Gamers logo

My Favorite Pokemon

My favorite Pokemon From the World of Pokemon.

By Thomas FletcherPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
2
My Favorite Pokemon
Photo by Bahnijit Barman on Unsplash

Pokemon has always been a big part of my life since as long as I can remember even with me going awhile without really following it during my middle school years and the first couple years of high school. Pokemon was still easy for me to get back into when I started getting back into it even though I didn't really like the Black and White Pokemon anime and it never got too complicated like the Yu-Gi-Oh series ended up getting, which I still like Yu-Gi-Oh but the card game is very complicated now. Anyways, this is going to be about my favorite Pokemon.

Piplup. Source: WallpaperAccess Piplup

1. Piplup

Piplup has been my favorite Pokemon in the entirety of Pokemon since I first saw Piplup when the Diamond and Pearl anime series came out. What made Piplup my absolute favorite Pokemon is Dawn's Piplup in the anime and also penguins being my favorite animal. I loved how sassy Dawn's Piplup's was and it's attitude in the anime, it was one of my favorite parts from that part of the Pokemon series and it probably helped that my favorite animal are penguins which Piplup's evolution line are the only penguins in Pokemon. Whenever I've played the Diamond and Pearl games I've always chose Piplup as my starter and I will probably always chose piplup as my starter Pokemon in that series. Piplup will probably always be my absolute favorite Pokemon from the series.

Absol. Source: WallpaperAccess

2. Absol

Absol is my second favorite Pokemon from the pokemon series. I think it has one of the coolest designs and this picture is my favorite picture of Absol. I didn't know about Absol until watching a Pokemon Emerald let's play by one of my favorite YouTubers where he used Absol on his team. Ever since seeing Absol in that let's play it became one of my favorite Pokemon, Absol can be challenging to use on your Pokemon team in the games since Absol's a pure dark type but Absol can also be very effective if you know how to use Absol right. Absol is known as the disaster Pokemon and according to the Pokedex entry Absol appears before people to warn them of impending disasters.

Eevee's Evolution Line. Soure: WallpaperDog

3. Eevee

Eevee is one of the best Pokemon in the entire series in my opinion. Eevee is always adorable in the anime and is fun to use in the games. Eevee being able to evolve into eight different Pokemon at this point, hopefully more evolutions come in the future, makes Eevee one of the most versatile Pokemon to use. Eevee can evolve into Jolteon, Vaporeon, Flareon, Espeon, Umbreon, Glaceon, Leafeon, or Sylveon which types are electric, water, fire, psychic, dark, ice, grass, and fairy respectively. I personally prefer Espeon, Vaporeon, Jolteon and Umbreon. Eevee gives you so many options and when you're using Eevee on your team it really opens up so many different directions you can chose to go with your team.

Gengar. Source: WallpaperDog

4. Gengar

One of the best ghost type Pokemon, Gengar. Gengar has always been one of my favorite Pokemon, in the anime Gengar is shown to basically be a prankster, he likes to goof around and play tricks on people. Gengar has a very cool design as do Gengar's previous evolutions Haunter and Gastly. Gengar is a powerful ghost type and fits very well on any Pokemon team, if you are able to acquire Gengar that is. In most of the Pokemon games the only way to get Gengar is through trading, either trading directly for him or trading for one his of previous evolutions because Haunter can't evolve into Genger unless you got Gastly or Haunter through a trade. In Pokemon X and Y, Gengar was one of my favorite team members because he has a mega evolution and he's already pretty good without the mega evolution. Gengar is a really good and fun Pokemon to have on your team in the games, and he is also a great character in the anime.

Luxray. Source: WallpaperAcess

5. Luxray

Luxray is one of my favorite electric type Pokemon. I much prefer the Shinx evolution line over Pikachu and Raichu, even though I still like those two as well. Luxray for me is another case where I think the design is really cool and I think Luxray is fun to use as on my team. the Shinx evolution line is another Pokemon I didn't know about until I played Pokemon Platinum, and I love choosing Piplup as my starter then catching Shinx as my second Pokemon because of shinx being an electric type. Based on the design you would thin that shinx would be an electric and dark type but shinx is a pure electric type. Shinx would honestly be better if Shinx was electric and dark or if it gained the dark typing through it's evolution line but unfortunately Luxio and Luxray stay as pure electric types. But I still do really like Shinx and I would recommend you to use Shinx on your team since electric type always seem to be limited on it's choices in the games.

Honorable Mentions

Gen one starters. Source: PNGitem

Generation one starters

The generation one Pokemon starters will always hold a special place in my heart. I grew up with Pokemon so these are some of the first Pokemon I ever knew about. I loved all three of them as a kid, I love squirtle and the squirtle squad from the anime, Bulbasaur was my favorite Pokemon when I was younger and before Piplup existed and Charmander is really cool and evolves into Charizard, which is one of the most powerful Pokemon that exists. And it will always bother me that Charizard is not a dragon type. All three of these Pokemon are really good choice to chose in the Generation one or Kanto games, just choosing Charmander makes the beginning of the game a bit harder, and choosing Bulbasaur makes the later stages of the game a bit more difficult, and choosing squirtle makes the middle of the game a bit challenging but makes the later stage easier.

Arcanine. Source: WallpaperAccess

Arcanine

Arcanine is really cool. Arcanine is one of the best fire type Pokemon, Arcanine has really good attack and Arcanine's flash fire ability comes in handy whenever you're up against another fire type including legendary fire types because then fire type moves have no effect. Arcanine is really fast so having Arcanine on your team means you will usually go first in battle when you have Arcanine out. And also Arcanine is really cool in the anime, Arcanine is a really good fit on any team that needs a fire type Pokemon in the games and is just a really good Pokemon all around.

Fennekin, Braxien, and Delphox. Source: Wallpaper Cave

Delphox

The Fennekin evolution line is one of my favorite starters in any of the Pokemon Generations. And I honestly prefer Delphox over Greninja, that might be a bit biased and I still like Greninja but I just genuinely like Delphox more. When I first played Pokemon X and Y, I picked Fennekin as my starter, and when it ended up evolving into Delphox I ended up really liking Delphox. Delphox's Fire and Psychic typing is really good and is just really powerful, Delphox carried the team through most of the game. Delphox gets really good moves while leveling up and I honestly think Delphox is really underrated just because of how popular greninja is. Greninja is a really good Pokemon too, so I'd say both Fennekin and Froakie are good choices to start with in Pokemon X and Y.

This was a list of my favorite Pokemon from the Pokemon series, I didn't put any legendaries in here because I may save that for another post since I do have favorite legendary Pokemon as well. I might make another post of more of my favorite Pokemon in the future since there's always more Pokemon being introduced or I just haven't seen much of certain Pokemon or used certain Pokemon yet so my favorites could always end up changing or I could end up having more favoite Pokemon, But Piplup, Absol, and Eevee will always be in my top five favorite Pokemon. And I might make a post in the future about Pokemon that I think are underrated.

nintendo
2

About the Creator

Thomas Fletcher

I like writing short stories, poetry, and probably eventually novels too. I enjoy reading those types of writings as well. I also enjoy listening to music, playing video games, and playing and watching basketball.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • helen yakulabout a year ago

    A sky of my childhood is always there with https://dynamonsworld.com/ I miss

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.