Beat logo

My Top Five Favorite Bands

Music Can Save People

By Thomas FletcherPublished 2 years ago 7 min read
2
My Top Five Favorite Bands
Photo by Gabriel Barletta on Unsplash

Music has always been important to me and has helped me get through and handle a lot of things throughout my life. I love a lot of different genres of music like rock, hip-hop, R&B, EDM, and Jazz. Then I do like some country music, but I only like a small amount of country music. Then I also like music like synthwave music. All of this music has helped me handle and get through a lot of things throughout my life, and I will talk about my top five favorite bands.

Starset Wallpaper. Source: WallpaperAccess

1. Starset

Starset is my favorite band in the world, I first heard their song "My Demons" In 2016 but I didn't get more into them until late 2019. I love the unique sound their music have and how a lot of it has like a space theme and feel to the songs. They also have a story to go along with their music where they are basically telling a story through their music. My favorite album by them is "Vessels", I think that album is really good and feels complete and like the songs on it flow into each other really well. Some of my favorite songs by Starset are "Telepathic", "Down With The Fallen", "Symbiotic", "Echo", and "Starlight" . Starset is always my first option to go to when it comes to music whenever I listen to music to get away from things going on in life.

Bring Me The Horizon That's The Spirit Logo. Source: WallpaperDog

2. Bring Me The Horizon

Bring Me The Horizon is my second favorite band, I've been listening to them for seven years now. One of my friends introduced me to them, and I'm glad that they did because I have loved their music ever since. I'm not too big of a fan of their early stuff, It just mostly isn't my type of music but there's some songs from their early stuff that I really like. My favorite album by them is "Sempiternal" with my favorite song by them being "Sleepwalking" which is off that album. Other songs I like a lot by them are "Throne", "Can You Feel My Heart", "Sugar Honey Ice and Tea", "Heavy Metal", and "Teardrops". I probably listen to Bring Me The Horizon and Starset the most when it comes to bands I listen to along with another band later on this list.

Linkin Park Logo. Source: WallpaperAccess

3. Linkin Park

Linkin Park will always have a special place for me, I've listened to their music for my entire life. So when Chester Bennington passed, it was difficult to listen to Linkin Park's music for awhile especially certain songs. I used to not understand how a celebrity or artist passing could affect people so much to like where it seems like they knew the person until Chester's passing then it made a lot more sense to me. Linkin Park's music really helped me deal with some really tough situations in life and get through some not so great friendships. It would be too hard for me to pick a favorite album by them because I like "Meteora" and "Hybrid Theory" the same amount and I also really like some of their later albums too. And I don't know if I exactly have a favorite song by them but songs I would suggest are "Breaking The Habit", "Battle Symphony", "One More Light", "Burn It Down", and "Waiting For The End". And I would also suggest to listen to Mike Shinoda's music, who is the rapper in Linkin Park's music.

Twenty One Pilots Logo. Source: Wallpaper Cave

4. Twenty One Pilots

Twenty One Pilots is my fourth favorite band, and they're the other band that I probably listen to the most along with Bring Me The Horizon and Starset but I couldn't put Linkin Park any lower than number three because Linkin Park means too much to me. I was introduced to Twenty One Pilots by someone that used to be my friend, and I have also been listening to their music for seven years now. I really liked how unique their music sounded when I first started listening to them with how they used synths and stuff like that, then a lot of bands started trying that but I don't think as well as Twenty One Pilots did in their music. My favorite album by Twenty One Pilots is "Vessel" and my favorite song by them is "Polarize". I love all of their albums except for their self titled album, I just don't like how their self titled album sounds and I can't get into the album but there is a couple songs I like off of it like "Oh Ms Believer" and "Friend, Please". My Favorite songs by them are "Polarize", "Screen", "Redecorate", "Morph" and "Doubt".

