Beat logo

My Spotify 2020 Wrapped | Atlas

2020 is almost over and its been, well, a heck of a year... But Spotify Wrapped has come around once again to lighten the mood so let's review my results!

By People! Just say Something!Published 3 years ago 11 min read
Top Story - December 2020
14

To think that Spotify Wrapped is four years old already! It has become the perfect way to let everyone know what we have been listening to without seeming like a brag! Whether it comes as a surprise or it was pretty obvious, the Spotify Wrapped is a great insight into our listening habits and how much we rely on music to get us through the year, not only this but it also shows us how our tastes evolve, adapting to our state of mind.

A person’s Spotify Wrapped can encompass their personality and let others know whether they would vibe with them as a friend, partner, or even as an enemy! Would you really want to be seeing someone whose top artist was Chris Brown? Seriously, this could be the best personality indicator since Myers & Briggs’ 16 Personality types!

People Just Say Something’s other writer, David, has already written his own review of his personal Spotify 2020 Wrapped and revealed the reasoning behind his most listened to songs and artists. Our reasoning behind writing our reviews is to show whether we expected this, whether we agree, and whether anything surprised us! So now it’s my turn to reveal my own 2020 Wrapped review!

Discovering 604 new artists this year

Considering I listen to the ‘Made for You’ playlists for the purpose of finding new artists, this somehow does not surprise me! I have always loved the way that Spotify takes your listening habits, analyses them, and throws together a multitude of playlists based on your tastes! It is one of the nest ways to find new artists, aside from suggestions from other people. Though, when someone tells me to listen to their favorite band or artist, something inside me decides not to! Perhaps it’s because I don’t want to be influenced by other people’s opinions, because I don’t want to listen to their favorite music in fear that I might not like it, or maybe it’s an example or narcissistic behavior, who knows! But whatever the psychology behind my mentality may be, I know that I prefer to discover music for myself, and the ‘Discover Weekly,’ ‘Release Radar’ and the ‘Daily Mixes’ playlists are a great way to expand your music library!

How many genres?!

Again, I’m not surprised because of how often I jump between Spotify’s personalized playlists. What did surprise me is the fact that so many different genres exist! After some quick research, I found that it is pretty difficult to pinpoint how many genres there actually are on Spotify, though it’s definitely over 1,400! They range from the standard: Classical, Pop, Rock, Hip-Hop, etc. To the downright bizarrely specific like: Pixie, Melodic Metalcore, Vegan Straight Edge, and Solipsynthm.

Top 5 Genres

Now this was a surprise! I had been expecting the standard genres from myself like Pop and Rock, but these top 5 genres made sense after thinking about to the variety of new music I have discovered over the last year. Now, it is difficult to find out which songs belong to which genre; however, I found a way to access the genres that each song comes under by using ‘Spotify: Organize Your Music.’ An extension that allows you to view the variety of genres in chosen your playlists. Not only does it show you the different genres, but it also categorizes them into Moods, Styles, Popularity, and more! I was amazed to find that Spotify applies multiple genres to each song if they overlap which explains a great deal more about how Spotify had classified my Top 5 Genres.

#1 Modern Rock was less surprising since I have a wide range of different artists/bands in my playlists, but I only one or two of their songs saved, it is rare for me to save an entire album to my playlists! Though I found using the 'Organize Your Music' extension that the majority of songs I listen to have a ‘top genre’ of modern rock, meaning that there also come under other forms of rock like alternative rock, garage rock, or indie rock! Some examples of multi genre artists include Muse, Imagine Dragons, AJR, The Killers, Artic Monkeys, Royal Blood and Alt-J.

#2 Pop is understandably second in my top 5 genres simply because I KNOW how much I love music by artists like Ariana Grande, Allie X, Hippo Campus, and Billie Eilish. The most likely reason behind this being my second most listened to genre is because I have a higher number of Allie X, Hippo Campus, and Billie Eilish songs from a range of their albums than other artists in my playlists. The majority are actually Pop subgenres like indie pop, electropop, and art pop which makes sense as I would not necessarily class any of these artists as mainstream pop artists.

#3 Neo-classical was particularly interesting since I tend to listen to artists like Ludovico Einaudi and Yiruma, both Neo-classical pianists, when writing since I find it difficult to concentrate on reading and writing when there are words being sung into my ears! I especially spent a great deal of my time during the UK’s first lockdown writing fiction and researching complex information.

#4 K-Pop was something I was not expecting to see on my top 5 genre list since I had only gotten back into it two months ago! I guess this just shows how much I had listened to it in such a short period of time for it to break into my top genres! Though, what I do find interesting is the fact that I have only listened to BTS and one Lady Gaga song where BLACKPINK featured!

#5 Vapor Soul was definitely a surprise because I had never even heard of it before seeing it on my top 5 genres! Apparently, this is a subgenre of dance which only a few artists in my playlist come under: Foreign Air, Allie X (again), ANIMA! and Tim Atlas. Although they are amongst my favorite artists so its no wonder this genre would be in my top 5!

My Top Song of 2020

This was surprisingly no surprise since I absolutely love Crime of Passion! I had come across this song in my Discover Weekly, and was immediately hooked on it! For a while it I had it on repeat amongst other certain songs like Metamodernity by Vansire, Loving is Easy by Rex Orange County, and Eleanor by Flipturn. I must have a thing for indie boys’ hypnotic voices! But thinking back on it, what really drew me to this artist was the fact that he and I shared a name.

