Beat logo

Cheekychizzy Talks New Song, Current Tour, and More

Cheekychizzy's "Antisocial" is out now!

By Meikhel PhilogenePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

With his single, “Antisocial,” out now, we took some time to hear more from Cheekychizzy. Read below to learn more about Cheekychizzy, the story behind his single, and what’s to come.

Hi Cheekychizzy! Let’s start with how did you get your artist name?

My name, Cheekychizzy, came from my first ever girlfriend she thinks I am a very cheesy and cheeky guy and the name stuck with me.

What city are you from and where are you based now?

I am a NIGERIAN born in Abuja. So, officially an ABJ boy that grew up in Lagos, but now living and based in Los Angeles, USA.

At what point in your life did you decide to pursue a career in music? How did you get started?

I started professionally in 2015 when I got signed to DBANJ.

Has your upbringing played a role in shaping who you are and defining your sound today? If so, how?

Yes, my family is a family of singers. My mum and sisters all sing. I’m probably the least with the voice in my home, and being a church boy, I started playing the musical instruments at early age.

How would you describe your sound to readers who may not be familiar with you?

I make Acrobats, Afro-Fusion, Afro-Pop, RnB, whatever really. I don’t have a particular style or genre of music, but I call my sound “Confucius” - every song tells a story and has a meaning behind it or frequency as I will call it.

Do you have any hobbies outside of music? What do you do to stay creative?

I do a lot of research. I love creating new business ideas. I watch movies too that always leads me to sleeping, haha.

Who are some of your main musical influences?

Bob Marley, Paul Simon, Black Mambazo, Lady Smith, Fela, Don Jazzy, Dbanj, and Wizkid.

What are some of your future music career goals?

Create an academy to export African talent to the world. Africa has got so many talents that need the world to see. Also, I need 10 Grammys, haha.

Now onto your release, “Antisocial.” What inspired this song?

My lifestyle inspired the song. I’m antisocial, not that I have social anxiety, but I don’t really like wasting time doing nothing or having unnecessary conversations. If it's not love, growth, sharing meaningful ideas, learning something new, making music, performing music or anything this positive, then count me out...

What is “Antisocial” about in your own words?

It's a soundtrack to remind you to stay focused on what’s important.

What is your favorite lyric in “Antisocial” and why?

So many lines strike on that record:

"Fast is slow along as you’re in control"

"I'm never gonna fold cos my story is still untold"

"I do the most and they don’t know"

"Everything I need I’m getting abundant"

There are a lot of messages in the song, you just have to listen.

What message do you hope fans take away from your music and from “Antisocial?”

Believe in yourself, you don’t need a second person's validation.

What’s one of your proudest moments of your music career so far?

Every move that I make is a proud moment, even this interview with you now is a proud moment for me. Every chance that I get to share my story and music is a proud moment for me.

What would you say are the greatest lessons you’ve learned so far?

Trust nobody because anybody can GO.

What’s next for you? Are you working on any upcoming projects, or do you have any upcoming shows that we should be on the lookout for?

I'M TOURING NOW, AND YES, IM EXCITED ABOUT THIS ONE. MY NEXT BODY OF WORK IS CALLED, "SHMITA." IT IS OUT IN February. THIS ONE IS PERSONAL. Follow me on my page to stay informed, can’t really share much now.

Where can we follow you on social media?

Instagram: @cheekychizzyhotboy

Twitter: @cheekychizzy_

Facebook: @cheekychizzy

YouTube: @cheekychizzy

featureinterviewpop culturesong reviews
Like

About the Creator

Meikhel Philogene

https://meikhelphilogene.com/

@meikhe1

@meirecordings

@psalminfinity

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.