Beat logo

Queens of Soul.

This story is about Black women singers I think they are the queens of soul .by Kathleen J Merry

By Kathleen MerryPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2
Queens of Soul.
Photo by Richie Lugo on Unsplash

I think I am a black woman in a white woman’s skin.When I was growing up my friends were all listening to the Rolling Stones and the Beatles. I admit they were good bands,but they did not move my soul. On the other hand, I was a big Motown fan.Four tops, Temptations, Supremes you name them. my favourite song was and still is summertime.Always when we would have parties , family and friends would ask me to sing summertime.I even won a competion singing Birth of the blues.

My father used to say to me,when I was growing up that he found me in Africa. He was in the Merchant Navy and always away at sea. I have grown up with Motown,and even at this young age of sixty six, I have an adopted daughter and her children from Ghana.

I loved Whitney Houston, and Ella Fitzgerald, They with Diana Ross are the queens of Soul music.Everyone In life has struggles to overcome, but to be honest I think black women in particular have more than is fair. If you look back right down the ages, Black people always bring singing into their troubles,for they know the value of that singing.it helps them to rise above and to keep on going. There is a richness in soul music .

Randy Crawford and Miriam Makeba I feel are in a class of their own. You would have to be made of stone, not to be moved by these ladies.I remember when I first heard Jennifer Hudson,I just burst into tears. What a voice. Most of these ladies came from humble beginnings,and it has been a joy to see them succeed, To be champions and examples for the new generations.

Having fought their way through discrimination. Pre conceived ideas, being role models,because lets face it. People look up to them,and emulate them. That is a big responsibility. Black woman have risen to amazing heights take Ophra Winfrey for instance,not only is she a talk show host,but is an amazing actor. There are many in leading positions some with their own companies, some producers, but the thing with singing, it gives you a voice. You may not remember a conversation you have with someone later, but if you hear a song that you really like, it stays with you, it makes you think, and maybe Change things or even them. Soul and Blues go deep They are your stories of life. They have meaning. They have maturity. They have Heart.

I have watched several talent shows like the X factor, and I do not think I would be wrong in saying,that one of the most songs sung is by Whitney Houston. I will always love you. That song has inspired so many people. The bodyguard also showed what an accomplished actress Whitney Houston was.

Every Era has given us incredible black artists, like Josephine Baker ,she symbolised the beauty and vitality of Black American culture,and took Paris by storm in the 1920s. Not only was she an accomplished singer and dancer, but she was part of the French resistance and received military honours. She also adopted twelve children from different ethnic backgrounds. She used that as an example to show how different races could live together. You have wonderful artist like Gertrude Ma Rainey one of the first generation of blues singers. Ethel Waters not only was she an accomplished actress, but she had an incredible range , performing Jazz,blues and swing. Present day we have people like Beyoncé Knowles Carter. One of the best entertainers of all time. She has the most Grammy nominations with a total of 24 Wins.

The pioneers of black music. Have to be the ladies just mentioned ,then we have Billy Holiday. Ella Fitzgerald, Bessie Smith. Sarah Vaughan and Mamie Smith who was the first black artist to make a blues recording.She sold a million copies In Under a year. It was due to her success that opened up the door for other black female singers to record.

Dinah Washington was the most popular singer in the 1950s. Like most black singers,they started out as a gospel singer. We have had these ladies down the years to look up too. To see them overcome their struggles, especially in the earlier years with so much ignorance and discrimination. Their determination to never give up. To believe in themselves, and go for it .To live their dream.

Eunice Kathleen Waymon, better known as Nina Simone. A classical singer said she spent years pursuing excellence , because that was what classical music was all about. She dedicated her life to freedom.Fighting against injustice,she was an active civil rights activists. Sadly no longer with us Having died at her home in France. Great examples. All of these woman have left legacies,imprinted their names on our minds and our hearts having left their print.

The End

history
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.