Beat logo

Letters

Compositions by Facundo Raganato

By Facundo RaganatoPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

"If a composer could say what he had to say in words, he would not bother trying to say it in music."

- Gustav Mahler

Music is the universal language.

Regardless what language we speak, the sounds of music reaches us at an emotional level and communicates to us more directly than the conceptual understanding of words.

My new single called "Letters" is the perfect example to express this. With the fact that I am an author, and I like Literature as much as Music, the title frames that line between them.

In Spanish, "Letters" can be translated as: Cartas or Letras. I would like to underline that the direct translation of the title is Cartas, as in: the letters one writes on paper to send. Yes, on paper with ink; no e-mail. There's something unique and special about writing by hand, don't forget that.

However, the translation of Letras, does not stand too far, for Letras are the consonants and vowels that make up words. I think their relation in this title is as the relation of the microcosm and macrocosm; letters together compose words, words together compose sentences, sentences together compose paragraphs, and from there, structural works of writing can be composed: speeches, essays, poetry, stories and even letters.

With that stated, I would like to express that I created the inception of this composition several years ago, when the playing of this melodic piano sway opened my mind to let me see how only one instrument could not enclose the emotion of this song. The sound of strings were the other instruments which could complement the writing.

Writing . . . how beautiful that word sounds, and even in Spanish: Escribir. The concept of the word expresses so much freedom of creation any writer would adore. The empty page is a world full of possibilities. However, in the process of writing letters, which connects to what this song is about, well . . . words fall short . . .

What do you feel when you listen to this song?

My Art goes deeper than I could ever imagine, even than I could ever express. So, if you ask me what inspired me to do this song, I would not say. I rather let the music speak for itself. I rather let the music play you the letters, instead of writing them.

However, this song says so much that I can only write around it, but if you want me to get personal about it, I would say all the letters I ever wrote in my life, live in those lingering piano notes at the end.

What I can tell you is that I pour my heart and soul into my Art. Whether it is writing poems, stories or letters, whether I am composing on the piano or guitar, or whether I am painting or drawing; I pour my heart and soul into it, and what an ectasis it is to do so.

I would enjoy very much to read what this song made you feel, or what you imagine. What do you think this song is expressing? If this song were a letter, what do you think it would say?

Lastly, this song inspires me to create stories, at least I'll start with one short story that comes to mind, and then see how it goes from there. So, I'll be sharing a short story soon inspired by this song.

Feel free to give a tip, your generosity is much appreciated.

Thank you so much.

- @FacundoRaganato

www.TheCharactersShortLivingStory.com

***

Listen to "Letters" on Spotify or itunes.

And feel free to listen to my other compositions.

song reviews
1

About the Creator

Facundo Raganato

Author, Composer, Artist, Alchemist, Designer,

@FacundoRaganato

www.thecharactersshortlivingstory.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.