Beat logo

Time travel Soundtrack

A journey through the meamories of my life

By Emma SumsionPublished 11 months ago 5 min read
Like
Time travel Soundtrack
Photo by Namroud Gorguis on Unsplash

"We cling to music, to poems, to quotes, to writing, to art because we desperately do not want to be alone. We want to know we aren't going crazy and someone else out there knows exactly how you're feeling. We want someone to explain the things we can't." -Unknown.

Music gives us soul. It contains our emotions and our meamories. It brings us life. Below contains some of the songs that have brought me those very things. That hold some of my precious meamories.

I'll Be by Edwin McCain

I'll Be is one of the first songs that I can remember. The first time I heard it was in the movie A Cinderella Story with Hilary Duff and Chad Michael Murry. One of the things it reminds me of is a quote from the movie. "Never let the fear of Striking out keep you from playing the game." Which was originally said by Babe Ruth. That's a quote that my sister and I share with each other often for various reasons.

I also love the song because it was also the song that my first dance was too when I was just a young teenager. I'd gone to a community youth dance and they played this song. I was too shy at the time to do anything than just stand there (not that i'm any different now), but someone came up to me and asked me to dance. I can't even remember what he looked like because it was too dark, but it made me feel like I wasn't just some wierdo.

She'd Say by Andy Grammer

I was randomly listening to this song one day and it reminded me of my own grandmother that I never got to meet. I've only ever heard about my grandmother from my mom and sometimes one of my older siblings. When she died I wasn't even a thought in my families mind. I hadn't thought of her while singing it before, but for some reason that day I did.

It made me feel like she was there with me, and that she would always be.

Brand New by Ben Rector

I feel like this is a popular song, and for good reason. This was a song I often played throughout high school. It just uplifted my spirits in such a lonely and hard time of my life. I even remember my teacher playing it in her classroom right before we were about to go and take an AP test.

It just makes the worries go away.

Wish You Pain by Andy Grammer

I honestly really love Andy Grammer's music, and some how so many of them are attached to a memory. Wish You Pain reminds me of two different meamories.

The first one has to do with a christmas present that I made. I wasn't going to be with my family for one Christmas so I made/prepared presents for all of them before I left. For my sister and her husband, I prepared a video. They had recently gotten married so I combinded a bunch of pictures my siblings and I had taken of her and put it to this song. It was suppose to be cute and funny, and instead of laughing like I thought she would, she cried. She was so happy with it.

I also associate this song with my father. When I was living in a different state from my family for awhile, he would say that I hope you have hard times. He didn't mean it in a sense that he wanted me to suffer, instead he wanted me to grow. Like this song talks about, he wanted me to experience pain so that I could grow.

"As funny as it sounds, I wish you pain."

From Now On from The Greatest Showman

I've loved this song from the moment I heard it but that's not why its on this list. I had a group of roommates that I lived with for a brief amount of time, but we would do everything together and we went everywhere together. Whenever we played music in the car, some how this song was almost always in the mix. It started off just being a nice song to listen to, but as time went on, we started to sing at the top of our lungs together and it became the song that we seeked out everytime. Even though we had our struggles together, whenever this song came on, there were no problems. Just friends.

Wait For Me from Hadestown

I've only seen a handful of plays in my life, but none of them left an impression like Hadestown did. I knew nothing about it going into it beside it having hades and presophone in the storyline. I only went to see it because my little sister really wanted to see it and it had finally come to a city near us.

The whole musical took me on a rollercoster of emotion, but Wait for Me was something else. Halfway through the song in the play, I realized what myth the main two characters were based on and I realized how it was going to end. Which made me start to cry because that's not how I wanted it to end. But it wouldn't mean anything if the story had ended up differently.

Don't look back, and keep trying.

Somethings Are Meant To Be from The Little Women

I've never actually seen this play. And I hadn't heard the original until I went looking for it. When I heard it, it was my little sister singing it.

She'd been taking singing lessons for some time but she had never performed, and I don't think i've ever heard her voice before that. It felt like she wanted everyone to let her go and let her grow up. That she was changing and she wasn't who she use to be.

I felt that my little sister had grown up.

"All my life, I've lived for loving you. Let me go now."

Mikrokosmos by Bts (cover by Seungyoon lee)

In the past year or two I've found myself listening to more and more kpop music. It started with artist like EXO and moved into BTS, which I feel like is unsurprising. But it has somehow impacted the whole direction of which I want to take my life.

I suddenly had the desire to learn korean, to do a field school in South Korea, and to live there after collage. It also had changed my perspective on a lot of things, and opened a lot of doors that I had never thought about.

This version of the song is just a cover. I love the original, but I love this version of it too. It feels so magical, and that's how I feel like my life has been changed. In a magical way.

"난 너를 보며 꿈을 뀌." (Seeing you, I dream)

********

If you enjoyed what you read; like, comment, and share below. Thanks so much for reading!

pop cultureplaylist
Like

About the Creator

Emma Sumsion

Hello there!

I'm a young college student trying to figure out what I want in life. Learning to follow my passions instead of putting them aside for a later date.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.