Beat logo

Six Feet

An introduction and song

By Chaylyn🌻☕️Published 4 years ago 3 min read
1

first, an introduction...

Hi! My name is Chaylyn. I’m a 21 year old indie singer/songwriter from Indiana.

A few things to know if we’re gonna be friends...

1. I LOVE coffee. So much so that I’ve been working in coffee shops since I was 16. I always have a coffee cup in my hand and I’m immune to caffeine 😂 My favorite coffee to drink is a secret recipe I call an Autumn Sunrise Latte... it’s good as a macchiato, too, though. My favorite coffee to make is a Flat White- I get SO excited when someone orders one, that’s how much I love making them! One of my biggest dreams is to own a coffee shop with an in-house music venue, community library, and hang out space all in the lower level of a house turned bed and breakfast.

2. I’m an aspiring personal trainer... which surprises a lot of people. There’s a big stereotype around being a musician and people only ever remember you for your music, not realizing you have other interests. But I played soccer in college, got super into weight lifting and running. Now, I’m a college drop out pursuing my certificate in personal training through NASM. My end all goal with this is to work as an online coach and train my own clients on nutrition, fitness, and an overall healthy lifestyle and mindset.

3. I write a lot of songs. Like a lot of them. At least 3 every week. Some are okay, most are terrible. But writing is how I deal with things. I tell stories to a melody, sometimes the stories are my stories and sometimes they’re not. But I write these songs and tell these stories to voice experiences, emotions, and inner thoughts that others don’t want to or don’t know how to. On a more surface level, though, I want to reach new people and make new friends through my music. Music is such an incredibly universal language which can create a bond between two people who’d never have anything in common otherwise.

Lately, I’ve been been home a lot more than usual (thanks, Coronavirus, for leaving me without a job and social schedule😌) and because I’m home so much now, I’ve been writing a lot more than normal. I’ve also gotten a lot of inspiration from the current happenings of our world.

I started writing down these song ideas and recording them on voice memos in my iPhone. I’ve been sharing them on my Facebook and Instagram pages for my friends and family to listen to, but ny goal is to get them out to as many people as possible. So I thought to myself, “Hey, why not share some of these song snippets with the whole world?🤷🏼‍♀️” and posted my first one on YouTube.

That’s what this new YouTube series is: a collection of snippets, “work tapes” to use a more professional term.

This first song I’ve included in this series is called “six feet” and has two meanings... The first, and my intended meaning, is about quarantine and trying to nurture a relationship during a stay at home order. Online dating is huge right now (it’s actually the only type of dating most people can do), but it comes a lot harder than what most expect. (I would know😬) You start talking to this person, really like them, but then can’t actually go on a date. So it’s just this awkward waiting game and there are so many things you think about with it all. But The second definition of this is broader and is about being with someone who’s going through a hard time, trying to love them and be there for them from a distance in whatever way they’ll let you.

Thanks for listening! Let me know what you think and please follow my socials/subscribe to my YouTube if you like it :)

-ChaylynMusic

humanity
1

About the Creator

Chaylyn🌻☕️

i drink a lot of coffee and write a lot of songs

Let’s be friends:)

Instagram, Twitter: @chaylynmusic

Facebook: Chaylyn Thompson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.