Beat logo

That playlist

It never gets old.....

By Nkeonye Judith IZUKAPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
1
That playlist
Photo by Brett Jordan on Unsplash

There are not very many things that stick with me year to year. Many things seem to be in flux. Music is one exception. It hasn’t gone anywhere. That’s my catalyst for getting chores done, my means for escape when ‘it gets too much’, and my gateway to prayer. It seems to make things better and easier. With music, I see the world through rose-colored glasses. It gives me the opportunity to define my world exactly as I want it.

By Simon Noh on Unsplash

Regardless of all changes that come with life, I have a consistent playlist. The quarantine came along and met what was already a continuum for me. Most songs on this list are of the pop genre. Others are gospel, soft rock, and R&B.

This playlist has the same effect regardless of what’s happening in the world. It is uplifting, rhythmical, groovy, happy. You know you love a collection when you don’t skip songs. They all hold a special place.

My first expose from the list is the pop song ‘pretty girl’ by Maggie Lindemann. Not sure where I first heard this song, but it was catchy and dancy. Then I listened to the lyrics a bit more. And I loved the song even more. I looked up the lyrics and who the artist was. She was a newcomer to me. Her message was clear and relatable. We need to look beyond the surface, the hype, and the glam and find the real deal; a human. This works on a day I am feeling particularly vulnerable and then Maggie reminds me I am worth so much more.

Photo by Eddie Lee/Hypebae

Neyo released ‘Mad’ more than a decade ago. It belongs to the contemporary rhythm and blues genre. It creates the same excitement as it did when it was first released. It’s got rhythm, beats, and seems to hit all the right notes. The narrative depicts a quarrel between Neyo and his lover. It also depicts the futility of it all, and the need to make amends.

Photo credit New York Post

I discovered ‘moves’ by Olly Murs and Snoop Dogg through the Shazam app. It played at the end credits of the movie ‘Johnny English strikes again’. Genre; pop-funk. There are days you finish a movie at the cinema, and you stayed glued to your seat. This happens because you don’t want to struggle with other moviegoers to make an exit. it could also be you loved the movie so much and need to bask in the euphoria or you’re plain tired. I had liked the movie and had stayed back, long enough to hear that song play. It was groovy and funky. Then I wondered why I had not heard it before. Shazam helped me demystify it, and ‘voila’, it made it to my playlist. It’s also one of those songs you appreciate the collaboration between a vocalist and a rapper.

Photo credit: BT

The Rosary song comes next. How did it make it to the list? I had grown up as a catholic dreading its recital. It was boring and, in my mind, lengthy. I was not sure my impression was going to change until the day my brother referred me to an app on google play store. I downloaded the app. I enjoyed singing along. My joy was brief as I started having technical issues with the app. I uninstalled it in search of a replacement. I did not find any. So I wandered over to YouTube for ‘advice’. That was when I discovered the rosary song by Jack Soriano. I noticed that it held my attention through its course. I also noticed I enjoyed it. What was my next thought? How do I get this piece on my playlist? I downloaded the mp3 format and added it to my list. This is my go-to when I am distressed, clueless, and worried. Anytime I am done listening, I have some peace and calm.

Photo credit: SSPX Society Saint Plus X

Taylor Swift is my girl next door. I am rarely disappointed. Her country pop ‘Today was a fairytale’ earned its place on the list. I rediscovered it when I watched the movie ‘Valentine’s day’. It featured as a corresponding soundtrack. It’s not the lyrics per se, that gets me. It’s one of those songs you hear and have a feel-good aura afterward.

Photo credit: CHARLES SYKES/INVISION/AP

Another of Taylor Swift’s songs on the list is ‘Me’. The pop song was released in 2019. Its central message is self-love and self-affirmation. The music video had gotten my attention with all its visual effects and so did the song. If you are in a relationship and you feel the need to affirm yourself, ‘Me’ could be your inspiration. That’s if you don’t get lost in the euphoria the song creates.

Photo credit: GQ magazine

Justin Bieber’s ‘intentions’ make it to the playlist. It belongs to the contemporary rhythm and blues genre. That’s the song you hear, and your head starts to bop, and your body follows suit. If your inquisitiveness gets the better of you, you do deeper research into the song. You find the message of empowerment that inspired it all and then you fall in love deeper. Another hot piece from Justin Bieber and his crew that earns its place is ‘I am the one’. Its genre is Pop, Hip-Hop/Rap. The beat is to die for especially when you are listening with the right earphones. It has the feel-good factor, the bop, and nod for your head and body and it wears out your repeat button.

Photo credit: Toby Zerna/Newspix/Getty Images

As far as this playlist is concerned, one direction is not disbanded. ‘Kiss you’ a pop song released by the group in 2012, finds itself on the list. It’s a feel-good song and sure has contributed to ‘the wear and tear’ of my repeat button. ‘Drag me down’ also earns its place. It was released in 2015 when the Zayn Malik had left the group. It is from the pop-rock genre. It’s got great beats and the lyrics are uplifting. Besides, the fashionista in me couldn’t help but notice the boots the boys wore in the video.

Photo credit: Hillsong

This story ends with ‘Seasons’ by the Hillsong group. Why? The lyrics are to die for, and the beats are well synchronized. It’s a song one listens to when there are feelings of sluggishness and redundancy. It speaks to a period of ‘silence’ that cultivates patience and growth. It speaks of favorable change as a result. Of course, my playlist stretches beyond this. That would need another story published some other day.

song reviews
1

About the Creator

Nkeonye Judith IZUKA

love life & humor, simple, grounded, focused, tenacious, motivated, warm- hearted and a fan of nutrition

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.