Beat logo

The Awesome Playlist That Got Me Through 2020

"Music gives a soul to the universe, wings to the mind, flight to the imagination, and life to everything." - Plato

By Nkeonye Judith IZUKAPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
1
The Awesome Playlist That Got Me Through 2020
Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash

I am done flogging how the year 2020 came and threw us off balance. I'll rather focus on one of the awesome things that made it worthwhile; music! Music provided an escape from the harsh realities around us. Like many of us, I spent more time at home than anywhere else. This had its fallouts including getting creative. In the spirit of creativity, I forged a new playlist.

Some of the songs on this playlist are eternal favorites. Others were old-time favorites rediscovered. Generally, my preferred genre is pop. In this instance, most songs made it to this list based on rhythm and no other sentiment. I was particularly biased towards songs whose rhythm caused one to break into a dance. Whatever message the song was trying to pass across was secondary. Many times I played these songs while doing chores or workouts and it always felt like I was part of the choreography team. There were a few songs whose messages inspired me. I would leave those for the latter bit of this article.

Nigerian Hits: The last time I visited my home country was in May 2019. I had plans for another visit a year later. With flight restrictions, ticket costs, and many micro reasons, that trip never happened. And boy, do I miss home; the weather, the cheer, friends, music. So one of those nostalgic days, I went to youtube to do a quick search for Nigerian artists with popular hits.

That search yielded a song titled "Fada fada" by Phyno featuring Olamide. It was published on youtube In May 2016. As of December 2020, it had over 24 million views. Honestly, not bad for domestic hit. Phyno was an artist that had gained his popularity by rapping in an ethnic language. "Fada Fada" always made it to a function's playlist be it weddings, birthday parties, etc.

Somehow, if there were no clear contraindications, it was always amongst a DJ's collection.

Fada Fada

"Fada Fada" is a ghetto gospel song. The lyrics are a mix of Igbo Language and pidgin English. The narrative is that God is the sole benefactor and source of the artist's successes. It has dance beats and the video has party scenes. I can relate to that message that God always works behind the scenes and is a master orchestrator. I would not have it otherwise especially in these times when there is so much uncertainty.

"Bottom Belle" is an afro-pop hit song delivered by the artist Omawunmi. She featured a popular Nigerian artist and multi-instrumentalist Flavour. He is also known for his sexy dance steps and delivery of high life music. The piece was witty, rocky, and had a good vibe. This song took me home!

Bottom Belle

Even as I type the "collabo", I could not help smiling. This was an Afropop hit delivered by the twin stars Psquare featuring Don Jazzy. The music video is quite hilarious.

Collabo

The plot summary is that of a group of men crushing on their young female boss who turned it on their heads. Of course, it still has its rhythm and dance potential. The sense of humor is an add-on.  

"Telli Person" got on my radar in June 2020. The resurgence coincided with the capture of a Nigerian con artist in Dubai. The song buttressed the point that all choices had consequences. It had some lesson on ill-gotten and mismanaged wealth. The video had a great act and choreography, nice costume, and good fashion sense by the lyricists.

Timaya - Telli Person Feat. Phyno & Olamide (Official Video)

"Bum Bum" is another old-time favorite by Yemi Alade. Yemi has always been on my radar. She is comfortable in her skin, has nice choreography and great fashion sense. Youtube published Bum bum 2 years ago. It has over 37 million views today. I see I am not the only one who is a huge fan of originality.

Bumbum

American Hits Rediscovered: For all Choreography lovers out there, you might understand this selection. Chris Brown's look-alike Jason De Rulo got my attention due to his dance steps and energy. In each of his videos, it kinda felt he was a show-off of some kind. "Trumpets" is an old-time favorite. I love it for its tune and choreography.

I started my journey with Beyonce when she was part of Destiny's child. I stuck with her when the group broke up and everyone went solo. "Ego" might not be one of her popular hits but I totally love it for its choreography and vibe.

Beyoncé - Ego

DJ Khaled's "I am the One" with over one billion views on youtube made it to my radar and stayed put. I have always had a thing for vocalists and rappers collaboration. It's not every time it turns out okay. This DJ's favorite and pop-rap piece was awesome.

