to figure out a way to get over this crippling stage freight. It is actually a bit embarrassing to be my age and afraid of what others think of you when you present them with your talents. But how does the saying go? " Remember I'm an artist and I'm sensitive about my sh**!"

Surely there is someone out there who was in my position at some point in life. There has to be some modern sucess stories of a single mother, older, no disposable income to invest in mega marketing, plastic surgery, industry level producers and sound engineers, live band, manger etc. A success story of someone who was truly on their own and is able to support their family doing what they love. I have not been able to find one yet. I am still in search. Or could it be? No... not me. Is it possible that I am to be the modern sucess story? Am I to be the one who encourages older creatives with moderate to low income and a ton of responsibilities to handle on their own, that they can still do what they love successfully? Could I be the modern pioneer of the older and talented?

I just wanted to give you a glimpse of who I am and what I struggle with... This story is definitely not over. TO BE CONTINUED...

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.