Beat logo

Make You Feel

A Meditative Playlist

By LD PaulPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
This is a synonymous sounds playlist, brought to you FIRST by this story's creator, Lamont Paulin aka LDPaul

If you've been on the scene for a minute, then you know social media has been buzzing and raving about topics like 'manifestation', 'astrology', 'energy/tarot readings', and 'meditation'. A revolution has been going on in favor of people becoming more attuned to emotional intelligence and the concept of taking breaks and truly taking care of one's self. For this particular playlist, I curated about 37 songs that you can bump to when meditating, when you want to chill and catch a vibe all on your own, while having a good read, or when you want to mentally go to another dimension:

1. (Tinashe - "Heaven")

The first track to start the playlist off. I had this song cap it off first because Tinashe's haunting hymns that were layered atop one another and her soft ad libs in the background, really helped cultivate a mental-scape of pure serenity.

2. (Kyle Dixon & Michael Stein - "Crying")

This song, despite its dramatic and heavy feeling, felt ironically peaceful.

3. (Kyle Dixon & Michael Stein - "Eleven Is Gone")

I consider this song to be a sequel to "Crying" beautifully so and I harmonically placed it to continue to airy, woozy feeling that I also personally associate meditating with.

4. (Kyle Dixon & Michael Stein - "After Sarah")

This song, with its' airy, blaring horn-like instrumental, had to be included as I would get my zen on.

5. (Kyle Dixon & Michael Stein - "Hawkins")

Something about this New Age-y song just feels mystical, in its' 80's based Sci-Fi texture. Even though I can't quite articulate the instrumentation, you'll know what I mean.

6. (Jhene Aiko - "Mourning Doves")

I find Jhene's message on mourning a now dead relationship, to be weirdly healing and cathartic. Maybe it's my Scorpio Sun and Rising that feels this way, as scorpionic energy is tied to death and rebirth. The sound bowls definitely help with the transcendence.

7. (Kyle Dixon & Michael Stein - "This Isn't You")

Something about this song feels a little kid-ish but in a more reflective, sorrowful, remorseful way, that makes you go - "Oh, so this is what my childhood was like. Now I see why I don't wanna remember it." But I reckon that this is a good song to do some inner child wound care. Perhaps even shadow work, maybe.

8. (Kyle Dixon & Michael Stein - "Lay-Z Boy")

The soft rock guitar and "one-two" beat help create this nostalgic soundtrack that I feel also harmonically follows "This Isn't You" and can be good for getting in touch with your inner child.

9. (Frank Ocean - "Slide On Me [Instrumental]")

Even though Frank doesn't get to bless us with his poignant lyricism, that doesn't make this beat any less poignant. Going back to the theme of nostalgia and inner child healing, there's something about the grimy electronic beats that pop up every once in a while, soft guitar strums and distorted echoing vocals that never makes a coherent message but glitches, that all helps to spring me out of this harsh, diluted and saturated reality.

10. (Tinashe - "Soul Glitch")

With this slightly dancier beat, 'Nashe manages to have a backing distorted vocal which adds to the witchy song. The chorus feels like a sonic blast of chaos magic manifesting proportions (if you watched WandaVision, you'll know) which makes me feel like I'm capable of creating anything, I put my mind to. Despite the cathartic dreariness in the way Tinashe sings, there is also energy that she allows to surface and flourish at the right moments. It creates an ebb and flow necessary to carry on in this simulated equation called life. Or maybe I'm reaching.

11. (Billie Eilish - "Not My Responsibility")

From the moment this droning track starts and woozily oozes back and forth, all the while hanging in the air in stillness, I know that we can all benefit from this trip. The instrumental alone will make you feel like you're in a trailer for an edgy, serious art film with abstract imagery and editing effects. But the attached autobiographical poem that's spoken openly by Eilish, really makes this observant piece a potential conduit for practiced self-acceptance rituals.

And from here, I'm gonna have to stop my descriptions of the songs because I have a presentation due Thursday that I just started on Monday! But I encourage you to make up your own and just vibe out and enjoy the sonic journey.

Best,

LDPaul

playlist
Like

About the Creator

LD Paul

I'm 23 years old, a black, bisexual, up and coming filmmaker, aspiring published author and all creative based in Brooklyn, NY.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.