Beat logo

To Ease Our Soul

A playlist dedicated to the soothing of our souls we are in the looks for.

By Keanna Barry Published 3 years ago 5 min read
1
Music for My Soul and Maybe Yours Too

You by Petit Biscuit, is an instrumental song that brings me to a better understanding of how music can influence my mood throughout my darkest of times and had used to belong to a “brings me peace” playlist I had created on Spotify. It truly brings me at peace with not just myself but for my situation. Even if for a second it’s still a second that I hadn’t felt something dangerous.

Nothin on My Mind by Astronomyy, is a song I really enjoy and can relate to. The “nothing on my mind” to me resembles the matter there’s usually nothing on my mind due to my lack of thoughts but in replacement there’s many things in my feeling-less emotional state that does get to me and is the reason of why I adore instrumental music so much although it’s not an instrumental I find it just as peaceful.

Response by Corre, is another instrumental song that rests my soul to the matters of just needing something, pretty much just about anything that is safe and useful to me not feeling insane anymore. It helps reset my anxiety towards living and the issues I face go away for a second when I listen to it.

Find You by Nick Jonas, is a song I find useful when it comes to my insecurities and whether anybody would care to find me so in ways I’m only fixated on the matter that people are searching for things and a special someone so I’m trying on the fact that maybe finding you will help find me too and that rests all of my fears of never finding love or being loved in all of the right ways.

Babylon by Half The Animal, is a song I’ve just recently found. I’m slow when it comes to discovering newer music from newer artists such as this case but this song to me resembles an ache in me to understand the world and see how the world and life can interrupt me at any time and make me feel like the unknown is not on my side anymore and sometimes at all.

Breathe by cln, is a song I take into my own personal set and reflect on it by the lyric “breathe, darling. Breathe for me.” As a sort of importance because I’m so caught up in my own life and all the things going on in the world that I have a hard time breathing and when I finally do breathe the sounds of sorrow and despair escape my lips and frightens the ones listening to the point where I’ll hold my breath again just so I can feel like myself. The myself I’m forced to be and not the self I wish I could truly be.

My Heart is a Weapon by LostboyCrow & featuring Jon Waltz, is a song that gets me in my groove and it’s a good one for my ears because typically vocals and lyrics that I enjoy usually at the same time have to have some importance to it and this one is just so beautiful and the vocals alone calm my heart and mind to the point I’ll keep it on repeat just so I don’t have to face defeat of going back to this soundless bitter end of being alone.

Let’s Be Birds by Jacob Whitesides, is a song that helps mend my soul on the matter of not appreciating the world enough and I found through my past drug use that appreciation towards life is all it takes to amplify and better set your own personal life. So this one I find I’ll never enjoy enough no matter how many times it’s left on repeat. I find that I appreciate life for allowing me to discover this song and it’s because it’s so beautiful that the lyric “what’s the point in living in a beautiful world that you’ll never see” due to all of my personal troubles I felt that lyric and I felt it hard. It helps center me on the idea of wanting to run away but why leave when there is this gorgeous place to embrace instead?

I’ll Find It by THE WLDLFE, is another song I enjoy because the whole anthem is targeting at finding something we have lost which would be ourselves. Finding ourself back is so important and I really find that’s the meaning behind the song.

High by Sir Fly, is a song I use as a pick-me-up although it’s a slower beat I find the lyrics very helpful and almost like the song understands me before I even searched up the words to this one. It’s an interesting way of understanding music or maybe when the the music understands you back.

These songs are my go to when it comes to centring me and bringing me back to reality. Or at least the reality I should be experiencing and not the one I was forced to witness due to all of my fears, insecurities, and massive worries. This reality I get brought back to helps clear my mind from worrisome aspects that drive me up a wall and drive me so insane each time I’m left worried if I’ll make it to the next day. These songs help recenter me and I’m able to begin breathing in non scary ways and I’m able to practice healthy healing and cope with the way the world is and how I feel from the way the whole world effects me and my stability, mental health, and my negative to positive to back to negative outlook on life and everything in it. These songs bring me back to life from my dead on the inside side of being and I’m able to feel something, something uplifting for once and it’s not just life saving but it’s completely soothing for a broken soul that does not wish to be here anymore.

playlist
1

About the Creator

Keanna Barry

Give me a chance to help you with my own words?

My writing is intended to be read by you and the lessons being learned from what i am saying is all i pray and hope for to help improve quality of life for you, me, and like everyone else too!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.