Beat logo

REVIEW: All 24 Entries from Eesti Laul 2021

Will it be a second victory for Estonia?

By VISIONPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

Twenty-four songs are competing to be the next entry to represent Estonia at Eurovision 2021, with many familiar faces taking part such as Juri Pootsmann (Eurovision 2016), Koit Toome (Eurovision 2015) and Tanja (Eurovision 2014).

Estonia have a decent record at Eurovision: with a win in 2001, 16 final and many top 10 placings. Can any of the 2021 hopefuls get Estonia a second contest win?

Song recap video is from Misja Eurowizja.

Alabama Watchdog – “Alabama Watchdog”

Alabama Watchdog take alternative rock in a country directions, making it cool and energetic. The song would be an interesting choice for Eurovision: and it’s unclear whether this would be a qualifier. My score: 6/10

Andrei Zevakin & Pluuto – “Wingman”

This song sounds like any standard song you’d get in a standard club, its not bad: but nothing special. A potential qualifier none the less as it has commercial appeal. My score: 5/10

Egert Milder – “Free Again”

Dull and very forgettable: it sounds like a Lumineers B-Side. It would make no impact whatsoever at Eurovision and unless it was staged fantastically: would not qualify. My score: 3/10

Gram-Of-Fun – “Lost In A Dance”

A really fun synthpop/dance track, Lost In Dance would be refreshing and uplifting at the contest. It could potentially do well, but isn’t strong enough to win. My score: 8/10

Hans Nayna – “One By One”

This song certainly sounds like male fronted songs we’ve heard before at the contest, but follows the formula correctly, if sounding a little uninspired and cliché. A finalist most likely. My score: 6/10

Helen – “Nii kõrgele”

Elevator music at best, and an expected non-qualifier . My score: 4/10

Heleza – “6”

Cool and seductive, it would be very unique at the contest, but would it be impactful enough? My score: 6/10 (and not just because the song title is 6).

Ivo Linna, Robert Linna, Supernova – “Ma olen siin”

Estonian elevator music, and not to my taste or probably Europe’s either. My score: 3/10

Jüri Pootsmann – “Magus melanhoolia”

A total departure from his 2016 entry “Play” (highly rated by fans but finished last in their semi-final), the song stands out from the rest of the field and is something very different for Estonia. It would take Juri to the final easily in my opinion. My score: 8/10

Kadri Voorand – “Energy”

Its rather ironic that a song called “Energy” is so devoid of said energy: very dull and forgettable I’m afraid. My score: 4/10

Karl Killing – “Kiss Me”

A budget version of Benjamin Ingrosso, but the track is okay if a little tepid. My score: 5/10

Kéa – “Hypnotized”

A little disco twist on this track, its fresh and infectious. It reminds me of other entries such as “Whats The Pressure” and “Sing It Away”: with the possibility of the song achieving similar places to those mentioned being very high (either placing okay or not well at all). My score: 7/10

Koit Toome – “We Could Have Been Beautiful”

His 2015 effort with Laura was seen as a huge robbery (I thought the live performance was underwhelming myself), and this song is one of the favourites among the Eesti Laul 2021 cast to take the ticket. I can definitely see why, and it’s a good effort from Koit that oozes Eurovision experience. My score: 8/10

Kristin Kalnapenk – “Find A Way”

Unremarkable lounge music. My score: 3/10

Nika Marula – “Calm Down”

A little edgy but not too alienating: Nika’s track is solid and has a good chance of being in the Eesti Laul Final, though I doubt she will be selected. My score: 6/10

Rahel – “Sunday Night”

Pretty cheesy and silly, but the carefree nature of this song would complement a typically ballad heavy contest if it qualified. My score: 6/10

REDEL – “Tartu”

This is the token out-there act for Eeesit Laul, and reminds me of a softer Winnie Puh. It’s one of my favourites due to its vicious singing and visceral beats, and would stand out in either Eurovision Semi-Final. My score: 8/10

Sissi – “Time”

Standard and unremarkable, but a nice song otherwise. My score: 5/10

Suured tüdrukud – “Heaven’s Not That Far Tonight”

The song sounds like it belongs in Melodifestivalen 2004, its pure camp and Schlager, but I LOVE it. Would it do well at Eurovision? Maybe not, but I’d love to see it there and it would get the Scandinavian votes! My score: 8/10

Tanja – “Best Night Ever”

A lot of songs in this year’s selection are following a watered down disco pop melody, and this isn’t an exception. I don’t think Tanja will be back on that Eurovision stage I’m afraid! My score: 5/10

Tuuli Rand – “Üks öö”

Again, watered down disco pop, but better than Tanja. My score 5/10

Uku Haasma – “Kaos”

His voice is very Estonian Chris Martin, but unlike Coldplay the song isn’t very interesting. My score: 4/10

Uku Suviste – “The Lucky One”

Very strong, and the most likely in this cast to crack the top ten. My score: 9/10

Wiiralt – “Tuuled”

A forgettable country rock song that would have no chance of qualifying. My score: 4/10

Overall, Estonia have some strong contenders for the top ten: if they pick Uku Suviste they will absolutely get there. But sadly, I don’t think its Estonia’s year.

song reviews
Like

About the Creator

VISION

Passionate about all things Eurovision.

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/michaelsellers95/

PayPal: paypal.me/michaelsellersxo

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.