Beat logo

The Music Artists that Mean the World to Me

A list of my all time favorite music artists

By Jasmine AguilarPublished about a year ago 6 min read
1
The Music Artists that Mean the World to Me
Photo by Erik Mclean on Unsplash

Like most people, I love listening to music. My music preference is rather diverse. I’ll listen across just about any genre with the exception of death metal scream-o music and country-pop although even in the least favorite, least listened to genres, there are some exceptions.

I have my days when I crave listening to ’80s New Wave pop like Duran Duran and Depeche Mode. And then I have my days where I’m more in the mood for something a little edgier (or as edgy as I can take) like Fall Out Boy and Linkin Park.

With this diversity in mind, I’d like to mention a few of my favorite music artists. While a few of these can easily be placed toward the top of the list and declared top favorites, I wrote this list in no particular order.

I also included my favorite song from each music artist or band and that wasn’t easy!

Linkin Park

The alternative rock band, Linkin Park was one of the first music artists I was introduced to as a kid. R.I.P., Chester Bennington!

The first time I listened to their songs, I was instantly hooked. I listened to them a lot and were my top favorite band in middle school and high school. I was instantly drawn to their music — how it had an edgy tone to it but was not too hard-edged. Their music can be described as somewhere on the verge between metal and hip hop while some songs reflect more elements of electronica and pop. What I loved about Linkin Park and still do is how relatable and emotional their songs are.

Favorite song: What I’ve Done

Depeche Mode

I absolutely love Depeche Mode. They are one of the bands in which I didn’t realize just how many songs I actually liked of theirs until I took the time to listen. It didn’t take long until I filled my playlist one by one with their songs and declared them one of my favorite bands.

Their music, especially the vocals of Dave Gahan has a very unique sound to them. A vast majority of their music draws me in. Most of the time, even if I’m not 100% sure of the exact title of the song, I can usually guess right that it’s a Depeche Mode song.

Depeche Mode is also one of the bands that really got me into 80’s alternative rock/new wave.

Favorite song: Enjoy the Silence

Fall Out Boy

I like listening to Fall Out Boy when I’m in the mood to listen to something edgy. Well, the level of edginess that I can handle at least. With just slightly heavy metal tones, Fall Out Boy never fails to put me in an energizing mood.

I enjoy a majority of their music videos as well as I find them as edgy as the songs themselves. A majority of their music videos have a creative uniqueness to them.

Favorite Song: Centuries

Gavin DeGraw

Singer/songwriter Gavin DeGraw would have to be one of, if not my top favorite solo music artists. I loved Gavin DeGraw during my high school into college days and still do! I had a huge fangirl crush on him back in the day and even own his album, “Chariot” which includes his more well-known hit songs such as “Chariot” and “I Don’t Want to Be”.

What I really love about Gavin DeGraw is his down-to-earth songwriting. I find so many of his songs deeply honest, meaningful, and relatable.

I admit I haven’t listened to his more recent songs. He has a new album out, Face the River, that I’ve been meaning to listen to. I really have to give this album a listen. It’s inspired by and pays tribute to his late parents.

Favorite song: I Don’t Want to Be

Duran Duran

Ah! Duran Duran. Easily one of my top favorite 80’s bands. Just like with Depeche Mode, Duran Duran turned me into a huge fan of 80’s alternative rock/new wave. I think I’ve always liked Duran Duran and just didn’t realize it. I would keep hearing one song after another that I really liked and before long, they were another band declared my top favorite.

What I love about Duran Duran is how unique and diverse their songs are. There are the fun upbeat songs that never fail to put me in a good mood such as “Rio” and “The Reflex” and then there are the more emotional ones like “Save a Prayer” and “Ordinary World”. I even have their album, Greatest.

Favorite song: Notorious

Muse

Quite similar to Fall Out Boy, I enjoy listening to Muse when I’m in the mood to listen to something a little edgy. What I love about Muse is how diverse their music is. Another reason why they’re one of my top favorite bands is lead singer Matt Bellamy. He gives the band phenomenal vocals that fall within a dramatic range. My favorite album of theirs is, Resistance.

What I also really like about Muse is that they aren’t afraid to test out new sounds.

Favorite song: Undisclosed Desires

Imagine Dragons

I love Imagine Dragons because I find quite a few of their songs very honest, relatable, and powerful. Listening to the lyrics of songs such as “Believer” and “Radioactive”, they are about conquering your personal demons and just being real with yourself and your mental health.

Not only do I like to listen to Imagine Dragons to help get me in a good mood, but also to inspire me. Listening to their music makes me feel like I can take on the world!

Favorite song: Natural

Foreigner

Foreigner is probably my top favorite classic rock band, easily. They were also one of the first music artists I was introduced to. I love how a vast majority of their songs are easy and fun to sing along to. Songs such as “Cold as Ice” and “Hot Blooded”. They are another band that always puts me in a good mood.

Favorite song: Double Vision

Some honorable mentions:

These are the once-declared favorite bands of mine that have fallen by the wayside, and that I have almost completely forgotten about. With that said, they haven’t fallen completely off my favorite music artist list.

Gin Blossoms

There was a time when the Gin Blossoms were easily one of my top favorite alternative rock bands. I used to listen to them all the time during my high school days. As new favorite bands emerged, and others have fallen a slot down the list, I still love the Gin Blossoms. I haven’t listened to them in a long time, so I listened to a few of their songs for the sake of this article and to refresh my memory of just how meaningful their songs were to me.

Many of their songs have an emotional romantic tone to them. The kind of songs that can easily make me smile and find relatable.

Favorite song: Follow You Down

Maroon 5

Maroon 5 was another band I listened to quite a bit in high school. I had their album, Songs About Jane, which was one of the CDs I listened to religiously during the long bus ride to school. At one point I pretty much had every track memorized by its placement on the album. Listening to the album now brings back a deep sense of nostalgia.

Maroon 5 has shifted their music genre from rock alternative to more of a pop/electronica sound. While I do like a few of their more recent songs, I favor their older rock alternative-based songs the best.

Favorite song: Through With You

Sting and The Police

Sting and the Police is another music artist/band that I was introduced to early in life. I liked quite a few of their hit songs like “Message in a Bottle” and “Don’t Stand So Close To Me”. I had their album, The Very Best of Sting and the Police.

Like with the other honorably mentioned music artists, I listened to this band with great significance at one point and wouldn’t mind listening to them again for old time’s sake.

Favorite song: Can’t Stand Losing You

bands
1

About the Creator

Jasmine Aguilar

Fascinated by pop culture and its effect on society... movies, music, books.. and pretty much anything.

I love writing and write a little bit of everything including a science fiction WIP!

https://www.buymeacoffee.com/J.A.Rose

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.