Beat logo

Living Reflection in a Dream

Get The Led Out

By Kristen CaryPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 13 min read
3
Get The Led Out, Sellersville Theater, September 2021

Let me tell ya about a band I LOVE.....

Oh my... they sound so fine!

As a longtime fan (okay, "groupie") of "The All American Zeppelin" tribute band, "Get The Led Out", I have been lucky enough to have had tickets to many, many live shows, and even more fortunate to have met and "sorta kinda know" a few of the band members.

So maybe I’m a little biased, but my reasons for being so are authentically personal and come directly from my heart. For one, most of the band members live in my area, (Philly suburbs) as well as began their career by playing out locally. Secondly, because I’ve loved Zeppelin even before I took my first breath. The Zeppelin passion that ignites my soul runs deep. My heart explodes when a Zep tune is played in earshot.

Rewind:

It’s 1971, and Led Zeppelin is saturating the radio waves across the globe. That was also the year I was born. My Dad drove a yellow 1965 Ford Maverick and I swear I remember hearing the sweet sound of Jimmy Page’s guitar while I was still dancing inside my mother’s womb riding in that old Ford.

Throughout my childhood, as well as during my rebellious teenage years and to this very day, the passion I have for Led Zeppelin has grown into a full-blown love affair for their music. Robert Plant’s voice echoes daily to the soundtrack of my life. On my "life’s soundtrack album leaflet", you would find that the majority of song credits go to the British rock gods themselves, Led Zeppelin.

So, when I first discovered Get The

Led Out, it’s no surprise that I would eventually fall in love with this incredibly talented band. I had not heard of them nor had I even read about them anywhere at the point of first discovery. This fated occurrence was completely by chance. The stars lined up my path so perfectly that Sunday night. From the parking lot, I could hear the music playing, and as I walked up the side steps, and opened the door, I was immediately thrusted into a dancing mosh pit. A scene I had never experienced before at a local gig!

Little did I know, after the door closed behind me, I seemed to have landed directly into the small space where the band was playing.

I managed my way through the ultra tight crowd, and was able to at least find my way to the line for a drink, which was at least seven people deep. I found an open spot and waited with bated breath for the next song.

Press play:

The very first chords of "Kashmir" began and all I wanted to do was move my way up to the front and dance.

With zero apologies, I do what I do best ….

I wiggled my way closer to the band to see what the hype was all about.

Oh. My. F*&king. God.

These guys

are

Ridiculously

GOOD! I was told that this "house" band played the first Sunday night of every month and even threw in a few Aerosmith songs. Whether it was “Sweet Emotion” or the infamous Zep tune, “Stairway to Heaven”, I felt like I had just transported into a new dimension.

The lead singer belted out the best version of Kashmir I’d ever heard, and it was all Zep for the rest of the night.

Say What?

In that precise moment I truly found my own heaven on earth. As I danced my heart out, I silently thought to myself, "I HAVE to find out WHO these guys are and when and where can I see them again?

Like,

ASAP!"

Pause:

Needless to say, a few of the band members from Get The Led Out were onstage playing at this infamous local bar that hosted live music with no cover charge, ever!!! (still holds true to this day!!

SHOUTOUT to the infamous ‘ "Bridgeport Ribhouse!)

side note:

Brian Quinn, Lead Guitar and vocals from the band "Candlebox" has a residency at Bridgeport Ribhouse on Wednesday nights while he is not on tour with his band. Brian plays a few acoustic sets that will blow your mind. Talk about talent!

Press play:

I met two of the band members from GTLO that Sunday night, namely Paul Sinclair (lead vocals and harmonicas) and Paul Hammond (lead guitars, mandolin).

Pause:

After countless live shows, meet and greets, and seeing a few of them perform local gigs when they are home on a break from touring, I have formulated around 8 - 10,000 photos and videos to date. I legit paid for the most phone storage just for concert photos :)

Their shows never get old or even feel the exact same. Each show is unique, as the band changes their setlist for every live event in order to keep it fresh for their fans. A little birdie told me that they recently learned 12 new Zep songs to add to their own abundant music library. GTLO played "You Shook Me" for the first time in the beginning of their 2021 tour! I am so excited to see what they are going to surprise us all with next!

