Beat logo

The Magic of Studio Albums

Broken Wing By Gripping Hand, Together We Shoot For Shared Horizons

By Z-ManPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

To me, compilation albums have little worth. There are some as collective pieces, including New Order's "Substance" (Disc 1 in my experience), that I appreciate even in the context of their conglomeration.

But more on that in a moment. The focus here is studio albums.

Terms like "one-hit wonder" and "single" are disgraceful. They seek to reduce the remaining associated tracks to rubble, or refuse, or unnecessary fodder. As if the album that took so much effort to craft produced diamonds clenched by coal.

I see albums in themselves as masterpieces. Sure, some may have lesser production quality as others, but to me, that simply sets their integrity in stone. There are an infinite amount of ways that something can be crafted into finality. Any left can bring its own lefts or rights, and the same goes for a right choice in its place. And whichever way is chosen, there is a consciousness and a heart that see it through, and it is that singular connectivity, for instance, that is the "heart" of the matter after all is said and done.

I'm writing in flow here, so forgive the inconsistencies that may arise.

Yet, this is a clue as to how albums are crafted, isn't it?

Tracks are written, and recorded, and rearranged...

And re-written, and re-recorded, and re-arranged...

And re-arranged, and re-written, and re-recorded...

So it is not only the end result that can be appreciated, but even the journey in itself--albeit imaginary and only clarified in the minds of all those involved, productively, and through the imagination and research of all those tangentially associated to it.

Again, it is all subjective. The term "one-hit wonder" and all its extensions have failed me after splitting from the belief that was handed to me and embraced. The more dastardly term "single" is one that is a bit harder to totally toss in the bin, mainly out of its support of financial survival. But neither holds any significance in my heart outside of a means to an end.

One final note: on eight-tracks.

Now, I don't profess to have actually completely researched the purpose of eight-tracks. I simply fell in love with the concept so long ago. The first time I listened to Metallica's "Master of Puppets" in its entirety, as far as I recall at the moment.

In my eyes, it provides an interesting concept and mold of creation. It calls to a sweet variety and I suppose a neat package. Even if it is a technology that was hampered by flaws and is never used again in its original integrity, I have I'll say every intention to make one myself one day.

Let me know what you think about this post and what you would like to see the next time around.

\m/, <3 B']

Until we meet again--

Follow your heart, and mind, and soul. Whatever combination or singular hingency that brings your gifts home to you and to us all.

- Zach

P.S. As has happened before, my post is actually 104 word shorter than the minimum needed to publish, so I will give a "post-play discussion" in a way here. As I write these words, I really don't know what else to add, but I'll do my best to come up with something on the fly. I suppose I will elaborate on what you'll see at times, the interesting choice to take CDs and string them up to trees to allow them to glisten and glitter in the Sun. I for one would likely never bring myself to do that. It would be a waste of a good CD, in my opinion...perhaps no matter the CD. But it also has its value in its own ways. I mean, how do you feel about things like that? Could you give a damn about listening to a CD when you could use it as tree decor instead? Is there added value for you to string one up there and allow the light to permeate and spread the inner light of its contents around? Does it convert the value of sound to sight?

And there we have it. \m/,

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Z-Man

\m/,

Hello all! I am an aspiring vocalist, filmmaker + writer. I hope you gain something personal + inspiring from my work here. You are also welcome to subscribe to my YouTube Channel: Ad-Libbing With The Zman.

Thank You!

Zach

B']

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.