Beat logo

My Top Ten 80's Songs Playlist

Collection One: Top Performers

By DaphsamPublished 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 3 min read
8
My Top Ten 80's Songs Playlist
Photo by Emily Bernal on Unsplash

Some great songs from when I was a teenager in the 80s have stuck with me through the years. If you enjoy listening to the oldies, consider adding some of these to your classic playlist. I promise they'll get you out of your chair bopping around in no time.

"If You Leave" by OMD

This 1986 breakout song from the trendy teen movie Pretty In Pink makes you want to sing along. A Billboard Hot 100 classic, it has always had me flashing back to Molly Ringwald, Andrew McCarthy, and James Spader being the brat pack.

"Just Like Heaven" ( 2006 remaster) by The Cure

A 1986 classic, this wonderful electronic rock song is another spontaneous dance song. It is still featured in recent movies. I re-acquainted with it when I saw the movie "Happiness For Beginners" on Netflix.

"It Must Have Been Love" by Roxette

This romantic, soulful love song encompasses all aspects of a relationship. The dramatic piano in the song adds to the powerful and dramatic melody, which will have you looking up the lyrics so you can sing along. This song was featured in the classic movie "Pretty Woman" with Julia Roberts and Richard Gere.

"Wicked Game" by Chris Isaac

It's a one-hit wonder. I have been waiting to hear something great from Chris since then, but this song is as smooth as fine whiskey. Chris Isaac's deep voice gives the song the perfect blend of beat, drama, and melchoney. I particularly enjoyed the guitar playing because it was sensational and added to the dramatic tones of the song.

"Every Breath You Take" by The Police

Well, what can I say? It's Sting. This 1983 love song will live on forever. It is a classic song that has you dancing right along. One of the Police's most famous songs, it won the Grammy Award for Song of the Year in 1984. The blend of rock and new wave contributes to its timeless quality.

"Everybody Wants To Rule The World" by Tears For Fears

This rock song is about humans wanting more power and control. We haven't changed much since 1985. honestly, this should just stay the theme song for the world, but it's a great song with a lot of electric guitar and great to rock out with.

"I'm On Fire" by Bruce Springsteen

This 1985 beat is so hauntingly beautiful. The reflective tones with Bruce's seductive voice singing along with the acoustic guitar is a thought-provoking song.

"She Drives Me Crazy" by Fine Young Cannibals

It's time to jump by your chair and make room to dance to this upbeat, dramatic, upbeat song. I love clapping along with the beats of the rhythm and singing, "She drives me crazy, but I can't help myself." This is a song that my husband thinks should be his theme song, lol.

"Live To Tell" by Madonna

A classic dramatic Madonna song where she gets to the heart of things. I remember listening to Madonna and this song while walking home from school daily. This song was the beginning of Madonna's more dramatic and thought-provoking songs.

"Don't You Forget About Me" by Simple Minds

This 1985 rock song was another popular hit from the teen movie The Breakfast Club. It was on the Billboard Hot 100 for its 1980s pop-rock song. This is a classic song that has a great beat and lyrics.

I hope that some of my suggestions land on your playlist. A great group of singers sings soulfully about how life is and how to cope with its ups and downs. The soft rock to pop instruments in this playlist are great songs for those moments when you want to escape to the 80s and dance.

new wavesynthrocklistinstrumentselectronicadanceCONTENT WARNINGalt rock80s music
8

About the Creator

Daphsam

Loving Wife, Mom, Dog Mom- A Dyslexic dreamer who never thought I could read or write. But life changed, and I conquered my fears. I am an artist, photographer, wordsmith and illustrator. Looking to weave stories and poems with my artwork.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer3 months ago

    If I'm honest, I only came here to be indignant that you hadn't included Everybody Wants To Rule The World.... but you did! That made me disproportionately happy!

  • Caroline Craven3 months ago

    Some epic songs on this! Takes me back - I grew up on these! Still love OMD - they're good to run to!

  • Heather Hubler3 months ago

    Love this list!! I grew up to all of these songs too and still listen to them today. I have the 80's channel on satellite in my car :) Thank you for putting this together, it brought me so much joy today!

  • Many great songs!!! I especially love TFF and Springsteen.

  • Tiffany Gordon 3 months ago

    This playlist is so fun! I especially love the last song.

  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    Good playlist. I think there's only one here I'm not familiar with.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.