Beat logo

Name That Tune...

Despite the fact I can’t carry a tune to save my life!

By Smiles Through All DarknessPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1
Image of myself with my headphones on, as always

”Hello?”, I answer my phone at 3am, it’s my cousin, which is the main reason I answered incase it’s a family crisis. But in reality, I should have guessed, she’s calling from the local bar in our hometown. She’s playing the popular song game, “Name That Tune”, “What’s That Song”, or whatever variation thought of by the clever entertainment staff.

“Liiisssssss, what song is this...,” as she holds the phone up so I can listen. I already know the answer before she slurred out the question!

I reply, “ONE....BY METALLICA”!!!!

I hear her yell my answer and then a crowd cheers & hollers drunken screaming into the phone as I hang up. Yep, sounds like I just won another game. I enjoy the glorification when I’m actually present, however, I can’t help but smile as I fall back asleep!

By Erik Brolin on Unsplash

I was born in the early 80’s, and yes I’m proud of it all, the music, the art, the fashion, and most of all, any movie with Corey Feldman in it!

I remember loving music since I was old enough to stand up in the backseat of my dad’s old car. It was similar to the one that Clarke Griswold drove in National Lampoon’s Vacation. You know that movie where the family goes on a road trip vacation to Wally World! I remember every detail of that movie, yet I struggled to remember one chapter in my geography textbook in grade 10. Go figure.

Above chart explains my selective memory

I can’t even count the times that an old friend or my younger brother have called me with one line from a song lyric, or even a few words from a lyric, asking me what song that is. Mainly because it’s a good song and they want to buy the cassette tape or CD, or in later years buy it on iTunes, or Spotify.

A couple examples that come to mind. Someone asking me what song this was, when they could only remember one word from chorus,

“Frustrated.....,—————-“. It comes to me immediately, the song is called “Misery” by Soul Asylum. This missing word is “incorporated”. Another example I remember is my girlfriend saying she remembered this one line,

“...and some people called her clarice, some called him the gangster of love..”. For obvious reasons to myself, and anyone else already guessing, it’s actually “Maurice” not “Clarice” and the song is, “The Joker” by The Steve Miller Band.

Useless information? To me I often have thought, “how many song lyrics are taking up space in my brain that could be used for something more important?”. But as you get older, you realize music, as any art form, can act in a very therapeutic way.

I think most of us have numerous playlists in our heads, for those days of sadness, happiness, motivational (workouts, running, or just a morning wakeup routine), or even a funeral playlist. Now some may look at this morbidly, however, anytime I have explained this idea to people, they have done the same. If something were to happen, wouldn’t you want to be the DJ at your own funeral? Or nowadays, lots of people rather refer to it as A Celebration of Life, therefore, why not personally choose the songs so they aren’t all “Mama I’m Comin Home” by Ozzy Ozbourne or “Hallelujah” by Leonard Cohen (both beautiful songs, don’t get me wrong, but maybe they aren’t exactly for you!).

For inquiring minds, here’s mine,

••••••••••Celebrate My Life with My•••••••• ••••••••••Favourite Songs of Inspiration••••

1) Landslide- Stevie Nicks

2) Take it Easy- The Eagles

3) Glycerine-BushX

4) Someday- Glass Tiger

5) Name- Goo Goo Dolls

6) Forever Young-Rod Stewart

7) I’ll Stand by You- The Pretenders

8) Breathe- Ryan Star

9) More Than Words- Extreme

10) Home- Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeroes

11) Fishin in the Dark- Nitty Gritty Dirt Band

12) Juicy- Notorious BIG

13) Just Breathe- Pearl Jam

By Jamie Street on Unsplash

Each of those songs have significant meaning to a time or person in my life. Which is explained in detail in my journal, however, I figured just sharing that playlist alone was very vulnerable of me. In a good way, perhaps in an inspiring way!

That’s what music does. Music is the soundtrack to your life. It’s what’s playing in the background of each memory, whether it during those dark times or brightest moments. Music is always there, like a friend when in need. I’m not embarrassed of liking a specific genre, let alone a certain song. It’s not like when I was younger and ashamed when a boyfriend would find a Wilson Philips songs on a mix tape of my favourite jams on it....I blare every song at the same volume, believing that if you’re in touch with yourself, your emotional well-being, and at peace within, then you will play each song with pride. Why? Because sometimes your life is about you! I don’t believe that’s thinking selfish, I think it’s being self-less!

What a beautifully poetic article this has turned out to be. I thought being able to pull a random song out of my head was just a party trick. In fact, not only will I take pride in this. But maybe this happens to be my Superhero power! Being able to give others the gift of knowing what song they are trying to find, so they too can use it to find inner peace within themselves. Imagine that. What a glorious thought!

By Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

list
1

About the Creator

Smiles Through All Darkness

A nurse, artist, & Crohn’s fighter for half my life. I strive to be a better human than yesterday! I can find the silver-lining in any situation!

https://vocal.media/poets/millionaires-billionaires-trillionaires

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.