Beat logo

My playlist for Life

playlist for life

By DarkosPublished 12 months ago Updated 12 months ago 18 min read
1
digital created with canva 2023

The first person artist musician and the creator of a new sound of the future and new mindset for me or meeting my mindset since I was very young will be Richard David James together with the discovery of his sound that was the most or the best thing that could happen to me in life so even though I dont tend to listen to his tunes that much often anymore I can not start this list without mentioning of Him. It was like finding your lost twin in the crowd of nobody who does carry similar mind to dive in for a while.

It also brings back my best moments of life and memories like the one where I first time went to Uk to Winchester to meet a stranger as of our love to art and music we enjoyed lots of new artists at the Brighton's club very late at night but the main reason I went in there was to actually somehow discover the music out there.

The stranger occurred to be a very weird one and one night I even ended up to hide myself in the Mcdonald for the early breakfast without the sleep at all.

However all the experiences and music I discovered in there were something I would never know if not the risk of a meeting.

Aphex twin sound was always a great connection to meet so many people that really do love his sound and for some years I couldnt even find the same language with another until I knew He or She is aware of discovery of Him.

Growing up of cause I needed to accept and lower that whole music and art level of mine as it turned out that even the person love his sounds the approach to life and a being and even to His sound was coming completely from a different kind of an arrival but it does take me to so many discovery and friendships with some just online with some in real with some even the love relationship.

So the sound can be a start to a very interesting journey with one another. It does change how we perceive the world and life it's just somewhere different than just the reality itself and it is the real of it all.

If we talk about Richard David James I will just go on with another kind of psychodelic sounds even though I can not call any of the artists into labels by writing about some I just need to use a kind of a known ambient language or the way we called it " The shit " - things in the year of 2002 or something more that were more than just awesome - smile is arriving on my face so I need to mention Portishead and it will be Only You.

It does take me to my secondary years again as well as Aphex Twin and nights of ghostly sounds I remember I experienced my first kiss with Portishead sound it might be not so romantic to hear and it was something more than stressful not sure for who hahah as I felt intensely stress of us both but it also wasnt the one that I will remember with excitements rather kind of dissapointment haha maybe I should just stop to recall this memory as its becoming a real paradox. I loved Him during that time but He wasnt the love of my life.

I just cant imagine the secondary school years without Portishead at all its a must to go through the pain, suffering, feeling of loneliness and growing up.

If we are in a Portishead land I will mention Bjork now and the Yoga song

It does have a personal meaning for me that is even more harder to explain with words this song even now takes me back to the same kind of an emotions and feelings as in the past which is something that I found more than unbelievable it is like finding a home inside another work and expression of being woman human and artist in this world and relation to one another. Its like the state where you can truly rest and disconnect from one another still being grounded and synchronized with the whole.

As I am describing the Bjork I will quickly now jump into another artists this time it will be Dead can Dance Yulunga

I cant imagine my Saturdays without the sound of Dead can Dance and being able to digest all the experiences I needed to digest after whole week of staying in the class and whole the events in there people and things that I needed to find the best solution for me to go on and function it was like prolonging my practice of Yoga and still being in there thanks to their sounds and the beauty of the voice was just taking me higher and higher.

I remembered singing it so loudly with a more of a masculine sounds and people around were kind of a in a shock as of my tone I remembered my neighbours complaining about me singing too loud even though their house was a street away from mine.

I finally healed from their words but it took time it can completely block something inside of You even without realizing as they literally forbidden me to express myself as freely as I needed singing is not a harm so nobody should be stopped from freely expressing himself or herself if its healing helping and giving another kind of a sense to a life. Very inspiring and transforming experience for me to listen to them everytime I come back to their sounds. Discovering another land in my mind that is just beautiful to be in for a moment.

Because of the huge inspiration to let also sing with my own voice and possibility and being nineteen I need to mention Zbigniew Preisner composition for The Double Life of Veronique I cant even tell how much of an impact and for how long I was more than just fascinated by the voice of the unique opera singer and singing the song whenever I could together with the movie that seemed for me like the only place to discover in life and to live in.

