Beat logo

That Cherry Ice Cream Smile of the 80's New Wave Scene

A review of Duran Duran's 2005 album, Greatest

By Jasmine AguilarPublished about a year ago 7 min read
Like

Ever have that music artist or band that you realize that you like more than you thought you did? Perhaps, you’ve listened to a few of their songs and with every song that played on the radio, you thought, “Hey! I really like that one too! … Oh! There’s another good one!”

For me, that is none other than the 80’s New Wave band, Duran Duran. I didn’t realize just how many songs of theirs that I really like! Their music has a uniqueness to it and it never fails to put me in a good mood!

Bio

Duran Duran made their music debut in 1978 in Birmingham, England. Duran Duran consists of lead singer Simon Le Bon, bassist John Taylor, drummer Roger Taylor, guitarist Andy Taylor (Taylor left the band in 2006), and keyboardist Nick Rhodes.

Interesting Fact: Duran Duran got their name based off of the villain, Dr. Durand Durand from the 1968 sci-fi film, Barbarella.

I have many of their songs on my music playlist and I even have their album, Greatest, which was released in 2005. I will review and give insights to all of the songs on the album.

I should note that I’m not the greatest at explaining why I like a song. I just like it. However, I’m going to take some time and reflect on why many of these songs have become my top favorites.

author photo

author image

Is There Something I Should Know?

This songs captures my attention right from the start.

“Please, please! Tell me now!”

The more I listen to this song, the more I interpret it as a love song.

“Please, please tell me now

Is there something I should know?

Is there something I should say

That would make you come my way?

Do you feel the same?

’Cause you don’t let it show”

- written by John Taylor, Simon Le Bon, Andy Taylor, Roger Taylor, and Nicholas Bates

To me, the lyrics to this song convey that someone that has feelings for another person is wondering if the person they have feelings for feels the same way about them but they don’t let it show.

So, “Please, please! Tell me now!” that if you are a fellow Duran Duran fan, you will continue reading to see your favorite song mentioned on the rest of this album review:

The Reflex

Did you know “The Reflex” is … “a lonely child who’s waiting by the park?”

This is such a fun song that can easily put me in a mood to dance and sing along to. With a catchy tune from start to end, it’s such a great song to listen to on the stereo. The absolute best part of the song, I think, is the beginning part before the main chorus. The second this song comes on, I know it’s “The Reflex”.

A View to a Kill

Duran Duran was one of the music artists that has sung a James Bond theme song. This song is from the James Bond movie of the same name. So far, it has been the only James Bond theme song to reach the number one spot on the US Billboard Hot 100 Charts. That’s impressive.

It’s taken me a little bit to get into this song. Ultimately, I do like it! It’s a very fitting song for an action movie, so no surprise it’s in a James Bond movie!

I have never seen the 007 film, but listening to Duran Duran’s song honestly makes me want to watch it.

Ordinary World

Duran Duran had fun upbeat dance tunes like “The Reflex”, “Hungry Like the Wolf”, and “Rio”. And then they had songs like this.

This was the song that brought them back after their music went to a stand still after their 80’s hits. In 1993, they reemerged to the music scene with the hit song, “Ordinary World”.

This song is so emotional and I find it very relatable. I don’t think I could ever get tired of hearing it. Ordinary World is a song that I strongly believe anyone can relate to especially in today’s seemingly uncertain world. It’s about moving on and finding acceptance. As I listen to this song, I believe it can be interpreted in numerous ways. It can be about finding acceptance after the death of a loved one, or it can also be about finding acceptance after a tough break up / divorce, or a fall out.

Save a Prayer

Just like “Ordinary World”, this is another song that invokes strong feelings of emotion. I find it very soothing to listen to. I enjoy listening to it during times of reflection. The music is beautifully haunting and is an easy song to get stuck in your head even long after you’ve heard it.

Rio

This is yet another fun song to listen to. I can just picture a sandy beach, blue waters, and cruising on a yacht now. I also consider it a great song to put on a summertime playlist. There is definitely a summertime vibe to this song. This song is the “cherry ice cream smile” on my music playlist!

Hungry Like the Wolf

If you ask what song Duran Duran is most known for, this is it! I’m pretty sure this is the first song of theirs that I knew of before I discovered their other hits. It has a very catchy tune and then, of course, there’s that iconic laugh in the beginning. Many of their songs are great in their own way but this was the song that catapulted them into their music success in the 80s.

Girls on Film

With the sound effects of cameras flashing during its intro and a fun tune as the song goes on, this is another fun song to listen to.

Fun Fact: The music video to “Girls on Film” was a little too explicit as it was blocked from MTV for nudity.

Planet Earth

This song took me a little while to get into. I’ve had to listen to it just a few times to get into the rhythm. I’d say, the best part is the main chorus. Like many of the songs I’ve listed already so far, it is such a fun song to listen and sing along to.

Fun Fact: “Planet Earth” was Duran Duran’s debut single.

Union of the Snake

This is such a chilling song. It caught my attention the first time I heard it. Every time I listen to this song, I’m left pondering what the union of the snake represents. Is it symbolic for something? Political? To me, it sounds just a little chilling and ominous.

New Moon on Monday

This isn’t a bad song at all. To me, it’s a great song to just sit back and listen to. It is also one of the songs that I discovered much later on when I got the album, Greatest.

Wild Boys

This is another song that took awhile to grow on me. I admit, at first I skipped over this song on the album, but eventually I just let it play. After letting it play, I discovered that it gets better as the song goes on. Like many of their other songs, it’s unique. After listening to the much more chill “New Moon on Monday”, “Wild Boys” is sure to get your attention.

Notorious

“No-no- notorious!”

There are so many Duran Duran songs that I really like and consider one of my favorites, but if could only pick just one, I’d have to go with this one. Notorious is my all time favorite song of theirs. When I play my Duran Duran CD, I eagerly wait until “Notorious” plays. It is absolutely catchy, fun and upbeat from the very beginning until the very end.

I Don’t Want Your Love

This is another one of their songs that has taken me some time to get into. While I had to let it play for a little bit, this song has proven to have some good beats to it.

All She Wants Is

This is one of my least favorite songs on the album. Nonetheless, like some of the other songs that didn’t quite make it into my top favorite list, it has grown on me as the song goes on.

I’m pretty sure this song was inspired or at least loosely based on the band’s backstory. Remember that their name was based on the movie, Barbarella? The music right from the start does have an electronic sci-fi vibe to it. I consider it yet another great dance tune.

Serious

If I had to pick my least favorite song on here, it would have to be this one. Normally, I do skip this song. I do, however, like the background music. I find it a bit relaxing.

Skin Trade

While this song starts out with some good beats, it takes me just a little bit to get into it. However, it’s around the 1:15 mark that this song really captures my attention. When I first listened to this song, I was like, “This is alright … Oh, wait. No, this is actually amazing.”

Come Undone

This is another emotional song of theirs right along with “Ordinary World” and “Save a Prayer”. And like those songs, I find “Come Undone” to be a suitable song to listen to while relaxing.

And that concludes my review of Duran Duran’s album, Greatest. The best thing about this album is that it is so diverse. They recently released their new album, Future Past. I’m very much looking forward to listening to it. I’ll have to do a review on that as well.

Are you a fellow Duran Duran fan? What is / are your favorite song(s)?

80s musicalbum reviews
Like

About the Creator

Jasmine Aguilar

Fascinated by pop culture and its effect on society... movies, music, books.. and pretty much anything.

I love writing and write a little bit of everything including a science fiction WIP!

https://www.buymeacoffee.com/J.A.Rose

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.