Beat logo

The 1975.

My Forever Band

By Taylor KellyPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
2
The 1975, 2018

The 1975, an alternative band famous for its brilliant music and front man drinking wine while performing. The band had been together since 2002, they didn't get "famous" until about eight years ago.

band used their resources and platform to introduce the rest of the world to Greta with their song about climate change, "Notes on a Conditional Form."

When you look at The 1975, the rest of the world sees a band introducing the world to a bright and fierce young women, I see my life. I know I had a life before them, but I was depressed, abusing prescription pills, and trying to starve myself, so I boy might like me. That was not the life I wanted or needed. I needed to be on the right path to not die so on due to my sadness, but that's not what I was thinking when I sought them out to listen to their music. I thought, "what the hell is wrong with this dude's hair?"

Moments after I clicked on that music video, I was emerged into a soul soothing, rock sounding melody. Before long, the song was over and I clicked replay. Replay. Replay. Replay. REPLAY. Before I knew it the song was over again and the day was over. I had spent the whole day listening to this one song, by this band I was fully prepared to make fun of.

At once, I continued to explore their music. With each new song I found, the better I felt about myself. The more I listened, I found myself exercising to them, studying and getting on with my life. It wasn't long until I discovered the 1975's full album. Seconds after I was listening to the full album, I took to my journal and wrote, "The 1975 is a lesser known band that has helped me find myself during my lowest. They aren't a big band, but they should be. They are going to make it big one day. I can feel it."

Here I am seven years later, reading the journal entry in my bedroom late at night crying. I knew this band was going to be big. I knew this band was going to make a difference. knew this band was going to change lives, because they changed my life.

Each album proves, they don't have a definite sound. They are versatile. As the world is changing and growing, they are too. One song, might have an 80s vibe to it (Love Me). Another, is a tribute to a lost loved one (NanaNana). While another is political statement (Love It If We Made It), and one is the thoughts everyone has (I Always Wanna Die Sometimes).

Their music makes me feel emotions I have never felt before. Each time, I see them in concert it's nothing like the last time. I am transcended into another universe, one where I am not myself, but a particle floating along not wanting to come down.

Sure the songs might be the same, but the feeling is always different. Sometimes you scream along the lyrics, other times you cry listening to a song you've heard a thousand times. There isn't another band out there that can give you chills, make you cry, make you scream, give you a quick politics lesson, or make you feel complete, the way the 1975 can. This band is the music I would listen to for my entire life. If The 1975 was the kind of music I could listen too, I would be happy. I would savor every bit, and never get tired of listening to Somebody Else for the five millionth time, because their music is not one sound. It's not one vibe. It's complex and a little of everything, which is what makes the band my everything.

bands
2

About the Creator

Taylor Kelly

Actor. Writer. Model.

I just want to do my art for a living.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.