Beat logo

Rate-O-Rama: I Put A Spell On You

Rate-O-Rama #29: Screamin' Jay Hawkins, Creedence Clearwater Revival, Annie Lennox

By Rick Henry Christopher Published about a month ago โ€ข 4 min read
14
Screamin' Jay Hawkins / Creedence Clearwater Revival / Annie Lennox

Welcome to Rate-O-Rama!

Rate-O-Rama is a reader participation game.

Every Wednesday evening I will publish a Rate-O-Rama article which will feature three versions of a popular song.

The object is to listen to each of the music videos provided within the post.

After listening to each video you can rate each song in the comments section below.

(You must be a member to comment. If you are not a member you can join Vocal Media for FREE. You donโ€™t ever have to pay for membership unless you choose to upgrade your membership)

๐ŸŽธ๐ŸŽน๐Ÿฅ๐ŸŽบ๐ŸŽผ

The rating method is easy. Simply give each song a rating of 1 to 100.

(The more you like the song the higher the rating).

If possible, please provide a brief comment to let us now what you think of each song.

After a week (Wednesday evening) I will tally the ratings and in the next Rate-O-Rama post, I will announce the average rating each song received.

๐ŸŽธ๐ŸŽน๐Ÿฅ๐ŸŽบ๐ŸŽผ

Last week we featured the Adult Contemporary classic: "Come in From the Rain" as recorded by Melissa Manchester (1976), Captain & Tennille (1977), and Diana Ross (1977).

The following are the average ratings for each song as a result of the votes:

๐Ÿฅ‡ The Gap Band: 95.7

๐Ÿฅˆ Robert Palmer: 82.8

๐Ÿฅ‰ B.E.F. featuring Richard Darbyshire: 77.6

๐ŸŽธ๐ŸŽน๐Ÿฅ๐ŸŽบ๐ŸŽผ

The Twenty-Ninth Edition of Rate-O-Rama features three renditions of the Rhythm and Blues classic: โ€œI Put a Spell on You."

๐ŸŽธ๐ŸŽน๐Ÿฅ๐ŸŽบ๐ŸŽผ

Screamin' Jay Hawkins (1956)

Jalacy โ€œJayโ€ Hawkins co-wrote this song with songwriter and record label owner Herb Slotkin. Hawkins intended on recording the song as a blues ballad, a style he was known for from 1951 to 1955. However, the producer got everybody drunk during the recording session and the result was this weird version. Hawkins has said he was just a normal blues singer. He was just Jay Hawkins, but โ€œSpellโ€ turned him into Screamin' Jay. The song was banned from radio airplay because of its grunts and moans resulting in the song failing to chart. Despite this โ€œSpellโ€ became a cult classic and Hawkins' recording has sold more than a million copies.

๐ŸŽธ๐ŸŽน๐Ÿฅ๐ŸŽบ๐ŸŽผ

Creedence Clearwater Revival (1968)

CCR's rendition of this song only made it to #58 on the US charts. However, the song picked up more steam for CCR due to being track two on side one of the 1976 compilation Chronicle: The 20 Greatest Hits. The compilation album has sold more than 12 million copies in the US. The album is still on the US albums chart logging a total of 686 non-consecutive weeks on the chart. Every track on this compilation has gone on to become a CCR classic including โ€˜โ€™I Put a Spell on You.โ€

๐ŸŽธ๐ŸŽน๐Ÿฅ๐ŸŽบ๐ŸŽผ

Annie Lennox (2014)

Lennox recorded a soulful jazz tinged version of the song for her 2014 album Nostalgia. After the song was included in the 2015 film Fifty Shades of Grey it became a worldwide hit for Annie.

๐ŸŽธ๐ŸŽน๐Ÿฅ๐ŸŽบ๐ŸŽผ

My Thoughts

๐ŸŽธ๐ŸŽน๐Ÿฅ๐ŸŽบ๐ŸŽผ

Screamin' Jay Hawkins:

I love Screamin' Jay with all his hoots and howls. He's a unique brand. That saxophone just slays me. I never paid much attention to him until 1984 when I watched the cult classic film Stranger Than Paradise in which the song is prominently featured. I give Screamin' Jay a 100.

๐ŸŽธ๐ŸŽน๐Ÿฅ๐ŸŽบ๐ŸŽผ

Creedence Clearwater Revival:

CCR is one of my all-time favorite bands. They have many songs that rate among my favorites. โ€œI Put a Spell on Youโ€ fits John Fogerty's hysterical and manic voice perfectly and his lead guitar is killer. I have no other choice but to give CCR a 100.

๐ŸŽธ๐ŸŽน๐Ÿฅ๐ŸŽบ๐ŸŽผ

Annie Lennox:

The piano opening sets a haunting tone which continues through the song. Annie's lead vocal is furiously delicious - deep, rich, and powerful. She holds her notes and beautifully twists and develops them into a soulful treat that sends chills through my body. Annie is by all means one of the greatest singers of all-time. As if the song isn't already great enough, the guitar solo takes it way over the top with class, style, and just enough grit to make it rock and roll. I can go no place else but to also give Annie a 100.