I guess the reason this song had become my number one played song of 2020 had to be because of how it resonated with a fictional character I had created for a story I was writing. Each time I listened to it, it would motivate me to write more and advance my plot further.

First Stream

June 20, 2020 was around the time I started planning and writing my novel. This song heavily influenced the personality of the character I still associate it with now!

Most Streams

July 26, 2020. I must have had this song on repeat the whole day because I still listen to it very regularly!

100th Stream

November 4, 2020. I was surprised to see that I had reached only 100 steams of this song in early November, but looking back at the last three months I spent a lot less time listening to a great deal less of my time listening to Tim Atlas as I continued to find new music.

Total Streams

101 as of Spotify 2020 Wrapped release date, December 1, 2020. It is surprising to see that I only listened to this song twice in November! It just shows how quickly my interests in music moves on, but when I first saw my Spotify 2020 Wrapped it rekindled my love for Tim Atlas and Crime of Passion!

Top 5 Songs of 2020

#1 Crime of Passion by Tim Atlas was no longer a surprise as it had been made clear that this was my most listened to song of 2020!

#2 Think About Things by Dadi Freyr however definitely took me by surprise but I quickly remembered that I had first heard it when it had been announced he had won Eurovision! It had been one of the few Eurovision winners that I had actually enjoyed listening to! In fact, a great deal of Eurovision 2020 songs were proper bops like All of my Love by Destiny and Move by The Mamas.

#3 Dissolve by Absofacto was probably one of the first songs on my playlist I found through TikTok! I was not expecting to see it in my top 5 songs of 2020 though it is another example or soft men’s hypnotic voices that just reels me in! I have yet to explore any more of their music though if it’s anything like Dissolve then I’m sure I’ll love it.

#4 Eleanor by Flipturn was actually one that I predicted to be in my top 5 since I have listened to it so often since discovering it on my Discover Weekly. Even though it’s another indie pop sort of tune, the lyrics were just so intriguing to me that I just had to keep playing it!

#5 See Ya by Masaki Kawasaki, this was the biggest surprise to see on my top 5 since I believed that there must have been other songs I had listened to more than this, but I guess not! It is an instrumental piece that falls under such a specific genre: Japanese Piano. It is a rather short piece that is more atmospheric than a bop. Though whenever I listen to it, it brings an overwhelming sense of calm to my busy brain!

Trend Setter

This made me more confused than surprised because I didn’t think that I had that many songs from the 2000s. What confused me further was the fact that ‘Organize Your Music’ tells me that I have more songs from the 2010s in my playlists than I do from the 2000s. What’s going on here Spotify?

Top Artist of 2020

Out of the options I was given, this came as rather obvious to me! Hippo Campus has been my top artist for the last two years! I first discovered them when I was at Leeds Festival and saw them live on the fly! They are one of the few bands that I thoroughly enjoy all of their music! The vast majority of their songs are saved to my playlist and there isn’t a day that goes by which I don’t listen to them!

Favorite Song of Hippo Campus

It was always going to be a toss-up between Suicide Saturday and Bambi! Both songs are in my top 5 Hippo Campus songs (Suicide Saturday/Bambi, Monsoon, Golden, Way it Goes, and Boyish for everyone who didn’t ask.)

Top 5 Artists of 2020

#1 Hippo Campus of course they are my top artist of 2020 since, like I said before, I listen to them every day!

#2 BTS came as a bit of a surprise but I admit I have been listening to them nonstop since Dynamite came out! I had listened to them for a little bit when I was a teenager and they were still growing in fame but lost interest until Dynamite broke down that door and I rediscovered them and the numerous new albums they had released since I had last heard them!

#3 Tim Atlas was obviously going to be in there since I listened to Crime of Passion so much! As well as a few of his other songs, however, it did surprise me that he was only third on my top 5 artists, I guess I must have listened to more songs by BTS in the last two months than I had of Crime of Passion!

#4 Alt-J was one that I had also predicted being in my top 5 since they are also one of my favorite bands! I have more of their songs saved than other artists and find their sound to be unique!

#5 Circa Waves was one that I did not expect to see on my top 5, but they were also a band that I had discovered at Leeds Festival as they played one of the first sets on the mainstage. I thoroughly enjoyed their set and since then I have continued to listen to their music, which Spotify had categorized as ‘English Indie Rock.’

And that’s a ‘Wrap!’

We hope you enjoyed this post! If you want to find out more quirky, informative posts then why not check out our profile!

Follow us on our Social Media so you never miss a post! We upload a new post each day from Monday to Saturday!

Twitter: https://twitter.com/PeopleJSS

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/PeopleJSS

Please consider giving us a small tip to support us and our writing! It helps us out a lot and keeps us working hard to provide you with daily posts and develop more projects for the future!

Thank you, and until next time!

- Atlas

list
14

About the Creator

People! Just say Something!

Quirky Writing created by Artistic Creativity and the power of AI with the goal of learning something new every day!

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/PeopleJSS

Twitter: https://twitter.com/PeopleJSS

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.