Beat logo

Random rules

shuffle life

By ASHLEY SMITHPublished 12 months ago 3 min read
Like
shuffle your day away

In the old days you had to push play for a cassette, put down the needle or eventually press play with the cd. You normally started at the beginning and played til the end. To discover a new band you needed someone to tell you or maybe you would see them at a concert. Then the internet happened.

First time I used the internet for music was with a free computer disc, given away with a magazine. Once loaded, yes we had to load programs in the old days, you chose what sort of thing you wanted to hear.

You could enter a bands name or a type of music style. Then the program searched the internet for all online radio stations it could find. It then recorded anything by a band you chose plus anything that fitted in the musical style you chose.

I discovered many bands through this and many songs I didn't know from chosen bands. I had no idea that Slayer had covered born to be wild for example. The advantage of this method was that rather then have to choose songs the program downloaded everything. Then you kept what you liked and deleted what you didn't.

What limited you slightly was you played them through your computer, usually through the built in speakers or the tiny plug in ones. Then phones and programs like napster and LimeWire appeared. Often people would buy an album, upload it to a site and then it could be downloaded without the artist seeing the money.

Next came the slightly fairer organised music sites like spotify. Many artists complain they get a pittance for plays but at least its something. Often they can be used as a try before you buy option. Listen to the album for minimal cost and then either pay to download or buy the physical album. In fact over recent years good old vinyl is making a come back, the new Metallica album is even avaidible on cassette.

I tend to use a streaming services radio service. Choose a band or a genre , then let it play. Again you find new songs by bands you like but you also find many new bands. If for example you play an album and let the system keep playing it will find a similar band next, maybe one new to you.

I am a massive thrash and death metal fan and have found some brilliant bands without effort on my part. Bands like Whitechapel and slaughter to prevail among others. This has led to me attending concerts from bands i have found as well as recommending new stuff to other people.

While I see why some bands complain about the lack of money they get in relation to plays, I hope for many that the programs generate new fans. Fans , who like me, might got to concerts and also buy merchandise. With the arranging of tours becoming so expensive I hope this helps a few bands who need it.

The bands I listen to tend to play halls and clubs, never likely to reach stadiums. So a few pennies hopefully helps. While writing this I am listening to the new cradle of filth live album. When an album is newly released or newly discovered I will listen through in the correct order,I know with many albums the order of songs is carefully thought out. After this I will often return to random songs from the band that I just listened too, then the mix of new and older is always an interesting comparison.

Recently I went to the cinema preview of the new Metallica album, then relistened on a streaming platform. Then after that I bought the actual cd to play it in the car. My car cant play downloads or anything fancy so at least in one location old school rules.

metalhow tobands90s music80s music
Like

About the Creator

ASHLEY SMITH

England based carer, live with my wife, her parents and 4 cats. will write for all areas but especially mental health and disability. though as stuff for filthy seems popular will try there . any comments, suggestions or requests considered

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.