I Prevail Trauma Album Cover. Source: WallpaperAccess

5. I Prevail

I stumbled upon I Prevail's music a couple years ago and instantly fell in love with it. I love the way they mix soft and heavy vocals, it makes their music sound really unique and not something I've really heard since like Linkin Park's "Meteora" and "Hybrid Theory" albums. I Prevail only have three albums and an EP so far and all four of them are pretty good, my favorite album by them is easily their album "Trauma" though. My favorite songs by them are "Breaking Down", "Paranoid", "Worst Part Of Me", "Lifelines", and "Deep End". I really suggest to listen to their music, because their music is really good especially their album "Trauma".

Rock Music Wallpaper. Source: WallpaperAccess

Honorable Mentions

Here I will talk about some bands that I like a lot but just aren't in my top five favorites as of currently. First band I would like to talk about here is Paramore. I really like a lot of Paramore's music and I've listened to their music for fourteen or fifteen years now, I really like their songs "Hard Times", "Ain't It Fun", "Still Into You", "That's What You Get" and "Ignorance", and Paramore's "After Laughter" album is amazing and probably my favorite by them but I don't really like their recent song called "This Is Why". Next is YellowCard, they used to be my favorite band but they split up like six years ago and other bands have overtaken them since although they have recently reunited as a band. My favorite album by them is "Paper Walls" and that album has a lot of my favorite songs by them like "Dear Bobbie", "You and Me and One Spotlight", and "Paper Walls". A couple other of my favorites by them are "A Vicious Kind" and "The Hurt Is Gone". Their music is still pretty good to listen to, they've just fallen out of my top five favorite bands. Next is Breaking Benjamin, I really like Breaking Benjamin's music whenever I've listened to them. Their "Dear Agony" and "Aurora" albums are Amazing, and my favorite songs by them are "So Cold", "Dear Agony", "Until The End", "Breath", and "Failure". Their Aurora album is mostly made of reworked version of some of their already released songs with one new song added to the album and they all sound really good. And also their song "Blow Me Away" was included in the video game "Halo 2" which is one of my favorite video game franchises. Next up for who I want to talk about is the band Sleeping With Sirens, I like this band a lot but I still need to get more into their music, but any song I've listened to by them so far I've liked a lot. My favorite songs by them so far would probably be "Roger Rabbit", "Legends", "Leave It All Behind", "If You Can't Hang" and "Talking To Myself", I always plan on listening to more of their music but then I just end up forgetting to. The final band I want to talk about for the honorable mentions is a band called Palisades, I don't remember exactly when I first heard this band but I know that the first song I heard by them is "Let Down". Their music is really good but their lead singer recently changed on their most recent album, I still think their music has an unique sound to it even with them changing lead singers. My favorite songs by Palisades are probably "Better Chemicals", "Fragile Bones", "Ghost", "Fade", and "My Consequences". Palisades is a band I think more people should give a chance if they haven't given them a chance already.

Conclusion

This is a list of my top five favorite bands along with five bands I put as honorable mentions. Starset, Bring Me The Horizon, Linkin Park, Twenty One Pilots, and I Prevail are my top five favorite bands currently and bands that have a lot of meaning to me. The bands I talked about in the honorable mentions sections are Paramore, Yellowcard, Breaking Benjamin, Sleeping With Sirens, and Palisades, bands that I care about but aren't necessarily bands I can put in my top five favorites or even arrange to make a top ten favorite bands list for different reasons. Three bands from the ones I talked about that I think more people should give a chance if they haven't already given them a chance are Starset, I Prevail and Palisades. I'll possibly make a top ten songs list for some of these bands sometime in the future as long as I can decide on a top ten songs for some of these bands. This was a list of my top five favorite bands along with some honroable mentions.

bands
2

About the Creator

Thomas Fletcher

I like writing short stories, poetry, and probably eventually novels too. I enjoy reading those types of writings as well. I also enjoy listening to music, playing video games, and playing and watching basketball.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.