Beat logo

Sarah Anne Fernandez Discusses New Record, Career Beginnings, and More

Sarah Anne Fernandez's "Drowning" is out now!

By Meikhel PhilogenePublished 2 years ago 9 min read
Like
Lisa Profeta

Sarah Anne Fernandez is an emerging singer-songwriter who is passionate about creating music that is centered around storytelling and honesty. She masterfully juxtaposes powerful vocals and sounds with intimate and vulnerable lyrics, resulting in her own brand of music that is both relatable and anthemic. Influenced by Pop, Punk, and Rock sounds, Sarah Anne Fernandez creates songs that serve as a musical balm to anyone who feels insecure or alone.

With her single, “Drowning,” out now, we took some time to hear more from Sarah Anne Fernandez. Read below to learn more about Sarah Anne Fernandez, the story behind her single, and what’s to come.

Hi Sarah Anne Fernandez! Let’s start with how did you get your artist name?

My artist name is simply my full legal name! “Sarah Fernandez” is itself a pretty common name, so I do include my middle name on all of my work just to differentiate myself, but other than that, it’s the name that I go by everywhere. I have my parents to thank for it!

What city are you from and where are you based now?

I’m New York born and raised! I was born in Astoria, Queens and grew up on Long Island. I went to NYU for college and subsequently lived in Manhattan for a few years. I love the energy of New York and can’t really see myself ever living anywhere else.

At what point in your life did you decide to pursue a career in music? How did you get started?

I knew that I wanted to pursue a career in music from a super young age. When I was two years old, I was really obsessed with the Disney film, “The Little Mermaid,” and wanted to be a singer just like Ariel. I never really grew out of that want – instead it evolved into a lifelong passion. I’ve explored my love for music in different ways over the course of my career. Primarily, I work in musical theatre and love that it combines two of my biggest passions – music and storytelling. I’ve only recently moved into the recorded music world, and while it’s incredibly different than theatre, it is just as fulfilling. I’ve been enjoying getting to simultaneously explore both of these loves of mine and build a multi-hyphenate career.

Has your upbringing played a role in shaping who you are and defining your sound today? If so, how?

This is such an interesting question! I actually do think that my upbringing shaped my musical sound a lot. My parents are not musicians, but growing up, there was always music playing around the house and in the car. My dad is a major classic Rock fan, and my mom loves 70s Disco hits. As a result, these genres ended up becoming the sounds that I grew up with and was influenced by. And, while I think my personal sound leans a bit more towards pure Pop, I do have a lot of these influences constantly in my head and sprinkle them into my music when I can. I love experimenting with dreamy 70s synth sounds and distorted rock guitar sounds. It may sound like those two vibes shouldn’t work together, but sometimes they just really do. I love playing around with my sound and bending genres, and I think that has a lot to do with my musical upbringing.

How would you describe your sound to readers who may not be familiar with you?

I think my main focus as a songwriter is more about the storytelling, and whatever sound or vibe that story takes on is what I run with. But, in general, at the moment I have been leaning more towards pure pop sounds and having fun playing with that.

Do you have any hobbies outside of music? What do you do to stay creative?

I really love to bake! I’ve found that it’s the perfect hobby for me because it allows me to be creative and methodic, but has nothing to do with my job. It’s something that I can completely get lost in and relax while doing. And then, when I’m done, I get to eat sweet treats!! It’s kind of amazing, and I highly recommend everyone make baking their hobby.

Who are some of your main musical influences?

My biggest musical influence is absolutely Taylor Swift – I think she’s so brilliant and is objectively one of the best lyricists of our time. I’ve admired her for years and through her multiple genre shifts, and I’m sure if you listen for it, you can definitely hear her influences in my music. I’m also a very big fan of Hayley Williams (both in Paramore and solo), Phoebe Bridgers, Lady Gaga, Pat Benatar, and Sara Bareilles. They’re all women whose music that I admire immensely and whose unique sounds are always in my ear when I’m creating my own.

Who would be a dream to collaborate with?

I would really love to work with Jack Antonoff or Dan Nigro – they’re two producers whose work I admire a lot, and I’d love to see the kind of music that I’d be able to create with their guidance.

