Beat logo

The Way to My Heart is Through Music

If You Were to Open Me Up, I Would be Full of Musical Notes and Lyrics

By Hannah StantonPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
2
The Way to My Heart is Through Music
Photo by Simon Noh on Unsplash

For as long as I can remember music has played an important role in my life. I actually wrote my first song when I was five and I’ve been writing songs and poems ever since. I connect with music in a way that I can only describe as spiritual. It absolutely moves me, not just the lyrics, but the music itself. I am fascinated with the different songwriting processes and how everything comes together. The show SongLand is one of my favorite shows and my favorite movie is Music and Lyrics. Music is in my blood, without it, I don’t know if I would survive. In my darkest moment’s music was a lifeline, in my happiest moment's it allowed me to open myself up completely and let loose. It has also helped my anxiety immensely. When I’m anxious, and I need to calm down and find peace, I’m not one who finds comfort in ocean sounds or the compositions of Mozart. Instead, I gravitate towards, and lose myself in, songs that have beautiful and soothing music and have lyrics that take me someplace else and get me out of my head. It doesn’t matter what the genre is, as long as it comforts me and these songs do just that.

1. Work Song: Hozier

I can’t explain it, but Work Song has always spoken to me in a different way than other songs have. Whenever I listen to it, I am drawn into this other world. If I hear it on the radio, everything just fades away, and I am captivated and held in a trance. Hozier’s voice, mixed with the slow, sensual music and the richness of the lyrics, helps me clear my head and focus on the positives in my life. It is a sweet, romantic song and I could be overwhelmed and sobbing and instantly relax when this song plays. It is my number one go to song when I need to find balance.

2. ILYSB: LANY

When I first heard this song, I fell in love with it. It’s just a feel-good song that you can lose yourself in. It reminds me of night drives during the summer with the windows rolled down. It reminds me of fall nights and bonfires and young love. Whenever I listen to it, I get very nostalgic. The music is soothing and the lyrics and sweet and the way it’s sung is smooth. This song envelopes me in comfort every time I listen to it and warms my soul, which is why it’s on my Zen playlist.

3. Rainbow: Kesha

When I first heard Kesha, I was just a teen and I loved her music, but I didn’t really think about her outside of being an artist. However, now that I’m older and I’ve heard about what she went through and heard how she’s grown in her music, I absolutely adore and respect not only her music, but also her as a person. Several of her songs have helped me heal, but Rainbow didn’t just help me heal, it also soothed my soul. The song is about falling back in love with life after a tragedy occurs and having hope again. It speaks to me and whenever I listen to it I am transported to a different life and it is just a magical experience.

4. Where It Stays: Charlotte OC

I first heard this song on Virgin River and I immediately looked it up because it moved me. After hearing the full song, I just knew that I needed to add it to my playlist. It is so powerful and full of depth and heart-wrenching. It makes you feel things. Whenever I listen to it, I feel overwhelmed, but in the best possible way. I connect to it and it just washes over me and makes me feel at peace. The lyrics are sad, but soulful and it oddly makes me happy.

5. Numb: Max Jury

I first heard this song on the movie Me Before You and I was in awe. Whenever I listen to it, it fills me up and gives me this energy that I didn’t have before listening to it. It’s just smooth and sexy and all encompassing. It inspired me to learn how to play it and put my own spin on it. It pushes everything else to the wayside and takes over and makes me feel rejuvenated. I could listen to it fifty times in a row and it would still have the same effect on me. It is the song equivalent of a comfort food.

6. Exile: Taylor Swift Feat. Bon Iver

Taylor Swift has always been a musical genius in my eyes, but her voice and songs just keep getting better and better with age. I’ve been listening to her since I was thirteen and I have never once questioned that decision. She’s done a few duets and I have loved each one, but Exile hit me in a new way. It’s haunting, breathtaking, and utterly captivating. It’s a true work of art. It draws you in and the storytelling is mesmerizing and even though the lyrics are sad and relatable, I don’t feel like crying, but instead am left feeling satisfied and like I was a part of something much bigger than myself. It calms my mind and spirit and is a must whenever I am feeling out of sorts because it grounds me.

7. Best Part of Me: Ed Sheeran feat. YEBBA

I’ve always really like Ed Sheeran, but I hadn’t heard of YEBBA until I heard this song. This song is absolutely gorgeous, pure, and raw. It makes me think of my boyfriend and how much I love him. Their voices are flawless and compliment each other so well, the music is soothing and satisfying, and the lyrics are heartfelt. Best Part of Me is a beautiful song that calms me and makes me want to get married so I can dance to it at my wedding.

8. All We Do: Oh Wonder

The only way I can describe this song is as an adult lullaby with meaty lyrics. It is so comforting and simple, but also has depth and richness. It draws you in to this other world and puts you at ease. Whenever I listen to it, I am overcome by this other worldly feeling and I don’t want it to end. It reminds me of finally feeling good after having the flu, you’re just so thankful that you finally feel good again and can go outside and see friends. It makes me look within myself and check-in on things that I’ve maybe been trying to avoid and helps me work through those emotions.

9. Love Me Tender: Norah Jones

Love Me Tender is an old song that was originally performed by Elvis Presley, for a movie of the same name, that he was starring in. And, while his version is a classic, I heard Norah Jones’s version and couldn’t get it out of my head. It is so crisp, clean, soft, and rich. I also liked that it’s cleaned up and given a more modern feel, plus I think her voice fits the song really well and, to be honest, when she sings it, I feel like she actually means it. When I listen to it, it actually makes me sway and I feel at peace.

10. This is Why I Need You: Jesse Ruben

I actually discovered This is Why I Need You through the rabbit hole of YouTube suggestions and I’m so glad that I did. It is just a feel good, romantic song. It makes my heart feel full and incredibly satisfied. Whenever I listen to it, I feel like I am wrapped in the softest and warmest of blankets on a cold winter morning after finding out that school got cancelled and I can go back to sleep. The music is calming, the lyrics sweet, and his voice is warm and inviting. It is the equivalent of a hot cup of coffee or a cup of hot chocolate. It soothes my soul.

Music is what brings me joy and happiness. Whether it be writing and singing it myself, or listening to other’s creations, I love it either way, no matter the genre. However, not all music speaks to me on the same level and the songs mentioned above speak to me in a way that heals, comforts, rejuvenates, and encourages me. On their own, they are amazing, as a group, they are superb and have gotten me through a lot of rough times, but now it’s time that I share it. May my personal Zen Playlist alleviate all your worries and stress and help you heal.

playlist
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.