Beat logo

My Spotify 2020 Wrapped! | David

Every year Spotify releases a Spotify Wrapped reflecting on your favourite artists, genres and songs. I have decided to share mine with you today! Here is my Spotify 2020 Wrapped review!

By People! Just say Something!Published 3 years ago 9 min read
2

It is that time of the year! That awkward period of time between Halloween and Christmas which we all do not really know what to do with. It is way too early to begin any new commitments, that’s what New Year is for! Lucky for us, Spotify has provided us with our annual Wrap up! Our top songs, artists and genres all wrapped up in one playlist to show us how many times we listened to those guilty pleasure songs that nobody knows about, you know what song I’m talking about.

I have therefore decided to share with all of you my Spotify 2020 Wrapped! Stay tuned as Atlas (The other writer at People! Just Say Something) will also do a review on her own Spotify 2020 Wrapped.

The curtain has been called and there is no hiding. I lay bare for your judgement and if I am honest, there is not much really to judge. However, I will say that I was not expecting some results from this list. Without further delay, here is my Spotify 2020 Wrapped!

I Discovered 280 new artists this year!

I am amazed that I found 280 new artists this year when it actually felt like I revisited previous artists that I lost interest in the fall and suddenly found a new love for their music. I wish that Spotify provided a feature for me to see all of these 280 new artists as I am prone to add and delete artists as I find and lose interest in them. In 2021 I am making it my mission to beat this number and hopefully hit 300 and over. The feature I have been neglecting has been Spotify discover, as when I do try and discover new artists, what is given to me has not been overly great. On the other hand, that should not be an excuse not to continue as over time I am sure to find that one artist that will blow me away and make me spend all my money on Merch and gig tickets. I will make sure that I listen to every weekly discover next year, all 52!

I listened to 270 genres, including 83 new ones!

How many genres are there?! This is crazy to me. Again, what genres are these? Will we ever find out? Probably not because who has the time to write a 270-long list of genres. It is amazing to know that there are so many different sounds and variation in the music world but surely 270 is pushing it. This is something I would love to find out more so if you know anything regarding music and how this is possible, let me know on Twitter or Facebook! (Links at the end of the post!)

Top Genres

It’s nice that Spotify decides to show us my top 5 genres. I remember when I was younger, I was really into Heavy Metal and Classical Rock… what happened to me. Modern Rock is understandable, I love Modern Rock which I guess covers Indie as I feel that is the most listened too genre. Maybe I am wrong, and Spotify knows me better than I know myself. I have to admit that I have been listening to cringy pop songs here and there to boost my morale. You have to admit that Pop songs are catchy and do give you a bop when you walk down the street. EDM, no brainer, I loooove a rave and a good beat so I’m happy with EDM any day of the week. I guess that UK Dance is somewhat similar to EDM with maybe a little Grime? Or maybe its old school UK beats? Spice Girls? I need more information Spotify! Finally, Rock clings onto the 5th place which kind of makes me sad, but also does not surprise me (sorry). I have not found any good Rock bands recently and I have noticed that my taste in music has changed drastically. I guess we all grow up in our own ways.

My Top song of 2020

This is absolutely crazy. Firstly, I am not into K-Pop at all. Yes, I do LOVE this song but to make it my Top Song of 2020 is incredible. I remember my partner trying to get me to listen to K-Pop, and BTS in particular, which I resisted for a very long time. I kept strong until I heard the new Samsung advert with Dynamite as the video track. Since then, there was no coming back. I guess that during the pandemic I have been searching for songs to lift my mood when things got hard, and Dynamite has successfully done this multiple times. If I am being completely honest, I have to admit that I am listening to Dynamite AS I AM WRITING THIS. Yep… I’ve got the K-Pop fever…

The Story with Dynamite:

Spotify is about to shame me with how quickly I fell for BTS... god help me.

First Stream

This isn't even that long ago. I know that BTS have been around for quite some time now but Dynamite is pretty new. It has that Americanised sound and alongside their music video which is VERY American (I mean, they do Michael Jackson moves outside a doughnut shop... Come on!)

Most Streams

Well, that was quick! I wonder how many times I listened to Dynamite on that day. I remember that I had to do some errands outside which I probably was listening to BTS on repeat. I am not even sorry, this song is perfect for travel. it gives you energy and gives your walk some swagger.