It was also the time were I listened and had a huge crush on Nigel Kennedy and His life performances nothing to add nothing to say just listen

These times also recall to me a very influencing moment for my art music was always in there it was first music later painting for me so its hard to not to have the real image of these moments as if they were just round the corner waiting for you to be just visited through the sound of knowns like The Cinematic Orchestra that was also a great healing journey for me to live in and experience I have just came back from India and of cause I didnt want to be in Poland and study and I was going through more than just a heartbreak and depression but a complete different change and world that was a real Life for me to go on in and as of the visa ending I was just made to leave all and come back to a place from which I was more than happy to escape so The Cinematic Orchestra both life and in the everyday of my days were something I needed to add to my playlist of life. I not only had a pleasure to attend concerts of them where Patrick Watson were singing and He took us all to his world. I still remember Luke Flowers doing the greatest performances of it all I was really amazed by them in real it was a healing for me to survive such a sudden contrast of living in two different continents.

It happened I get to know one of the members of Cinematic Orchestra more closer and was even asked to do the album cover and however I did so many of them being inspired by the new created sound it wasnt used.

From that experienced I happened to get to know other people film makers and new digital creators that were the same very innovative and even though their great imaginary and creations and feeling the music that even now for some would be still too much of a new vision were simply rejected and work wasnt used for the very on time sounds and bands so I kept on discovering many new lands and sounds without a stop thanks to these all nuances.

Now I dont know where to turn to as there are so many new artists and singers that I would love to share but already realizing that it wont be possible in a one single story and a playlist so lets jump to Moloko sound and the song The time is now which till I listen at least once a month for sure It is like a memory time but also a reminder of an action and also it takes me back to the reality of the now and the things and people that maybe need more of a deeper discovery

I love the video clip so badly that its hard not to watch it over and over again it does take me so much to the time where there was this one pub in my city already closed we were all gathering in there and it was the best time ever for me with sounds and people. I wish such places could last forever because closing them you also close a place for group of people to be able to meet and listen to the same kind of music and dance with it being free and resting from the whole other worlds. Still beautiful memories of being young up to the now heh.

From Moloko I am having a picture and a sound in my head and it is Goldfrapp Utopia a sound and a band from different space it takes me back to each phases of life where I am already in a train and going for vacation or a travel and yes I am again alone healing from a break up or an unhealthy love this time I am already healed from all so its completely different to be in there again haha.

I will now jump to Jeff Buckley Lover You should have come over

His music helped me to recover and heal and feel pretty okey with all of the love break ups that were nor my nor his decision but life and some different power that made us separated after quite long time fighting through all and everybody to be together being young and unable to make it happen while living in a completely different places in the world.

Peter Doherty another artist whose music helped me to heal and recharge from a relation that were giving me more than just a hard time to cope with and it helped me to discover a new approach into my being with the love that I was with during that time. It was Mexico city I was living in a big flat alone with many rooms and I had the best time of my life creating and learning healing and discovering myself from the new

His music and video clips were kind of a my life saver during the moments of separation with the love one and friends as I was located this time far away from all other friends and to meet each other I needed to take a two or even more longer in hours journey. It was giving me a space of reflection giving the outburst to my real emotions whenever they needed to go out for real truly and being expressed. It was also a two months of being less social with others however just to some degree It was Mexico life there you are never alone.

Unless you create such space for yourself to be in for a while.

It wasnt just his music but His being and personality, movies the whole world that I had a moment to dive in for real and for longer that took me on a journey with myself too. Such moments had its time also when I came back to Europe However I could never be in this space completely with myself as I experienced in there so deeply and really alone without other voices or neighbours that may impact your life as it does in Europe.

I am becoming nostalgic again and Youtube put the sound of Portishead - Roads as if to remind me I can always come back to a places where I already crossed a border and had a kind of a good great life.

I need to add The Verve and Bitter Sweet Symphony as that was the song to add to the ones that sound the best while going through the pain of the breaking up and be aware that it will never go back again. There is something about this song that tells it's over there is gonna be a new period of a lifetime for you from the now and then.

I will turn to Squarepusher and Terminal Slam just to get over this nostalgic mind of a past that will never come back beside the mind about it

I was lucky to attend Squarepusher in Rome some years ago not that far ago and It was very new kind of an experience to me. As I alone tend to create sound I received all that day I havent even expected to experience and inspired and being taken into a completely innovative form of thinking through this world really enjoyed it all. Yes and it does also take me back to the time of being just twenty three or so and that small room where I had my best electronic discoveries and dancing parties with it all night long.

It helped me to go on with Academic life and reality that was completely not my kind of a world until now I guess so it is still not haha.

Living in the world of another through music is much better much real and more beautiful journey than ever.

Now I dont know if I want to dive into so many sentimental songs or more into the new kind of sound of different arrival the one that truly takes you for another kind of an escape like Royksopp - What Else is there ? so I still seem to trip in between the past and the more present times.

