Beat logo

The Reason

My passion for producing music

By RebeldePublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1
Rebelde

Let's see where do I even start. I am a woman. I am a woman with children who has an immense passion for music. I remember my childhood when I would ask my dad to buy me a pack of TDK blank cassettes. Why? I kinda knew what to do with them but, I only seen my dad recording songs from the radio. Phil Collins played mid 80s, Bruce Springsteen, Madonna and my all time favorite Michael Jackson. There was nothing more I wanted than to listen to my favorite songs over and over.

I took a tape and experimented. I recorded and then realized I was recording commercials and well the entire radio program. So I tried again finally, catching Material Girl. I was hella stoked! I was so proud of my one song on a 60 minute tape! My next catch would be any song that I liked and then it began. My many tapes of recorded songs over the years as I got older. I remember looking forward to Friday night Jam Mixes in the late 80's to catch another 60 minutes of ear pleasing pleasure. Mind you I was only 11 or 12 and instead of running the block with my friends I would spend countless hours at night catching the right as we call "playlists" today.

I wanted more though I wanted to be a DJ I wanted to mix music and dress like ICE-T on Breakin when he DJ'd the battle scenes uuughhh. Oh yea I was also in band. Band geek if you will. I wanted to play the drums but, my mom didn't think that was girly and she didn't want to hear that noise either. So, she suggested the violin? uughhh no mom but, ok I took a shot at the viola. Meh, whatever I played it for 6 months and I didn't like it. Then she told me she wanted me to play the flute. Well, thank goodness there were no more to rent at the music store so, I got stuck with the clarinet. I played for 9 years and into high school and I loved every moment of it. Marching band and all the friends I made during those memorable times...... the sound of Friday night football games the sound of the drumline practicing in the evening are all now a distant memory.

Fast forward many years later to my 30's after living some life having some kids going through a divorce and a few other ups and downs of life I found myself searching again. What was I looking for though? definitely not a blank TDK cassette. With these new smart phones I found myself searching anything that would tap back into my creativity back into a space that felt like home to me. My desire and love of music. With just a search I would find music and then the types of music but, now I could just save them to a playlist. Meh.. too easy. Then I found FL studio and a few other mobile software that allowed me to create and produce music. WELL WHAT THE FCK! this was it! this is what I wanted this is what I needed! My brain needed the creativity the art the therapy and the knowledge of music creation. Especially during a time of where I was in my life. I won't go into that for now maybe in another post. Anyhow, So my first trials were with mobile FL studio but after numerous attempts I realized I needed an actual PC set up for this. The software I jumped into next was Magix and low and behold there was also and app for it. Meh, ok so I signed up and started giving it a shot and I was in love! This was it. This is where I would spend my evenings after work and dinner. My brain in pure creative mode made me realize that this is what I needed. With no idea of what I was getting into I made a few simple beats. I then come to realize that this was a music community app and even moreso I was listening to other amazing talented people from around the globe. 2015 was the year I started making music. Im a woman and I soon come to realize that women hardly stand a chance in the production world. However being the rebellious Sagittarian that I am I didn't give two S****!. haha! I made music for me! I made music for those who lended their ears and for those who understood my style and my passion. This would take up some many hours of my creative mind to build. It was therapy, it was passion it was what I absolutely needed in my life. It was my calm, my excitement, my world. Of course in my life life I'm tending to house work, kids and a home so my me time wasn't getting my nails done or getting a designer bag or trying to keep up with endless female trends I was just wanting something simple. I must say that along the way I came across some wonderful talented people some from the UK some from France some from India and I have to say the talent was everything from DNB to Techno. However I have created many tracks and even now have a YouTube channel to display my work. I'm definitely not famous in the real world but, I am in my heart! haha. Not to mention I also got to do collabs with other artists and well you know it was fun! I also met a wonderful person on there that I fell in love with but... that love story is for another time.

Feel free to check out my music gallery! and I'm not done I have so much more to write about! Rebelde

humanity
1

About the Creator

Rebelde

A believer in Karma and good deeds. Our world needs more love, more music, and better health. I'm here to do my work. Rebelde YouTube Follow me on Webtalk ! Follow my journey!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.