I honestly lost count of how many shows I’ve been to. But I can tell ya I’ve seen them in 3 different states and try to hit as many different venues as I can. Music is in my blood, and Zeppelin keeps my heart pumping. You have never really seen me truly happy until you’ve seen me at a live show..specifically at a GET THE LED OUT concert! So yes, I consider myself pretty qualified to deliver my honest thoughts on a cool local band that grew into a major act touring nationally.

(and now…. CANADA!!!)

Their shows get sold out quite often, as their fan base has grown exponentially in the past few years. Their Facebook page alone has 94k followers as I write this. There would be a hell of a lot more, but the page has reached its follow limit. As a "repeat offender", (GTLO slang), I’ve been stoked to see them live again after a grueling year of some serious GTLO withdrawal, due to our global pandemic.

Press Play:

Knowing already how the night will evolve, I arrive at the venue ready to rock. The energy in the air is electric. The fans are literally on the edge of their seat glaring at the stage, hoping to get a glimpse of one of the band members before showtime. Most fans are on their feet and dancing because there is no possible way they can sit still with the energetic anticipation that envelops from the start and only evolves into a finale that will leave you breathless.

As the speakers play the "warm up" music, some fans are reuniting with each other while absolutely everyone has a huge smile on their face! The song "Back in the Saddle" by Aerosmith starts blasting through the speakers, and suddenly the entire crowd is now at their feet screaming and whistling. Fans are chanting "GET - THE - LED - OUT"! As the dim lighting goes to black. Lighters (actually, cellphones) are being being held up high, the clapping starts to become louder, and I know I am not the only one that has a tear in their eye! Watching the band as a longtime fan rush the stage for the first time since the pandemic began in March, 2020 is exhilarating and emotional, to say the least!

The band opens with a Zep tune we can ALL relate to and they immediately start shredding it….

"It’s been a long time since I rock n rolled"! - Rock and Roll!

OMFG!!!!!

The crowd goes absolutely ballistic!

Pause:

GTLO is back on stage and they are better than ever. In fact, I may even go as far to say that they sound more incredible now, if that’s even possible. These guys are top notch professional musicians. Some of the best in the music business. And this show is NOT one to be missed.

Although the 2021 Get the Led Out national tour came with a few changes, the support and love from their fans grew even stronger.

Rewind:

The beautiful and talented Diana DeSantis, (wife of lead singer Paul Sinclair), and co-vocalist on a few of their songs, most notably "The Battle of Evermore". took her "last bow" in August of 2020 after courageously battling metastatic breast cancer for years. It seemed as though she had no limitations when she walked on stage and continued to do what she does best - sing her beautiful heart out with intensity and authenticity. Diana captured the audience with her breathtaking beauty and angelic voice. The fans adore her, and continue to pay tribute to Diana right alongside the band members. Fans show their support to Paul S. in their own special way. For example, wearing purple bandannas to the shows just like Paul Sinclair himself rocks on stage. Get the Led Out now plays a video tribute on the big screen (in venues with proper equipment) showcasing Ms. Diana DeSantis in a "Battle of Evermore" performance at Red Rocks Amphitheater. This trip down memory lane is taken from a show in Denver, Co at Red Rocks Ampitheater, (thanks to a PBS special).

Press Play:

You can feel the love vibrating throughout the crowd. It’s almost surreal that her performance is on a big screen because it feels so magical in the moment. Feeling like you could just go up and hug her afterwards, "The Battle of Evermore" continues to be kept alive and my heart is happy knowing that Diana will always be a part of going to see GTLO live. It truly is a magical moment in the show! With technology today, I can even imagine a hologram of her singing with them in the future if they desired to do so. (just a thought). Diana knew how much her fans loved her. And you can bet that she is looking after all of us. Paul Sinclair introduces the PBS special always noting that Diana is the love of his life. We all still keep her alive at every show -remembering, honoring and having abundant gratitude for her part in all of our lives, whether we knew her on a personal level or whether we were simply touched by her presence.

