Beat logo

Review: Avantasia - Moonglow (2019)

Are you ready to be transported into a fairy-tale world with this power metal album?

By Victoria (@fodmapfeasts)Published 4 years ago 9 min read
The album art was inspired by Tim Burton. Artist: Alexander Jannson

Artist: Avantasia

Album: Moonglow

Genre: Symphonic Power Metal

Released: February 2019

Album length: 70:43/12 tracks (inc. bonus track)

Background

Avantasia was formed by vocalist Tobias Sammet (of Edguy fame) in 1999, and is considered a supergroup metal opera project. Most Avantasia songs feature other artists alongside Sammet's vocals. Moonglow is their eighth studio album and follows a story of a nocturnal creature struggling to cope with the reality of boldness and beauty, and ends up resorting to hiding itself from the world in the darkness of the moonglow. This album is the first of Avantasia's to feature Hansi Kürsch of Blind Guardian.

The track breakdown:

On repeat: Almost all of it

Skip it: Book of Shallows , Starlight

For the gym (150+ BPM): Ghost in the Moon, Requiem for a Dream, Maniac

---

Ghost in the Moon opens the album up wonderfully and sets the stage so well - literally doing so for their Moonglow tour in 2019. It starts abruptly with Sammet's gentle vocals, gradually building up to the upbeat chorus. Backing vocals add so much to the atmosphere of the track, and the music fits this song perfectly. Sammet really shows off his voice on this track: most specifically the high note before the solo in the song (which he also hit perfectly when seeing this performed live). There's a beautiful atmospheric break after the solo, with angelic backing vocals. This break gradually builds up again, back into the gorgeous upbeat music. Sammet also mentions "Mystery of a Blood Red Rose" which was their first single from their last album, Ghostlights, and I love it when bands mention their other songs within songs! The outro is so pretty. This track is one of the stars on this album and it's such a feel good song.

Book of Shallows features Hansi Kürsch (Blind Guardian), Ronnie Atkins (Pretty Maids), Jorn Lande (ex-Masterplan) and Mille Petrozza (Kreator). I like the way this track starts, and I love how Kürsch is introduced in the bridge, before Atkins appears in the chorus. The drumming throughout is exceptional as with every Avantasia album, and adds a delightfully heavy feel to this song. The vocalists chosen for this track are superb together, so huge props for that. My issue is where Petrozza and Sammet back and forth around the 3 minute mark. The gruff, shouty 50 seconds or so ruins the song for me, which is really disappointing, especially as Kürsch comes back in after that part with extraordinary vocals. This part of the song puts me off listening through the entirety of Moonglow, as I just don't feel like it fits the happy energy of the album.

Moonglow, the title track, is an ethereal duet with Candice Night. When I first heard this released as the single, I wasn't that impressed, but it grew on me. I love the way Sammet starts it off gently, and as Night comes in, the music joins her. There's an incredibly short solo in this song, if you can even call it that, and it's at such a weird part of the song too. However, I love Sammet and Night's voices together: something else that had to grow on me. The final verse with them singing together, the beat perfectly timed to the rhythm of the lyrics is really nice. The outro is pretty with Night's angelic vocalisations.

The Raven Child is an 11-minute long symphony featuring Kürsch and Lande. This was the first single released from Moonglow, which was a brave move; however, Avantasia fans are generally always excited by a lengthy track, so it makes sense! I still remember where I was when I first heard this song because it made me feel so many things.

The song kicks off with Kürsch singing softly, against the backing of a harp. A harp, in a metal album. That's what I'm talking about! Kürsch and Sammet create a perfect first verse, with the background music slowly building up. After Kürsch finishes an impressive round of "ohs", the metal seriously kicks in. We're treated to an early solo before the second verse, which drops back into the gentle harp against Sammet's soulful vocals. It builds back up and reintroduces Kürsch in time for the chorus. It's really masterfully put together.

Lande is introduced with a magical verse, where he sings beautiful words about "the scent of Spring and cherry blossoms". He quickly kicks it up to the powerful vocals we're used to, and he absolutely kills it on this track (as usual). Sammet perfectly blends the chorus into the start of the second guitar solo. The solo gives way to more harp-playing, and Lande is back in for yet another stunning verse.

7:50 is where it really had to grow on me though; there's chanting against a dramatic symphonic background, and personally something I'd have left out of this track. But, it does work as a great way to build the song up further for Lande's powerful vocals, which truly do add so much to this track. I can't imagine this song without him on it. Just as you think the song is winding up, nope! There's another verse for Lande and Sammet to jump onto. This part adds a different, happier energy to the song with yet more amazing drumming. It contrasts so well with the harp from earlier on. Lande finishes the song on an incredibly powerful final rendition of the chorus. If I could only recommend one song from this album, it would be The Raven Child. Truly a magical journey, perfectly constructed and my two favourite guest vocalists on this album. I'd love to see more of Kürsch with Avantasia in the future as his tones and bard-like sound work so well with the band's style.

Starlight features Atkins. It carries on the upbeat nature of the album. Atkins has a voice where you love it or hate it, and I'm often divided on it, but I can see the appeal of a rougher voice against Sammet's generally higher vocals on this track. He harmonises really nicely with Atkins on the chorus. Overall, a song that had to grow on me, and whilst not a favourite, I appreciate the upbeat feel it has, and the chorus is pretty catchy.

Invincible is a soulful duet with Geoff Tate (ex-Queensryche). It's a slow song which again had to grow on me, but I enjoy it now, although I still think it's a little bit boring. The piano throughout is beautiful, and I love Sammet and Tate's voices together. There's a stunning little instrumental break, which sounds like it's straight out of a fairytale. It also blends perfectly into Alchemy which is a detail I love on albums.