DJ Khaled - I'm The One ft. Justin Bieber, Quavo, Chance the Rapper, Lil Wayne

Usher's - Love In This Club is a club hit as old as it gets. Published on YouTube in October 2009, it has over 150 million views. That song never gets old. Oh yes, it's got rhythm, nice choreography, and great rap/vocalist collaboration.

Usher - Love In This Club (Official Music Video) ft. Young Jeezy

Taylor Swift, the country music star turned pop star and my girl next door. To think her managers did not believe she would make it as a pop star and the evidence shows otherwise. I have lost count of her hits. At the moment, some of her hits sitting within my playlist are: "Me!", "Fairy Tale", and "Gorgeous."

Taylor Swift Greatest Hits Full Playlist 2019

I have a thing for pop-rock, soft rock, and electropop. As a result of this, "Something Just Like This" by The Chainsmokers & Coldplay made it to my list. Did I tell you how romantic the song was? Enough said!

The Chainsmokers & Coldplay - Something Just Like This (Lyric)

Do you know those feel-good songs, the likes of Pharrel's "Happy"? That's where Meghan Trainor's "Better When I'm Dancin" comes in. That song generates good feelings in me. It's one of my go-to when I have had a shitty day. Meghan's dance-pop hit "No" also got my attention. The choreography is awesome. The central message was female empowerment. Emilee Lindner called it a "flat fuck-you" to entitled men who approach women with unsolicited advances.

Meghan Trainor - Better When I'm Dancin'

Meghan Trainor - NO

The next pop song on my list is 'pretty girl' by Maggie Lindemann. Not sure where I first heard this song, but it was catchy and dancy. Then I listened to the lyrics a bit more. And I loved the song even more. I looked up the lyrics and who the artist was. She was a newcomer to me. Her message was clear and relatable. We need to look beyond the surface, the hype, and the glam and find the real deal; a human. This works on a day I am feeling particularly vulnerable and then Maggie reminds me I am worth so much more.

Maggie Lindemann - Pretty Girl

European & Canadian Artists: How I miss One direction! I must have a thing for boy bands but the focus here is this British pop group. Of course, I followed them after Zayn Malik left. Of their many hits, "Kiss you" and "Drag Me Down" made it to my list.

One Direction - Kiss You

One Direction - Drag Me Down

I discovered 'moves' by Olly Murs and Snoop Dogg through the Shazam app. It played at the end credits of the movie 'Johnny English strikes again'. Genre; pop-funk. There are days you finish a movie at the cinema, and you stayed glued to your seat. This happens because you don't want to struggle with other moviegoers to make an exit. it could also be you loved the movie so much and need to bask in the euphoria or you're plain tired. I had liked the movie and had stayed back, long enough to hear that song play. It was groovy and funky. Then I wondered why I had not heard it before. Shazam helped me demystify it, and 'voila', it made it to my playlist. It's also one of those songs you appreciate the collaboration between a vocalist and a rapper.

Olly Murs - Moves (Official Video) ft. Snoop Dogg

Avril Lavigne has always been a household name. A pop-rock Canadian artist, she started making her mark as a teenager. Of all her hits, "What The Hell" resonates well with me. It's catchy, makes me grin, and has an empowering vibe.

Avril Lavigne - What The Hell

My Inspiring Group of All Time: This story ends with songs by the Hillsong group. In Christendom, we talk about having a calling to minister. This group for as far back as I recall always has songs that minister to deep within my soul. My all-time favorite is "Seasons". Why? The lyrics are to die for, and the beats are well synchronized. It's a song one listens to when there are feelings of sluggishness and redundancy. It speaks to a period of 'silence' that cultivates patience and growth. Another of their hits is "Glorious Ruins". I'd leave you to form your opinion on that piece.

Seasons (Live) - Hillsong Worship

Glorious Ruins - Hillsong Worship

Finally, below is the link to all 20 songs. Stay awesome!

playlist
1

About the Creator

Nkeonye Judith IZUKA

love life & humor, simple, grounded, focused, tenacious, motivated, warm- hearted and a fan of nutrition

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.