Intermission:

Speaking of fans, nothing quite compares to GTLO fans! They are quite rare. It feels like a having a huge extended family. If you are at a show.... everyone around you is ALL IN... and all of the "repeat offenders", (how GTLO refers to their fans who have seen them multiple x), seem to know almost every move Paul Sinclair makes as well as guessing out loud which song is next! Their fans travel far and wide to see them somewhere new. Each year GTLO plays a show at Red Rocks Ampitheater in September, which then kicks off their west coast fall touring season. Although I still have not yet been able to make this particular event, believe me, it’s on my bucket list!- September 22, 2022 is already on the books!

From first storming the stage with a crowd pleaser like "Rock and Roll" or "Immigrant Song" until their high vibe encore of "Whole Lotta Love", I am immersed in the entire experience. Even if you just "like" Zep or you would never consider going to see a tribute band, I recommend stopping what you’re doing (after you read this :) and go to their website, look for a date near you and just BUY A TICKET!

If you need a little more convincing, then go and talk to any of their thousands of fans and they will confirm to you that it only takes 1 time to see them live... and you’re hooked. Like a junkie, you’re waiting for your next fix even before you get home from the show you just attended. You are buzzing for days afterward. You start telling everyone about your experience at the show. You bookmark their website on your home screen. You regularly check their tour schedule for any changes. You’re on their mailing list. Your phone is 85% pictures and videos from the countless shows you’ve gone to. ….. ok, maybe that’s just me, but I’d bet money I’m not the only one.

The band had its humble beginnings right outside of Philly, at a local bar that continues to host live music for free... the infamous Bridgeport Ribhouse. The band members have only changed a couple of times, but a few of them remained tight like glue. Paul Sinclair (lead vocals) has a presence about him that is larger than life and an energy to match. He gives the audience exactly what they came for, a concert tribute to one of the greatest bands in our lifetime. A true studio sound. If you close your eyes during a show, you may be teleported back to the ’70s and forget it’s 2021. When they play "Tangerine", I close my eyes and I feel as if I am at an actual Led Zeppelin concert. I become a living reflection of my own dream. This Zep dream could go on forever!

Curtain Call:

Inspiration is what GTLO is to me. I am inspired by not only the music and ever changing set lists, but also by the band members that bring the studio sound of Zeppelin to fans all across the country. These guys are some of the nicest, most polite and professional people you could ever meet. There is a strong bond between what happens on stage and what we all see and feel from our perspective. Personally, the fire burns so brightly within my soul. I am lit up from the inside, and glowing on the outside.

I’m so proud to claim that Get The Led Out is from my own area. With that being said, I have access to a lot of shows during the year as they usually make a few stops around the tri-state area quite often. It seems as though GTLO also has a huge fan base in Massachusetts and New York, and from what I’ve heard, there are a few venues that are supposedly some of the best to see them. So of course, I also plan on making a trip to the Hamptons for a show in 2022.

My list for shows I want to attend in 2022 is getting longer by the day. Going to a GTLO show is a passion of mine and my only resolution for 2022 is to follow all of the things in life that light me up. I will be dancing and singing my way through the next year feeling alive and grateful. When I am residing in a place of love, gratitude and music, I truly am "In the Light".

GTLO is my drug.

Hi, I’m Kristen and I’m an addict... of GET THE LED OUT!

And if you’re a Led Zeppelin fan, you will be too!

Hope to see ya at a show (or 22!)

Check out their website at www.gtlorocks.com to see if they will be coming to a city near you in 2022!

GET THE LED OUT:

Paul Sinclair - Lead Vocals, Harmonicas

Paul Hammond - Electric and Acoustic Guitars, Mandolin

Tommy Zamp - Electric and Acoustic Guitars, Vocals

Phil D’Agostino - Bass Guitar, Vocals

Eddie Kurek - Keyboards, Electric and Acoustic Guitars, Vocals, Percussion

Adam Ferraioli - Drums, Percussion

Diana DeSantis - * IN LOVING MEMORY * Special guest vocalist on “The Battle of Evermore”

humanity
3

About the Creator

Kristen Cary

Music Enthusiast

Artist

Content Creator

Tik Tok - @kristencary

Insta - @zepsychic

For inquiries:

[email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.