Cold is the wind, bringing forth clarity. Time rushing on, and nothing will remain. There's no glory on the last journey home 𝅘𝅥𝅮

Alchemy also features Tate. Although Invincible blends into it, it's very different. Far more upbeat, great drumming from the off and a ridiculously catchy bridge and chorus. I love the way Tate can show off his voice more with this track. I also like the way there's a different sound to Alchemy: it fits the album perfectly, but there's a different feel to it. Whilst the solo comes really late in the song, it's perfect for the track. Skillful and delightful as always. This song always gets stuck in my head because of the chorus.

The Piper at the Gates of Dawn is an incredibly upbeat track with Atkins, Lande, Tate, Eric Martin (Mr Big) and Bob Catley (Magnum). Sammet, Atkins and Lande kick off the first verse and bridge, and their voices sound awesome together, especially in the chorus. Lande's powerful vocals really stand out in this track as always. There's a dip in the music which shows off the vocals of all the guests, which slowly builds up with a stunning high note from Sammet, just as the delightful soaring guitar kicks in again for a stonking solo. Fabulous! I love the happy feeling this song has, and the fantastic vocals from everyone.

Lavender is a beautiful duet with Bob Catley. I love the way it slowly builds up with Catley's familiar voice, and the bridge sounds great with them singing together. The chorus makes this such a feel-good song. I really enjoy the little riff after the chorus too. The solo is gorgeous and fits the feel of both the song and the album. The outro vocals are wonderful.

Requiem for a Dream features Michael Kiske of Helloween. This was my favourite track (other than The Raven Child) when I first listened through this album. The intro, the way the song introduces the guitar, Kiske; frankly, all the elements are excellent. As usual, Kiske's voice is amazing, and the guitar work is perfect with his vocals. This is a very fast track, and the energy is palpable. Kiske and Sammet's voices are perfect together, and were made for this song. The solo is magical and I love it. The drumming is phenomenal on this track too. There's a drop into a super sexy bass solo, which is an instrument that rarely gets highlighted by Avantasia (even though Sammet plays the bass) and it's a great addition to the song. I'd love to hear more of this in the future. Overall, this track is an absolute banger and one of the best songs on the album.

Maniac is a cover of Michael Sembello's song, which was originally featured in the Flashdance soundtrack. I absolutely love this track, it always makes me want to dance (and I never want to dance) but I wish it had been a B-side instead as it detracts from the rock epic as we know it! Sammet and Eric Martin bring flamboyance to the track and sound awesome even with the super cheesy lyrics. Paeth makes the solo feel like true Avantasia; they definitely made it into their song. I can see why Sammet chose to cover Maniac and bring Martin onto the track, and I like it, but it really should have been swapped with Heart as the bonus track.

Heart is a bonus track. It's a snazzy little happy song with lovely emotive guitar throughout: fabulous riffs, a wonderful solo and a gorgeous outro. Sammet's voice sounds great too. Not a track I have much to say about as it's quite generic, but pretty. It's less than 4 minutes long, which is almost boring in Avantasia terms!

In summary

I'll admit, I'm incredibly biased when it comes to this album as it has so many happy memories attached! However, on my first couple of listens through, I wasn't impressed. I think that my view was jaded initially, as Book of Shallows is the second track on the album, and my least favourite song from Moonglow. Starlight to Alchemy don't really stand out much on the first (or second) listen either, and it took a few plays to fully appreciate the beauty of Invincible and Alchemy.

In all fairness, my first listen(s) through the album happened at 3am after a Valentine's gig. I fell asleep to the end of Ghost in the Moon after being so entranced (and relaxed) by it. I woke up halfway through Maniac wondering what had happened. I had to listen through it all again, and I fell in love with Requiem for a Dream immediately.

This album didn't seem to be as well received by fans as their other albums, which is unfortunate as it's a such a beautiful album. It's got all the Avantasia elements I look for; skilful, soaring, melodic guitar, storytelling, Jorn Lande (and Hansi Kürsch was a delight) and the feeling of being pulled into a world of wonder. There's only a few points of criticism for me, being that small part in Book of Shallows, Starlight and Invincible being a bit boring and Maniac being on the album itself and not as a B-side. There is also the fact the album as a whole had to grow on me, but it's a solid favourite for me now.

As usual, Sammet chose the perfect vocalists, truly playing to all their strengths and crafting their parts so well on Moonglow, as with all other Avantasia albums.

If you take anything from this review, I strongly recommend you listen to The Raven Child. Set aside a little over 11 minutes, pop your headphones on and play it with your eyes closed. Fall into the storytelling, beautiful vocals and feel the glorious atmospherics that song brings. It's a stunning track and one of my favourites from Avantasia of all time. (As is Ghost in the Moon!)

Album rating: 9/10

album reviews

About the Creator

Victoria (@fodmapfeasts)

Everything from tasty low-FODMAP recipes, to album reviews, to mental health topics.

You can follow me on IG for more delicious recipes: https://www.instagram.com/fodmapfeasts/

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • ABDUL AZEEZabout a year ago

    The recent [Full Moon/New Moon] in [Zodiac Sign] has charged your intuition and unlocked your hidden gifts. But you need to learn how to use this to your advantage… and what crucial steps to take next. >> This wonderful complimentary Moon Reading will help guide you. The reading is 100% personalized to you and uses your birthdate to determine the zodiac sign and phase of the Moon on the day you were born. You will discover the Moon’s powerful influence on your life, personality and potential. This reading will light the way to your true path forward, even when it feels like you are unsure of your next steps. >> Get your free personalized video Moon Reading here: https://bit.ly/3w7fPut

Victoria (@fodmapfeasts)Written by Victoria (@fodmapfeasts)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.