50th Stream

And the 50th stream happens to be a week after I started listening to the song! That is a minimum of 7 listens per day which I assure you was unevenly balanced in the week. I remember some days I had lots of work to do so I didn't listen to Dynamite much while on others it was on nonstop repeat. I try to not listen to too much music when I work, instead, I prefer TEDTalks or some documentary, it keeps my brain active. Also, I sometimes type what the song lyric is, so I get annoyed.

Total Streams

86 streams in a month and a half... yeah, I need to find new songs to listen to. I should be bored of the song by now, but I am far from it! As long as I need a pick me up, Dynamite will always be my first choice.

Top Songs of 2020

What is interesting about this list is 2# and 4# is the same song but one is with Becky Hill (female vocals) and the other is the original. If the two were combined they might have taken the 1# spot from BTS. Blossoms are an all-time favourite of mine so seeing them in the list gives me hope that next year I can be more Indie than what I was this year as 5# is a classic Summer Pop song that cheers me up and makes me want a margarita on the beach.

Trendsetter

Fashion Blogger came into my life after watching endless episodes of RuPaul's Drag Race. I saw that Milk, a Drag Queen from Season 6, was in a music video for Fashion Blogger by Rhyme So. I love the almost disco rhythmic sounds of the song. It isn't the best of songs but I think some of you would like it, so do check it out!

Top Decade of 2020

The 2000s was a good decade for music in my opinion. Artists began experimenting with synth sounds and more contemporary artists emerged from the underground scene. MGMT are amazing artists. Their unique sound is hard to replicate and I can listen to Time to Pretend for hours. I find that the sound has to be equally important to the lyrics, and if the lyrics and the voice of the singer can merge with the sound and instrument, well, I’m sold.

Top Artist of 2020

No shocker there. The 1975 were my top artist last year and with the release of their new album earlier this year, it threw me into another cycle of listening to all their albums. I love their sound, their lyrics, their message and so much more. Despite what I said earlier about the importance of the balance between lyric and sound, The 1975's lyrics trump their already great sound while still blending into one harmonious masterpiece. I cannot praise this band more. Also, it is nice that as I am finishing this paragraph the 'Favourite song' came on. Perfect timing!

Favourite Song of The 1975

An absolute bop. The lyrics have a fine balance of dirt and poetry with the simple melody of the song. It sounds like you've known this song all your life but then right in the middle, the lyrics have a playful pattern that makes me want to get up and dance. I cannot wait till next year when I write the 2021 Wrapped version with The 1975 being my top artist for the 3rd year running.

Top Artists of 2020

This makes me SO happy. All 5 bands deserve to be where they are. Glass Animals, just like The 1975 play around with their sounds in very smart ways. Their songs bounce between slow and melodic to upbeat and optimistic with lyrics that both make sense and confuse you at the same time. Blossoms are just classic. Such a young band but with so much depth and wow, what an original sound. They have quickly established themselves as a top band here in the UK Indie scene. its Headline slots for these boys very soon! I've loved Muse for as long as I remember, and I don't see that changing any time soon. I did feel that their last album was not as good as their others, but it still had some pretty good songs to make up for the drop. Hoping the next album will redeem them to their glory days. Tame Impala, what an artist. I am surprised that Let it happen is not on the top 5 songs because that is my favourite song of 2020 in my books. An absolute genius, both lyrically and instrumentally. If The 1975 are on one end of the spectrum and Glass Animals on the other, Tame Impala is the perfect middle. I cannot wait till I see him live once the pandemic is over.

And that is my 2020 Spotify Wrapped! I hope you enjoyed this dip into my life. I feel that you know me that much more now. Tomorrow Atlas will be doing her own take on her Spotify 2020 Wrapped so stay tuned!

We hope you enjoyed this post! If you want to find out more quirky, informative posts then why not check out our profile!

Follow us on our Social Media so you never miss a post! We upload a new post each day from Monday to Saturday!

Twitter: https://twitter.com/PeopleJSS

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/PeopleJSS

Please consider giving us a small tip to support us and our writing! It helps us out a lot and keeps us working hard to provide you with daily posts and develop more projects for the future!

Thank you, and until next time!

- David

list
2

About the Creator

People! Just say Something!

Quirky Writing created by Artistic Creativity and the power of AI with the goal of learning something new every day!

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/PeopleJSS

Twitter: https://twitter.com/PeopleJSS

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.