From the Norwegian duet I will jump straight into the new Belgian - Egyptian singer Tamino Amir and as I couldnt find the link to the song I wanted to share with I will share Habibi. He is one of a kind no words to add more just listen and experience from your own life and love journey.

The song is from His previous album the new one is a completely new state of warmer kind of a love state with a tune of a longing. Everybody will find their own personal experience and feeling to each of His songs I was just moving to a new city and new apartment in Poland when I accidentaly discovered Him. I felt like singing the songs and feeling the soul of my brother twin. I couldnt tell what it was but I was so much in depth to his emotions and the way of expressing that was really giving me a place of a meeting with the side of my more poetic more creative colors in life and of life. It resulted with many of drawings like paintings that I started to paint or draw while listening to Tamino first public album and covers. I just had a time synchronizing quite well with one another world until the time of Covid arrived and His music was even giving me the guidance and the new light and power to go on with the healing practices to help to heal another and even the way of starting and discovering in them more deeper of a world and experience which I must say stayed for quite long with me. Some songs were so strong that I wasnt even able to continue to listen to them that often, taking longer breaks which is good and overwhelming to experience at the same time. So far I have so many new songs to listen to and experience from the new state of mine and entering more adult life. This time will probably come in the Winter which is the best to digest it all but who knows you never know where you gonna be watching the full life concert again and taken by surprise to another layers of the mind you thought you already transformed and healed from. While they may still appear unclear.

It is still hard to believe that She is no longer in here but somehow she does is and so much through Her songs Amy Winehouse You know I'm no Good was the first song that I have been listening from Her. The moment this song was out I was in need of a real Hope and She does brought me it all with the music industry that I was so fed up with these days I remember was looking for at least one singer new who will show me what I am not able to express with words to even myself alone. There She was and I ended up in painting the new series of large scale painting in just two weeks and they were my biggest achievements of all so far still recalling these times mixed with studying and not being able to handle my insider contrast and conflict in between being a painter and the reality that for me was not a reality at all. I also remember when I listen about Her leaving us all and I was just out in Rome visiting some places so happy to take a break and the news just killed me completely I was more than just depressed I couldnt handle it so easily I wasn't able to listen and come back to Her for years until now without sharing a tear. I still had and having moments of a manifest How this world is created that people can watch the upcoming tragedy on stage and nobody does really help or even can help. Maybe nobody of a real human did try for real that is why the only answer I can truly admit to about it all and finally share in here as a real fact.

Shame for this world because showing up some love real love to another in need does not require much. I remembered these years and people and I could start feel the change inside of each of us and the materialistic world taking control over human mind and soul and the worth of one another while some were just living for the Love.

I didnt know which song of Lana del Rey to choose from so I choosed Ride as it the most describe a time of my life where being younger we choose people to enjoy the more adult life while being still so young to learn lessons that will impact a half of our next phases in life. I have just came back from New York city and living in Brooklyn for quite sometime listening to Lana and be back in Europe was the best memory to recall that moments and not to miss it all so deeply almost as if hurting.

For now Her songs means completely different space to me growing older we also tend to experience things from different angle and meanings it is no longer about the same youth, hope and dreams more of sentimental journey through all these years and if that was not the end for my playlist for life and of life for today but as the new things are entirely being created and some are really helping us to heal emotionally and survive if it does will help to anyone in need

I need to mention Chriss Isaak - Wicked Games His entire music journey is and always was a place to stop for a moment and take myself for the emotional healing tune What more to add the video clip and the song not sure what is more needed to experience in some periods of time where we are chased or loving so much but it is undone or forever gone.

This song is so fresh and from the first moment I have seen it and listened to it I knew its gonna be the best Hot summer Hit and I couldnt just helped but feel it and loose myself into it dancing as if I was still so beautiful and young I was recovering from so many pains and it helped me to dance through it all and with some days of it creating practiced being influenced by its beat being in love with someone and later just with myself healing from past and becoming myself from the new again Kylie Minogue - Padam Padam I just cant thank enough for this One and I truly adore Her power and the way She can take me into Her world and just dance without a worry and care of anything else in Life just pure joy health and love and dance. The videoclip the red so simple and so out of this world in it all.

Like the home like the place like the pub you just want to go out and have the best fun with whole in Life whole day and night

I will finish in here for the now maybe with time I will edit this list there are still so many artists I didnt mention but some that were impacting my life and helping me to go through in some great and difficult moments.

Have some joy exploring or coming back to them from the new experiences in life and of life !

playlist
1

About the Creator

Darkos

Human : painter, digital art maker, sound composer, poet, writer, qigong healer & trainer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.