๐ŸŽธ๐ŸŽน๐Ÿฅ๐ŸŽบ๐ŸŽผ

I will be back next week with the results of this Rate-O-Rama Edition.

Last Week's Rate-O-Rama:

https://vocal.media/beat/rate-o-rama-early-in-the-morning

With Love, RHC โค๏ธ

song reviewsrockhistoryfeaturecountryalt rockalternative60s music
14

About the Creator

Rick Henry Christopher

Writing is a distraction to fulfill my need for intellectual stimulus, emotional release, and soothing the bruises of the day.

The shattered pieces of life will not discourage me.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/vocalplusassist

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • Tiffany Gordon 4 days ago

    SJH gets a 101 lol he was phenomenal- those horns & adlibs brought the song on home AL 100 she tore it up- very soulful CCR 80 they sounded a little flat in comparison

  • Lamar Wiggins19 days ago

    I love Annie Lennox and had a crush on her when I was in my late teens. Can't believe I missed this one. Oh well, I listened to the versions anyway. She of course had my favorite version. And Screaming Jay ๐Ÿ˜…. I see why he called himself that. Credence version was very 60s. I loved it and the acid trippin vid.

  • This round of Rate-O-Rama is now closed. You can find the new round Here: https://vocal.media/beat/rate-o-rama-is-you-is-or-is-you-ain-t-my-baby

  • Ccr 100 Annie lennox90 Screaming Jay 80

  • Screamin' Jay Hawkins: 20 - I just don't like the screaming. It makes my ears bleed. I can't stand it. It makes sense that they were all drunk during the recording. Horrible at best. (I am entitled to my opinion, right?) CCR: 50 -- Not my favourite song from CCR. Annie Lennox: 50 -- The same, not my favourite from Annie. The song is not her style. I have to conclude that what I don't like is the song. It's too noisy for my liking.

  • Rachel Robbins25 days ago

    Hi For me - I love Screamin' Jay Hawkins and would give it a 100. Then the other two both add something special and I find it difficult to separate them. I would give them both 90. But my favourite version of this song - is actually Nina Simone's - she really makes me believe she could hex me.

  • Grz Colm28 days ago

    Hey Rick ๐Ÿ‘‹ hope you are going well. Informative as always and thanks for filling in the gaps in my minimal music knowledge! ๐Ÿ˜‰๐ŸŽถ Iโ€™m only familiar with Lennox here.. Screamin' Jay Hawkins - 73 CCR - 75 Annie Lennox - 88 Thanks!

  • Pauline Fountain29 days ago

    The Twenty-Ninth Edition of Rate-O-Rama! WOW!! Plus lucky for me I love the RnB classic: โ€œI Put a Spell on You." So to the scores: Screamin' Jay Hawkins 30% I donโ€™t think the instrumental backing track suits the sentiment. Itโ€™s too upbeat except for when the trumpet harks back to blues roots. And the โ€˜Screamingโ€™ ruins the rendition. Creedence Clearwater Revival (1968) 50% I can understand the commercial success with this track for CCT but for me it doesnโ€™t have the depth of soul Iโ€™m looking for. Annie Lennox (2014) 70% An interesting mix of voice / jazz / blues. This approach better projects the lyric meaning that appeals to me. Finally if I may add my own! Nina Simone (1965) 100% for me can only be reserved for Nina Simone: โ€˜The high priestess of soul.โ€™ https://youtu.be/J4A3Qqv6HIA?si=UQ6DZpc3MKIV-gek Nina Simone: I Put A Spell On You (Live in Antibes, 1965) - Lyric Video

  • This is a tie between these three great artists I had to give Screamin' Jay Hawkins 100 cause he is good.

  • Screamin' Jay Hawkins 100 Creedance Clearwater 98 Annie Lenox 98

  • Shirley Belk29 days ago

    Thank you, Rick, for all you do!!!

  • Shirley Belk29 days ago

    John Fogerty's vocal is the BEST, but I didn't like the video. Song was too long.= 95 Screaming Jay made me believe in voodoo=80 Annie=50 just no To be honest, I've heard singers on the Voice & American idol have do this song more justice

  • Novel Allen29 days ago

    Screamin' Jay - 100, I love the cadence and lilt of it all Annie Lennox - 95 - She's got soul Creedence CC - 90 - they all have a certain something different

  • CCR is the solid winner here! 100 Annie - love her but this song does not suit her voice - 70 Jay - 30 - definitely not a fan!

  • Screamin' Jay is absolutely wild: 100 CCR is classic perfection: 100 Annie Lennox is great, but I have to dock her just a little for her association with the film: 98

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.