Beat logo

The night I met my friend Willy Chirino

My first Willy Chirino concert

By RIKKI LA ROUGE (UK) (London)Published 4 months ago 3 min read
Like

I had the honor of finally meeting my friend Willy Chirino on December 16, 2022. My cousin bought me a front row ticket for his concert at NJPAC performing arts center in Newark, New Jersey. That night Willy was performing with another popular singer Leoni Torres. Willy and Leoni did a duet remake of Willy’s song “pa’mi Viejo”. I never heard Leoni Torres songs before and I was treated to his music which was really good. Leoni is a talented singer and performer. He opened for Willy.

The night of the show Willy released his new album at the time now it would be his recent work “Sigo Pa’lante”. It was super exciting to see Willy in concert. When I found out that I would be seeing Willy in concert and I sent his a message that I would be at the show and he told me he was looking forward to seeing me. It was a magical and fun and beautiful experience and evening to see Willy in concert and to meet him after a decade of being friends on social media.

He performed all of his hits like “Medias Negras”, “ya viene llegando (nuestra día),” during the song I let a lady also from Cuba in front of me and she told me at one point the building she lived in was on the screen she lived in the building. I had waited for so long to meet Willy and see him in concert it was truly a dream come true. A Willy Chirino concert is a party and a celebration of life you can’t sit there and not want to get up and dance and have a good time.

Ten years before Willy and I became friends on social media and friends in real life. I had the privilege of speaking to Willy on the telephone and during the conversation Willy had invited me to his concert at Club Olé in Elizabeth New Jersey I did try to go. Knowing I was going to be there Willy and I were hanging together as he was performing.

After my cousin was going to buy me tickets to a Marc Anthony concert I told her she didn’t have to. Now Marc is cool it’s just that she had made it possible for me to go Willy’s concert and to meet him also. I love Willy Chirino with all my heart!

Willy did his anthems in the name of a free Cuba. At one point Willy stopped the show to talk to two people who had made it possible for him to a have a newly inducted street sign. Also during the show Willy accepted a Cuban flag from someone in the audience. For the finale of the concert both Leoni and Willy came out on stage and performed a couple of songs together which was cool and they also did their duet of the remake of Willy’s “pa’mi viejo”. To finally meet and see Willy in concert was a surreal dream come true for me.

Seeing Willy in concert was unforgettable for me and it means a lot.

For my cousin to buy me tickets to the show was truly unexpected but greatly appreciated. It means to the world to me that she had done that for me. Willy is a great showman he gives his all and there is never a disappointment when you see Willy in concert. With Willy you get what you pay for he loves his public and we love him. It was a special and magical evening that will live in my heart forever.

historyconcertcelebritiesbands90s music80s music70s music60s music
Like

About the Creator

RIKKI LA ROUGE (UK) (London)

Latin crossover artist. 57th annual Grammy award first round nomination, ballot artist, all music, guide, artist, and iHeartRadio. I’m with broadcast music, Inc., Universal music group, Interscope record via Interscope digital distribution

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.