What music do you currently have on repeat?

Currently, jumping back and forth between Joshua Bassett’s new EP, 'Sad Songs in a Hotel Room,' Taylor Swift’s newest studio album, 'Midnights,' and Paramore’s latest single, 'This is Why.'

What are some of your future music career goals?

Being that recorded music is a newer thing for me, I’m really looking forward to building my career and learning more about who I am as an artist. Eventually, I’d love to put out an EP, and in the even later future, a full album. But, for now, I’m having a really great time working on singles, writing and recording music that means something to me.

Now onto your release, “Drowning.” What inspired this song?

I wanted to write a song that felt honest and vulnerable. I think it’s easy to kind of keep things surface level – both in life and in art – but, I knew with my first release, I really wanted to dig deep and write a song that felt like me. I wanted to be honest, personal and real, and I really am proud because I do think that 'Drowning' achieved that.

What is “Drowning” about in your own words?

'Drowning' illuminates what it feels like to live with insecurity – to quite literally feel drowned by it. On this track, I wanted to juxtapose powerful vocals with vulnerable lyrics, so that I could create a song that is relatable, anthemic, and uniquely me. I believe 'Drowning' serves as a musical balm to anyone who often feels overwhelming feelings of insecurity and sadness. In other words, a quintessential 'sad girl fall anthem.'

What is your favorite lyric in “Drowning” and why?

My favorite lyric is “how can I stand up straight when I’ve got knives in my back, can I keep faking smiles or will I crack.” I just really love the visuals it evokes, and I think it’s the most creative lyric that I’ve written to date.

What message do you hope fans take away from your music and from “Drowning?”

I hope that when people listen to 'Drowning' they can feel less alone. Feeling like you’re not enough is already an overwhelming feeling, but doing it on your own is even worse. I’ve always turned to music when I’m feeling particularly vulnerable or lonely, and I hope that this song can be that for somebody else. I hope to continue writing music that has the power to do that.

What’s one of your proudest moments of your music career so far?

Releasing my first single! Honestly, this is something that I never thought I’d do. I’d always had dreams of writing and recording my own music, but let them take the back burner when I chose to study Theatre in college and pursue that as a career instead. And, while I do not regret that choice for a second and continue to love building my career in theatre, it has been a beautiful surprise to also fulfill teenage Sarah’s dreams of writing and releasing her own music. I’m excited to continue on with this side of my career and see how many other dreams of mine I can achieve.

What would you say are the greatest lessons you’ve learned so far?

There are so many great lessons that I’ve learned and kept with me over the course of my life, but one that I always have in the back of my mind as an artist is one that my mentor, Karen Parks, taught to me, which is “it ain’t over till it’s over.” Being an artist – theatre, recorded music, etc. – means actively choosing a life that is laden with rejection. If you let it, it can get to you. But, if you keep going and keep creating opportunities for yourself and working hard amidst all the 'no’s,' a lot of surprising and deeply fulfilling 'yes’s' will appear. It is never over until it’s over…I believe that wholeheartedly.

What’s next for you? Are you working on any upcoming projects, or do you have any upcoming shows that we should be on the lookout for?

I’m currently already working with the team on my next single which is super exciting. It’s been really fun to get back into the studio and work on something totally different; to expand my musical horizons with a true dream team of artists. I don’t have a specific release date to share yet, but what I can tell you is that it’s a complete 180 from the chill, sad-girl vibe of 'Drowning,' and I’m really excited for everyone to hear it.

Where can we follow you on social media?

You can follow me everywhere – Instagram, Twitter, TikTok, Facebook, Spotify, Apple Music, YouTube…all that good stuff. Links are below!

Website: https://www.sarahannefernandez.com/musician

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/sarahannee17/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/sarahannee17

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100063270847620

TikTok: https://www.tiktok.com/@sarahannee17

Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/artist/4T5pjm1vxiPmIvm7iMds9S

Apple Music: https://music.apple.com/us/artist/sarah-anne-fernandez/1570820720

YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/seaprincess101/featured

featureinterviewpop culturesong reviews
Like

About the Creator

Meikhel Philogene

https://meikhelphilogene.com/

@meikhe1

@meirecordings

@psalminfinity

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.