Beat logo

Music is Free Therapy

How the love of one song led to finding purpose and community.

By Faith HoltPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
Faith Holt at Dad's Garage in Murfreesboro, TN. Photo taken by Rachel Ashley.

It feels wild to think it all began as long ago as fifth grade when I heard “Meant to Live” by Switchfoot. Growing up, my dad always said I’d never have a drum set or electric guitar but I found such a love for music through that particular song, he caved. He surprised me one morning with my first guitar. It was an Epiphone stratocaster copy from a pawn shop. I’m pretty sure the amp he bought with it was actually for a bass but I didn’t know any different and was happy nonetheless. Within two weeks I was playing the intro riff to the song. I played it so much I bet my parents can still hear it in their sleep.

My parents put me in guitar lessons for a few years but I quickly began writing my own songs when no one else was home. It was a hobby I kept secret for years in the beginning. There are still notebooks full of angst driven middle-schooler tunes in a box somewhere in my grandmother’s attic. One day I’ll revist them and read back over some truly cringey lines probably hidden within them. In high school I started playing in the band at church and by my sophomore year in college I recorded a full-length album on my own. A friend and I bought the equipment and engineered almost all of it ourselves. I stayed so obsessed with music I majored in audio production. I’m honestlyl convinced I learned more from working on that first album than I did from actual classes.

Through college I was a bit of a loner. Writing was the main thing I had. From the time I was twelve, I knew I was gay and writing songs was my only safe space to release any of the stress. Less than a year after graduation I met a couple friends who were involved in the music scene and also part of the LGBTQ+ community. I ended up attending the same church as them and found maybe I could be all parts of myself. Maybe I didn’t have to choose.

They suggested I reach out to a specific group to try to get on a show. All I had known were shows at churches but I didn’t play that kind of music anymore so I had struggled to find where I could fit in. My first show was at a house known as Dad’s Garage in Murfreesboro, TN. I’ll never forget going to play my first song and my hand being so shaky I don’t know how I was picking the right strings. I remember I was packing my car after my set when a friend came in and told me she overheard two guys going on about how good I was and how much they loved my lyrics. That’s when things really started. The one show became another, which became another, and so on. I never had to seek out a show. They just kept popping up.

Photo by Rachel Ashley.

I found an absolute love for writing. A friend once told me she writes songs because it gets the thoughts out of her head and into a song, removing them from her constant thought. I don’t know if I fully understood it at the time but I certainly do now. It’s truly amazing what writing can do. There have been so many instances I picked up a guitar and wrote something off the top of my head just to realize a feeling or issue I was having that was completely subconscious.

The older I get, the harder it is to make time for music or writing but I fight to keep it a priority. It’s like free therapy keeping me sane in an insane world. Sometimes I don’t know why I still do it but then I think about playing shows and remember the moments I’ve made a crowd go silent with one of my songs or when I once heard a “wow” whispered after a lyric in a quiet moment. It’s not something I do for any kind of attention. In fact, I hate attention. It’s about connection. It’s about the listener and myself realizing we feel the same things and are far from alone. It’s watching my favorite artists or hearing a song for the first time that hits me just the right way and makes me feel something. It's how I have so many friends in the music scene and can find a friend at almost any show if I go alone. It's about the community music has given me. It’s something I never want to stop experiencing because nothing else has this power for me.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Faith Holt

I'm a singer-songwriter who recently released an album called The Difference on Chillwavve Records. I've also developed a love of sharing my stories in writing outside of songs. Ultimately, I want to share my southern LGBTQ experience.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.